? 5/11/2021 Annie, 359 AMPS, 323+2 329+4 293+6 242+8 318+10 357+12 PMPS 319+2?

Jack-sf

Member Since 2021
Above numbers for curve on 5/11/21. 1 Unit 2x daily Used Alpha Trak; Wet food only (FF Pate); available when Annie is hungry. Previously used Libre Freestyle put had wet food only at meal time; numbers varied more. Was 11.5 lbs pre diagnosis; was on pred for IBS; weight dropped to 9.5. Now at 10.0 lbs.

I've now increased the dose to 1.5 (with no effect yet - they're actually a little worse). Help.


Spreadsheet here: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/e/2PACX-1vQlrU4Su9GpT-9DXWcYZBegvZ40ck4Sjoj7VyrWIiDA1T-0udZQa6uRjX_vwW3t7LM99TONfESqFCxL/pubhtml?gid=1182885903&single=true
 
Hello & Welcome! :-)

I see from your post in the Tech Support forum that Annie is on Lantus?

Could you please add the following details to your signature so that we don't ask you for the again and again?
  • Kitty's name
  • Age
  • Date of Diagnosis
  • Insulin
  • Meter
  • Diet
  • Details of other health issues and medicines being given
We follow two dosing protocols and you can read more about them here:
Dosing Methods: Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) & Tight Regulation (TR)

If you pick the one that suits you, we can help with dosing advice based on that protocol.

Looking at your SS, it seems that you don't have enough data to know how the dose is working. Lantus dosing is based on nadirs - how low the dose takes your cat.

 
Hi Jack, Bhooma's right--there isn't enough data for us to be able to advise you well. If you check out my spreadsheet for Ruby (the link is in my signature, maybe you'd want to include yours in there as well so you don't have to post it every time), you'll see I test a lot, but in order for us to have a better idea of the highs and lows of Annie, we'd need a test before each shot and one mid-cycle shot, somewhere between 4-6 hours after. Lantus usually onsets around +2 or +3.
 
Hello and welcome.

You increased by 0.5 units to 1.5 units. Normally, with you having seen some numbers under 200, we would have suggested no more than a 0.25 unit increase to 1.25 units.
 
Back
Top