5/11/14 pmps - 84 see how eating goes then dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb & Spot

Member Since 2009
yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118524

Happy Mother's Day to everyone!!! drinking11
pmps - 238 (.75u)
pm +5 - 265

today:
amps: 318 (since he is getting his dental I went with a lowered dose of a f .25u)
am + 2.5 -332

Dental day today so no fuds after midnight. He ate a nice healthy nini snack at 10:45 pm last night and that seemed to have satisfied him throughout the evening. He was not very happy this morning at 6 am when he could not get his breakfast. His tummy was a little upset because he threw up a little bit of liquid...probably because he hadn't eaten since last night. I held off on everyone else's food until 8 am, when Spot went outside to chill on his chair.
 
Re: 5/11/14 Spot amps 318/+2.5 -332

Morning Deb ~O) ~O) ~O)

Good dental vines for you Spot. It will be over soon. We will be thinking of you today.

Have a great day Deb, I hope all goes well with Spot's dental.
 
Re: 5/11/14 Spot amps 318/+2.5 -332

Sending perfect dental vines for Spot today.
 
Re: 5/11/14 Spot amps 318/+2.5 -332

I'm sending many good dental vines to Spot today, I hate fasting them, poor kitties :? . I hope it all goes wonderful. Happy Mothers day to you, too :-D
 
Re: 5/11/14 Spot amps 318/+2.5 -332/AM +5 -281

Thanks, Michelle, Dyana and Rachel!

Got a call from the vets....so far Spot came down from 332 to 281 and they were going to wait a bit longer to do him since he had insulin this morning and they want to be safe. I am sure that the fact that he had no food on board and some insulin is why he came down. I asked them to look at a lump on his chest and they felt that it was just a fatty tumor. Going to keep an eye on it to make sure that it is not getting bigger. It has been the same size for the past few months.
About forty minutes later they called and said that they had him on the table and saw that he needed to have one of his molers taken out. The gum line was very red and inflamed and he "chattered" when they touched it. Poor thing.....he has very little teeth to begin with and they are going to take another one!! BUT on the positive side....this may be the reason why his numbers have been a bit wonky.....I was thinking that teeth issues may be a factor in that. I know my boy!! So hopefully once it is gone and the infection clears, he will be back to good numbers.

Thanks for the good dental vines!!!
 
Re: 5/11/14 Spot amps 318/+2.5 -332/ am +5 - 281/ +10 - 76

He's Home! Gave him some pepcid in cheese since I am sure his tummy is not right because he hasn't eaten or had anything to drink since last night. Went to the water bowl and had a drink and then he decided to jump up and sit by his food dish so I gave him a bit of food.

results of blood test:
Creatinine - 2.2 (normal)
BUN - 37 (slightly above normal - but no change from the last blood test)
Phosphorus 4.1 (normal)
eosinophil - 0.0 (below normal 2.0 - 10.0)
MCV - 59.0 (above normal 39.0 - 50.0)
MCH -19.1 (above normal 12.5 - 17.5)
MPV - 9.1 (below normal 12.0 - 18.0)

everything else was normal. :-D
 
Re: 5/11/14 Dosing question- depending on pmps....skip or lo

I am going to be checking in forty five minutes for pmps. Just want to post now to give you all some time to see this....wondering if I should skip dose or lower it...depending on his pmps...
 
Re: 5/11/14 Dosing question- depending on pmps....skip or lo

Good to hear the dental is over and that there might be a reason for the higher numbers.

How is Spot's appetite tonight? Also wondering how much Spot has eaten and how long ago. When Neko had her first dental, the vet said to do a half dose in the PM. Of course that was back in the days when red was her favorite color so I didn't need to, but with that green staring at you I might be tempted to. Especially if there's any chance his appy is sketchy tonight.
 
Re: 5/11/14 Dosing question- depending on pmps....skip or lo

Deb:

My experience with post-dental dosing is that you have to play it by ear. A lot will depend on whether Spot is in the mood to eat given the pain from the extraction as well as the residual effects from anesthesia and being at the vets. The last thing you want is low numbers and a cat that has no inclination to eat. (Been there and done that after a dental and it wasn't fun.) If Spot likes baby food, you may want to consider using that if he's having any discomfort with eating.

Also, remember to be careful regarding scarf-and-barf. Some of the anesthesia drugs act like appetite stimulants. However, they also slow the GI track.
 
Re: 5/11/14 pmps 84

So he went up a little...he is more than a willing participant to eat. He has been sitting there looking at his dish off and on since he came home..except for the time he was outside. Gave him some pepcid to help with tummy.

He at about 1 tsp. of food when he got home from vet. I will see how his appy goes for dinner...looking at maybe doing the .25 again. If he goes high I can get him back on track tomorrow. Better safe than sorry.

ACTION PLAN: Spot ate dinner...3 tsp. w/water and miralax added (he tried to poo when he got home and only did a small amount). I gave .25u. I will be giving him a little bit of food about every hour...just a little. He has never had an issue with scarf and barf after his dentals. Vet prescribed .2 mgl of bupe three times a day and clyndmycin, with first dose tonight. Right now he is laying in between the dining room and living room.
 
Does Spot react to the clindamycin with diarrhea? It may not be an issue at the moment if he's needing Miralax but if that's his typical response, you may want to break out the FortiFlora in a day or so.
 
I will make sure that I get some. I'm out right now. I just offered him some more food and he doesn't want it.

He was prescribed .2 mlg of bupe. Ralhpie was only taking .1. won't that knock him out???
 
Bupe is prescribed based on weight, but there is also a range. How much does Spot weight? Bupe also comes in different concentrations. Neko is a little over 14 lbs and gets .22 of a .3mg/ml concentration every 12 hours. More bupe lasts longer. Some people will give less but give it every 8 hours. You have to try to see what works for your cat.

Since buprenorphine is a narcotic, it is also constipating. I add babyfood squash to Neko's meals to help with that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top