5/11/10 Simba PMPS 326 2.5U

Status
Not open for further replies.

Theresa and Simba (GA)

Member Since 2010
Working most of the day, so didn't test much. PMPS getting better everyday. That seemed to be when he was at highest #'s. Not sure where his nadir is yet . He does not get snacks through the night so his AMPS is lower. Will keep trying to get more numbers.( he is a little fractious when it comes to testing) Since he is feeling good he has been going pee outside and I haven't been getting his usual daily UG. For Simba that is routine and shows progress. Overall he is doing good. Will not increase dose without a full curve. We are watching him as close as possible and so far he has shown no drunken signs of hypo. laptop_smiley
 
Some practical advice about hypoglycemic numbers on Levemir - you probably won't see full blown hypo symptoms. I'll explain why in a sec. I hope no one has an issue with me saying that, I am only going by my experience with Gandalf. In addition, however, we've seen some low numbers here (30 and below) and I think the only symptoms we have come across are Beau not recognizing which was his food bowl and Gandalf will "park" at his bowl and eat whatever is there if he's 35 or below. I have personally tested a 21 on him with no symptoms other than the eating. He is normally a grazer, so it's unusual for him to eat everything in one sitting.

Not saying the glassy eyes and wandering around or more severe symptoms aren't possible on Levemir, it's simply that if the dose is raised gradually enough and remains within target range of their optimum dose, symptomatic hypos are rarely experienced. An accidental overdose is always possible and one thing to remember if an overdose occurs is that because of the longer acting nature of Levemir a crisis hypo may last longer.

Does that make sense?
 
Good reminder, Vicky. Beau had absolutely no symptoms when he dropped into the 30s on his 3rd shot of lev. I only caught it because I was testing (doing a curve). The time Vicky is referring to he licked an empty bowl acorss the floor when there was a bowl with food in it a few feet away. I pointed it out to him and he ate. Then it dawned on me about 15 mins later that he might be low and I tested and he was 33 (if I remember corrrectly). I bet he was even lower before eating.

Looking good, Theresa!
 
Well, hopefully that 547 was just a fluke, meter error or something. Because other than that his numbers were gradually getting better with the slight increases....good job.

You mention snacks, just curious what do you feed him?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top