5/11 DOSE DELEMIA for Robbie looking for input

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Active Member
OK for anyone following the last 12 hours here we've had some sort of a breakthru - just what I'm not sure - but he's a different cat yet again - more like his "old" self but not totally - slept with me all night, didn't scream for food ever although when I got up at 3:30 he woke up and wanted some so he got a 1/4 can watered down but he ate it on the bed (wouldn't go to his feeding spot, just looked at me and cried) at 7am he popped off the bed with my husband crying for his breakfast and acting very alert and happy. We tested him as I wanted a Pre breakfast number (although he ate something at 3:30 so that's in the mix but I tested him than too)
Before food at the "new" PMPS +5 (3:30am est) he was 312
before breakfast at the "new" pmps +11 he was 389 (I'm having a hell of a time charting this but I'm going with the base that my amps/pmps on that chart was 5:30 and logging things in around that

So he's eaten - he's gonna soar up now I'm guessing (we'll see) and I need to figure out a dose for him in an hour - I'm sort of feeling like maybe I try 5 again? Or go down another half to 4.5 (reduced by .5 yesterday and shot 2.00 last night off schedule at 8:30pm) Finally seeing a hint of green I don't want to back off too much - I'll be home all day today so I can monitor him - although I'm pretty sick and want to take it easy but I can spot check so he's OK.
 
I tend to be cautious, Ellen. The 2 units last night didn't send him sky high like it might have. I wouldn't do 5; I am not sure I would do 4.5. But again, I am a bit of a wimp. You are finally showing progress........ But there is a chance this is a do over. His body may be responding differently to the insulin.

You'll be around to monitor. If you feel okay about 4.5, do it. If you are feeling a little nervous, maybe 3 - 3.5?
 
Thanks SUe - I always miss the responses - waited till 8:45 and when I didn't get any thoughts on this went with 4.5 - I'm a tad nervous but since I'm home all day - and when he has hypo'd or at least gone REAL low in the past (think he hit 40's at one point first time around) he's responded really quickly to some high cal food and a bit of syrup on his gums for a quick burst. Good thing is I can almost always get him to eat so fingers crossed that would be the same if this was too aggressive on my part. I don't want to start this dance all over again to a new tune - would rather just try to have taken a short break and be back on the dance floor picking up where we left off yesterday - so he's now down a full unit from where he was 24 hours ago - we'll see what fresh mess this brings us!
Thank you for checking in - I'll be testing him again at 10:30 am Eastern time (+2) and see what that shows us.
 
Sorry, I am always late for the East Coast posters in the morning.

You are right. You can monitor and you know how to deal with low numbers. And it's your chance to get him jump started. I will be around this morning and will check in on you.
 
I'vre seen Robbie's SS and have followed his progress, but forget at the moment if you do sliding scale dosing, etc. It does become so very confusing with BG v dose.....I think I scare myself most of the time.

I'm not a risk taker when it comes to Boy's dosing though, and usually go with the advice of the experienced on here (God bless them!). They got me reducing Boy's dose down to 0.2u now, yet if I had not been very active in his care, he would be on weekly BG checks/weight and still at 1.0u (which consistently dropped him in the 50's range).
I do try to keep Boy on at least one specific dose for a period of time...even a week so he can get used to it.....he's pretty sensitive to insulin. In the end, I'll probably always go for the "no-shoot" vs really screwing his doses up, lol. Hope you can get his dosing to a level you are comfortable with too.

I know charting can be a mess. I enter the data on the SS sheet, but created a couple of excel sheets that I can input his values and see his trend for the day/24°....basically a daily curve, even if it is only 3 values, and another type of log. I like the "curve" version.....it helped me relate food, dosing, and time all together to see where maybe he isn't on track. Plus.....I can understand it, lol,

Maybe this will be one of those really good days where BG numbers fall into place as they should!!

Lori
 
Thanks Sue I appreciate that - and you weren't late I mean really it's way too early in your zone for you to be concerned with posts here!
I'm going to try and nap now - feeling like such crap can't believe this cold came out of nowhere! UGH. 10:30am EST test will be up next for a test here - he is sleeping soundly with his sister (a rare treat she hates him) and seems fine although a tad congested from his allergies/asthma - I want to start him on antihistamines but not sure what the Vet is going to prescribe - supposed to call him tomorrow for a phone visit - hope I'm feeling up to it right now I have NO voice at all

and thanks Lori just saw your post - Robbie seems to not be sensitive to the insulin at all - but I also rely on the advice here and am truly appreciative of the experience I can tap into.
I too try to keep Robbie on a dose for a week at least but he seems to have had some sort of breakthru in the last 24 hours so the new numbers are making me kind of scramble around to find a new normal area to work in- this happened the last time and than he went OTJ for 2 years - don't know if I can expect that again any time soon if at all but there's always that hope. He's my soul kitty and I just want him comfortable and happy.
 
Ellen,

You might post on Health for medications that are best for diabetics and allergies/asthma. Some raise blood sugar much more than others.
 
It's so hard to have much patience....but maybe he is on his way to a more doable routine. There is a change, so you could get lucky. At least you have some experience in how things can go, but definitely the numbers game can drive you nuts! Having the advice and encouragement from people who can help us out really does lessen the "crazy", lol,

Did Robbie pretty much go OTJ after a short breakthrough quickly? That would be awesome if that's his plan.
 
Well, no worry that he's plunging at +2 323 and still sleeping soundly even with Chewy's OTJ party going on!

I would have to check but as I recall last time around he dropped down (basic hypos) twice than we cut back from 8us quickly and he was on 2 for a week or so than 1 than mini doses as his numbers went lower and stayed there - all in all I think it was less than a month before he didn't need insulin at all.
 
That's great though. I'm hoping that day will come soon for Boy. Not sure how much really I can keep reducing his dose....I can, but it's already down there. He has done so much better too with the tiny doses, Almost a little "too" rambunctious.

Maybe Robbie will have some bizzare numbers then boom.....nice little numbers!! Under a month is a really nice progression in getting better.
 
Had I been conscious this morning I might have suggested 4.0, but 4.5 should be okay too.
Carl
 
Thanks CArl - hanging in a the 4.5 think we hit our lowest point of the day with a 170 - we'll see at least he hit blue again
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top