Re: 5/11 Junior AMPS 142 +4 90 +8 159 Contour Questions
The control solution isn't necessary unless you want to check the meter's accuracy. You test the solution like you would a drop of blood. It should read a certain number when checked with the Contour meter and that's how you know the meter is giving you accurate numbers. The next time you test Junior's BG, use both meters again and see what the readings are. The first time I bought a second meter and used them both on the same drop of blood, the readings were way off. I don't know why, but it took until the third test (I was testing myself, not the poor cat) to finally get within four points of each other. Also "no coding" means there's no coding chip that you have to insert into the meter itself. Accu-Chek Aviva has that (that's the meter I use). It prevents you from using strips from one box to the next, unless they have the same code, which is marked on the bottle of strips. Just so you're clear, the protocol we're all following here is based on using a human glucometer, not the Alpha Trak. The original protocol from Queensland University was actually written two ways, one for people using a human glucometer and one for people using the Alpha Trak so there would be no confusion in the numbers. Hope this helps!!