5/11 Champ AMPS 322, PMPS 294, +2 268, +4 244, +10 359

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
I increased Champ's dose to 3.25u today. I must have given him an ouchy shot today because he tried to move away from me when I was injecting. This tells me I didn't inject into the fat layer. Hmmm...wonder what his numbers will look like then. I'm hoping for a yellow day. You know it's been bad when you're hoping for yellows.

The next time I open a can of food, I'm going to portion it out into five ounces. I keep forgetting to write down what and when I fed Champ and his weight is creeping up. Can't have that!!! He must lose weight so I must practice portion control!

I read on one of the other forums where someone was asking if anyone was experiencing consistently high BGs while on Wellness. That's what I've been feeding Champ and now I'm questioning whether I should change his food. Maybe I'll pick up some Fancy Feast and Friskies varieties and try a week on each to see if his numbers change. Has anyone tried the Walmart brand of cat food, Special Kitty? I see on Janet & Binky's food list where there are some that have low carbs, but I have no idea about the quality.

I'm sending out lots of positive thoughts and prayers to Linda/Guinness, Squirrel/Tommy, and Bev/Gus as they each have been struggling A LOT lately. I know there are others out there, but they are foremost in my thoughts at the moment.

I hope everyone has a wonderful Wednesday. :-D Now....time for lots of ~O) ~O) ~O) :lol:
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322

Hey Patty,

First, enjoy the coffee. :lol: I'll be hoping for a yellow day for Champ, too. I know his name is for Champagne but I keep calling him Champion for some reason.

I know what you mean about the food - Billy would eat until he drops if I let him. Personally, I feed him Friskies, but it's mostly because Fancy Feast isn't budget-friendly enough. I hear Friskies isn't the same in Canada than in the US though, so I can't really help.
Evo no-grain seem to be an awesome brand, too, but it's pricer. Better advice-givers will probably come to answer your question anyway. :P

Have a nice day!
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322

i started with the fancy feast and have stayed with it, even though it isn't cheap. mostly i've stayed because it's so easy to measure exact amounts. he gets either 1 can or a 1/2 can - great portion control. i could be skinny if i did that for me too! :lol: :lol:

cheering for champ to come on downstairs today! go champ!
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297

Billy, if you think about it, Champagne is a really stupid name for a cat and has probably always embarrassed the poor guy, so I'm sure he's very glad you call him Champion!! :lol: And I wonder why Friskies would be different in Canada than in the U.S. Different rules about what's allowed maybe?

Julie, the whole reason I went with Wellness instead of FF was because they ended up being about the same price if I bought the large cans of Wellness through PetDirect. I would like the convenience of the 3 oz. can, though, but because of cost, I'll probably end up going with Friskies. That's what Champ ate before he was diagnosed, though it was the yummy sliced kinds with gravy!! Now that I've researched foods, it's just hard for me to give him foods with by-products since I now know what by-products are (or the fact that you really don't KNOW what they are).

I remember the good ol' days when I fed Champ one-third of a can of Friskies and 1/4-cup of dry food (Purina One Senior) twice a day. He eats more than that now, yet he weighed 21 pounds on that diet and could not lose weight!! And he never finished either meal; I was always throwing away some of the wet food because he just wanted to lick all the gravy off it! So how is it that he was never hungry on that amount of food, but he's eating at least 6 oz of wet now plus about 2-3 oz of chicken breast per day and he would eat more if I let him? His numbers aren't so high that he should still be that hungry.
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297

Good morning Patty, :-D You wanted yellow, Yellow it is.. Come down more ok Champ?
You know the food thing i really can't figure it out myself. I also feed FF Classic Chicken to Tommy. I tried some of the others early on and i just couldn't keep track of his varying numbers very well.. His body seems to like the Chicken. I think you have a wonderful idea of trying a certain kind for one week and seeing what diff. foods do for him. I tried that as well.
I have some special Kitty here for the others. It does seem to be a bit more mushy and smelly if you know what i mean..I would have to say from my own experience, that it is a few steps down from 9-lives and Friskies.

I can't tell you enough how much it means once again, for you to be sending out such positive thoughts for me and the others.. We just keep on keeping on doing the best we can, and never stop listening and learning..

I'm also sending prayers and healthier numbers for Champ!!
I'm gonna go make more ~O) ~O) and then i'll join you if that's ok?
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297

Squirrel, I LOVE company with my coffee!! Too bad it's not for real :cry: We'll just have to have a virtual coffee klatch here on FDMB!! :lol:

Thanks for the info about the Special Kitty. I'll probably pass on that then. Wet food is already smelly enough :lol:
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297

Please pour me a cup of virtual coffee-- :lol:
My cats ate FF all their lives n& Moonie still is--I tried every cat food, but FF always won!
Hope Champ comes down today--I think it will happen--Have a good day-Hugs! :smile:
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297

Hi Patty, and you too Champ!

