5/11 Help what do I do tonight? HUMMM?????

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Active Member
In an hour and a half I'll have to decide what to do about Robbie's pmps shot- at +10 (6:30pm) he was 190 which is higher than yesterday. Plus he "saved" some of his dinner (unusual) which I fed him at 4pm (+7.5) cause I knew there was NO way he'd make it till 8:30 pm so I figured the further away from his shot time the better - plus he was hungry. Obviously not as hungry as I thought cause he didn't eat it all and than ate the rest at 6:30 . He's acting like he wants to eat again but it might just be he wants attention.
My guess is he'll be over 200 and I'm guessing I should be shooting somewhere between 2-4 but that's a huge range and I'm just not feeling very secure about any of the possibilities.
 
Re: 5/11 Thinking what to do in 1.5 hours

Here's what I am thinking..... one of these days, no matter how much or too little you shoot, Robbie's going to decide that he wants to show you a scary low number. Not trying to make you antsy or anything, I just think it's coming. Last time you dealt with "this", you had that sort of thing happen? Part of me wants you to stay aggressive like you have been so far. You're shooting pretty big doses on pretty "low" numbers compared to most beans. And so far it looks like it's working well, especially lately. I did the same thing, so it doesn't freak me out, but let's just say I'm sharing your jitters?
The other part of me is thinking "holy crap, that's a lot of juice!" and so far has been silent about speaking up. I don't want you to lose any momentum, because that really seems to matter with a good number of kitties. And that part of me is still staying silent.

So far Ellen, you have shown really good gut instincts on what to shoot and when to shoot. I see no reason for that not to continue to the be the case. Many times I've arrived late to see your questions, and I've responded just a little too late (i.e. you've already decided and shot). But each time, I've been pretty much right on the same wavelength on dose. You knew increasing was the way you needed to go, even though that freaked a lot of us out. You also have known when less was best. So, pretty much what I'm trying to say is that you have this crap down!

Tonight, you could go lots of different ways, and it all depends on what number(s) you see. That he's still blue this late is great news. I guess it depends on the +12, and deciding "if it's low, do I shoot less?" or "do I wait till it's higher when the higher dose will have already been proven to work on this number?"

My gut says that if it isn't already happening, you're coming to a point where a 3 or 4 unit dose is going to do more than it has in the past. So the whole key is being prepared for that to happen when it does. And I'm sure you already are prepared to deal with low numbers, so not a big deal. If you are going to err, it should be on the side of caution.
Robbie reminds me a lot of Bob. He used to get 2u on blue numbers, and look at me like I was a wimp for questioning myself. Insulin just didn't act on his BG like it seems to on many kitties who appear sensitive to .1 or .2 adjustments.
I'm thinking I wouldn't shoot 4u unless he's over 300 at shot time. Maybe 3 over 250 and 2 if he's below that?

Carl
 
Yes, hmmmmm. First, let's take a minute to be happy about all those lovely blues in his spreadsheet lately! If he is over 200 and you can monitor, maybe 3 ? If you want to take the night off, maybe 2 and see what he looks like in the morning? I hope you have time to wait and have some others chime in...

I agree that it is kinda scary. It is a whole new ballgame as he is reacting very differently. But your gut worked fine this morning, so let it have a say.
 
You guys are great. I tested him 30 minutes before his pmps and he was 295 now it's pmps time and I"m going to test him again for the hell of it - ok he's 339 I really feel I've got to go over 4.0 again so maybe 4.5 and see how that goes. I want to keep the momentum going. Part of me wants to do 5 and if I didn't have this miserable cold and really need sleep I would probably go for the gusto and shoot 5.
4.5 it got me thru the day..................
 
4.5 is good. I'm not sure about 5 into that number.
Even I have limits!
Carl
 
You know what Carl I knew he was gonna start screaming for food as soon as I woke him to give him the shot - so I was thinking if I was up to it... 5 maybe - but NO I did 4.5 and we'll see - he's sleeping again (gotta get those 18 hours in) and had a small snack at shot time.

YOu are so right in all you say and I appreciate the time it took to give that advice - I do like to have some sort of back up and while you do seem to be one of the few in PZI who is not, shall we say, as cautious as the others it's a great mix and you and Sue basically agreeing in theory if not in numbers was very gratifying.

So who can plan to be here at 8amish Eastern Standard time for another chapter in the exciting saga of The Dosing Dilemma of Robbie the Sugar Cat.
 
Not me, unfortunately! This is my "late to bed and late to rise" week. Next week is the week I have to get up at hell-thirty. :smile:
 
186 at +4 on his pmps makes me think he's headed to green at his +7 or there about. We're setting the alarm to get up and check him and I'm not going to react unless he's below 70 or so-
 
Ellen, do you only use the SS sheet to record/review Robbie's BG levels? Have you ever used a trending type of excel sheet? I will use a trending one for specific times when I am trying to think what the next bg will be. It's not a replacement type of document, it helps me though to get a better idea of Boy's patterns. Not something that you'd use everyday either since it can get complicated (I ignore a bunch of stuff and think I'm going to just edit out or customize for what I need.

A thought anyway.

Setting the alarm and only worrying if under 70 sounds like a good plan. You wouldn't treat as a hypo at 70, and you know Robbie's BG will start rising too. You've got it!!! :RAHCAT
 
Ellen
I'm hoping you see a nice 96 or so....low enough to make you smile, high enough to let you go back to sleep. Take care of you too!
Carl
 
woke up at 3:15am cause the dog was scared and came into the bedroom (strictly cat territory) - so tested and he's 154 - doubt he'll go much lower so not the 96 I'd have loved to see Carl but going back to bed.
I don't use another SS - I'm not great with excel - not sure what I'd use. Interesting thought however.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top