? 5/11/2015 Dosing Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michaellh33

Member Since 2015
So I upped his does to 1.5 about 5 cycles ago but the numbers still don't look very good. Should I up the dose another .25? Also it is kind of hard to get an accurate .25 increase as the syringes I use only measure in half units. I suppose there are some that measure in .25 units?
 
He's only seen blue once on this dose - and a fairly high blue at that. I think he probably is ready for another 0.25u increase at this point. Unfortunately, there aren't any syringes with 0.25u markings - the 0.5u markings and figuring out the in-between doses the best you can (or by using calipers) is pretty much all there is.
 
Since you're following TR, you increase the dose after 6 cycles/3 days if your cat's nadirs are over 200. If they are under 200 but not where you want them, then you hold the dose for 5 days/10 cycles. Since Brody's nadirs appear to be over 200, then you would be due to increase his dose by 0.25u.

The smallest increment on a syringe is a half unit. Many of us use digital calipers to help be more consistent with dosing.

I noticed on Brody's SS that you started new insulin on 5/4. Since Brody was recently diagnosed, you do know you can get more than 28 days out of a vial or pen?
 
They gave me some insulin they had at the office till they ordered more so that is why I swapped to a new one. I will increase (try to increase) by .25u. Even with the pictures I am not convinced I am doing it right but I will try to follow them.
 
The important thing is to be as consistent as you can with the amount you get in the syringe. It matters less if, for example, your 1.75 units is a little different from my 1.75 units, than that the amount you give Brody is as close to the same as you can get it each time.
 
I know @Chris & China uses them - and a lot of other people too. You can order from the US, definitely, though you will have to provide a prescription from your vet before they can ship insulin.
 
I ordered from Mark's and it was fine. I didn't like that it took a week to get here but so far so good. I'm on my second pen now.
 
You can get it in the US, but you're going to pay 3 times as much (or more) for the exact same thing

If you can't wait the week to get it from Marks, you can try to find someplace that will break open a box and sell you just one pen....but that's not always easy. Most place don't want to break open a box. Target stores, hospital pharmacies and pharmacies that provide medication to nursing homes are the best bet for just one pen
 
Insulin is only sold in vials and pens.....Vials are 10ml and the problem with them is that most cats are on such low doses that the insulin goes bad before you can use it all....each vial is 1000 units and if taken care of properly can possibly last 6 months....so for a cat that's on 2 units twice a day, that's 250 days worth....and you're going to end up throwing some out.

In the Pens, they're sold in packages of 5 pens. Each pen is like a "mini-vial" that holds 3ml (3oo units per pen for a total of 1500 units) BUT the pens will last until the expiration date on the box...usually at least 2 years.....they also don't break near as easily if you drop them like a vial can

In the pens, you still use a regular insulin syringe....you just pull the insulin out of the pen .....it has a rubber stopper just like a vial dose once you pull the pen cap off.
syringe in pen pic.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top