Leo tried out Special Kitty, he ate a can then refused to eat it after that unless i mixed it with FF. It's always FF we come back to. I try to mix it up so he doesn't get tired of the same food all the time. Friskies, we don't get probably half the varieties that are on Janet and Binky's list, but Leo has never been a fan of Friskies. We tried EVO but he HATED it, i bought some Wellness too and i didn't feed it to him but my parents tried and apparently he hated it too. I just finally found some Merrick and bought a few cans of that for Leo to try out. He's actually a pretty picky eater, he's really stuck on the FF elegant medleys but they are high-ish in carbs 9% so i'm trying to steer him away from those......and the fact that they are $1 a can!! :o But give Leo anything with gravy and he loves it!!! Sounds like Champ did too, our poor kitties....they probably miss the days when they ate food with gravy, gravy makes the world a better place i suppose! :lol:

I'm joining in on the virtual coffee too, we just got up a lil while ago! Ahhhhh lazy days.

Oh and come down from those high floors Champ!!
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297

Patty,
I posted those pics of Leo in an aviator jacket in his condo!

Stop by when you get a chance
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297

Patty,

Thank you for the good thoughts! Sorry I haven't commented in your condo much lately. I've been super busy trying to nail down what's going on with Guinness as well as still trying to have some control over the other parts of my life.

Interesting thought on the food. I actually was feeding Guinness Merrick Cowboy Cookout and also had the same thought about maybe something changed in their recipe (I keep seeing more pieces of carrot in the can then I used to). I have switched him over to raw now with a small amount of Merrick. I'm having trouble with the portion control because I really don't want to restrict him too much right now. Plus, I just don't have the time to sit down and read and figure out exactly what I should be feeding him to safely let him drop weight.

Well, I hope you and Champ have a nice day and surf on down to the blue zone soon. Thanks again for thinking of us!
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297

I have tried every kind of food and Tarragon will only eat FF. He was such a skinny guy when he was finally diagnosed that I free fed him when I switched him to canned. He has gained a few pounds, so I am trying to make him and his sister have "meals." She is a chunky monkey so it will do her good as well!

I hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297, +7 245

I seriously think someone should go to the makers of FF and ask if they would like to sponsor this website!!! Their food is used by so many people, who recommend it to so many others, that this has ended up being the FD food of choice!! I wish I had a marketing degree so I knew what to do!! :-D

Wellll, seems my nap turned into full-fledged sleep!!! And it felt sooooo good. I'm left wondering if Champ hit some blue water while I slept, though, since his +7 is at 245 and he typically starts to rise around +5 or so. Who am I kidding....there's nothing "typical" about Champers!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297, +7 245

Good for you on the sleep. I am looking forward to bed tonight. Tarragon and I had a PJ party last night and I was up every 2 hours. Ugh. It is so hard to do that these days.
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297, +7 245, PMPS 294

Yay!! Starting in the yellow for the evening cycle. Haven't done that in a while. :-D
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297, +7 245, PMPS 294

If I'd known you were having a coffee get together, I would have stopped by earlier. I never intend to start my day as early as I do and by the time I'm done and relaxing, I find that it's nighttime. Champ did well with his dosecrease today. I know what you mean about eating! Gus finishes his bowl of FF and walks over to the pantry and stares at the cabinet where I keep the food. "More please". Some days, I swear, I can't fill him up. He has gained back 2.5 of the 3 lbs. he lost at dx time. Champ, don't gain weight. You want to cut a dashing figure on the beach in your kitty Speedo :lol:
 
Re: 5/11 Champ AMPS 322, +1 297, +7 245, PMPS 294

Darn!! I missed coffee time this morning!! I love coffee.... :cool: :lol: ~O) ~O)

I have fed Mannie Wellness for quite some time. He does OK on it, I really haven't noticed that it keeps his numbers up. It was one of the ones that was recommended to me when we started here. He likes it well enough... Merrick is good too - though I think some of their will contribute to a food spike. Mannie really likes their surf and turf, and their cowboy cookout. the CC will spike him a little. I don't know if any of that will help or not... I think that Wellness is a good food.

Good luck with the dosecrease! I hope Champ settles into it soon. Lower numbers Champ, OK?

have a great night guys!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top