5/11 Aurora AMPS 180, +10 147 PMPS missed, +2 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole Z

Member Since 2017
Yesterday

Morning all! Aurora yacked again this morning, just a small amount with fur in it. Nothing will get you up quicker than a cat yacking in your bed. Ugh....
AMPS 180, still shooting .25
Headed out the door to get more test strips! Have a good day all!
 
Hi Nicloe,
just going to answer your question on what TR would entail here on your condo, so that other's can give you their perspective.

You wouldn't really be doing anything different with regards to testing and feeding (since Aurora now is on a LC wet diet), the main difference is when you would take reductions, and how long you would hold a dose for before taking her.

On SLGS you would hold doses for 1 week, unless a reduction is earned (by dropping below 90 on a human meter) before assessing dose.
On TR you would hold dose for 6 cycles, before reassessing dose, reductions earned for drops below 50(huma meter) or staying in the range of a healthy cat for a week.
So with TR you are basically pushing the BG levels a wee bit lower than with SLGS, the aim is to get them in to BG's for a healthy cat 50-10o, this may mean that at times you will need to monitor a bit more to keep her head above water, or use food judiciously to keep her safe if you are going out to work/ or have to sleep. The hope is that by getting them tightly regulated, quickly and safely, will give them the best chance of remission.

I think with your schedule, if i have understood right, you work full time some of the week, so testing is tricky, but when not at work you are able to monitor a little more if needed, you can work with this and TR by taking the increases, when they make sense, it terms of when you can monitor, the link below on doing TR on a full time job has great tips for that.
Have you read the Sticky on TR? here's the Link
Another good sticky to read is the one on doing TR on a full time job, link Here

From my point of view, I like TR because it gives you guidelines within which you can proactively change the dose with confidence, but there again I'm probably biased as it worked well for us.
 
Thanks!! Yes, you're correct, I am not home during the week much but I'm around on the weekends.
I'm really worried about her pulling at her fur ( mind you my other cat with the allergies is licking like crazy despite being on medication to help control that, I think allergies are really bad right now ) so maybe Aurora is just experiencing allergies as well? She will lick and grab a chunk of fur and try pulling and she will do this multiple times until I either stop her or she rips out a chunk of fur. I'm also concerned about the daily yacking that has been happening. Aurora puked on the bed this morning so I'm positive it's all been her - not sure what is causing her to barf small amounts of fur daily. Only seems to barf 1x per day but it's been back to back days now....
 
I know George has been molting like crazy, and has had some furball incidents, (he never yaks it up, always swallows it back down TMI I know) that time of year I guess, and with Auroras long fur maybe it's worse?
 
My civvie Keena does that .. yank out fur and swallow it. It comes and goes. He rarely gets brushed because he's a Ragdoll so he doesn't shed much, plus he thinks the comb is out to get him so he attacks it. It may help if you can brush Aurora more often to lessen the amount of fur she's swallowing while grooming.
 
Gordy is getting frequent hairballs recently too. (one just this morning at 5am!)

I think it could be the season for coat shedding -- though he has always been a shedder.
 
My civvie Keena does that .. yank out fur and swallow it. It comes and goes. He rarely gets brushed because he's a Ragdoll so he doesn't shed much, plus he thinks the comb is out to get him so he attacks it. It may help if you can brush Aurora more often to lessen the amount of fur she's swallowing while grooming.
Ha, the funny thing is Aurora gets multiple beauty treatments per day. Her routine with daddy is she jumps up on the island before he leaves in the morning she gets brushed ( I also bought a slicker brush that the groomer suggested for her flakes ). I'd say she's brushed daily at a minimum 2x if not 3 or 4x! We do get quite a bit of fur off of her though each time. I could have sworn when she was first DX afew months ago the fur pulling stopped entirely and now it seems to be back. I'm hoping it's just the season - my other one is licking like crazy again.
Summer get here already!
 
Sorry about the yackng and fur pulling. Both my long hair boys are shedding like crazy despite how often I brush them.

Wonder if something for allergies would help her , There are some cats here that are given zyrtec but not sure the dose maybe some one else will weigh in.

Here is something I found on line about Zyrtec and cats and dogs. Maybe a dose will be mentioned, I didn't read the whole article.

http://www.petmd.com/blogs/dailyvet/2010/february/zyrtec_for_cats-5403#
 
Sorry about the yackng and fur pulling. Both my long hair boys are shedding like crazy despite how often I brush them.

Wonder if something for allergies would help her , There are some cats here that are given zyrtec but not sure the dose maybe some one else will weigh in.

Here is something I found on line about Zyrtec and cats and dogs. Maybe a dose will be mentioned, I didn't read the whole article.

http://www.petmd.com/blogs/dailyvet/2010/february/zyrtec_for_cats-5403#
I'm an expert on this topic! I have used Claritin, regular, NEVER D, that's toxic to cats, zyrtec is good as well ( side note, it also helps to stimulate appetite in CKD cats ). I guess I can try the claratin again, I just hate pumping them full of stuff like that - I always worry what that does to the liver or kidneys.
 
So I stopped at Walmart this morning and I am loaded up with more test strips! I was looking for that sharps cutter but they didn't have that there, would love that so I can throw away most of the syringe in the garbage. I have 2 full zip lock freezer bags so far of used syringes and lancets. YIKES! I also did go ahead and purchase the strips to test her urine - based on her numbers, do you think it's a risk and that I still need to test her pee? It's tough even catching her in the box with my work schedule, I think they pee before I get home but I'll try and do my best. My main concern is that she's going to be like WHAT are you doing behind me in the potty and that she's going to not feel like I'm letting her go in private. I'll have to get a cheapo long spoon or maybe a soup ladel next. I wonder if I got a sleeve of Dixie cups if that could work, if I crouch down I'm sure I could get the cup under her to catch some.
Oh, a cat momma's work is never done....between cleaning up barf, testing like a mad scientist, keeping civvie Mulan occupied and trying to get her to stop chasing Aurora all over the house ( civvie Mulan is very jealous at times, especially with me giving Aurora extra attention, the second I turn my back there is a chase with Mulan being naughty )
I need to figure out how I'm going to have a chat with the vet - I was supposed to take her back this week for her curve.
 
+10 when I got home 147
Finally hairball gate has come to and end I believe I came home to find the biggest and longest hairball I have ever seen. I guess this is the monster she's been trying to bring up for the past 4 days. I hope it's all done with now and no more puking!
 
Ugh, I screwed up. I went to the gym and I told my husband to feed the girls at 615 and at 630 I'd give insulin. I totally forgot about the PMPS! Now what do I do? I already gave insulin - do I just go with that +10 of 147? Should I do a +1 or wait and do a +2 and then one at 930 before bed.
 
Ok, +2 was 94 momma is exhausted, I'm going to shut it down for the night - she just ate a snack and has food out to nibble on. Nite everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top