5/10 Tippy PMPS 71 RECENT DKA

dwildha

Member Since 2021
Shoot or No Shoot. Stalled 18 minutes and reshot 69. Fed dinner and haven’t given insulin. She only had one small snack today as opposed to two and she slept most of the day due to rain. Usually we let her outside in an enclosure and she normally eats 4 times a day.

Thank you!
 
Last edited:
I wanted to get that out there first. I was wondering what method you were following for dosing. Your signature says TR, but the dosing in your spreadsheet does not. Increases should only be by 0.25 units at a time at this point, and you need to get more mid cycle tests to follow TR. I'm afraid you may have increased by too much without knowing how low the dose is taking her.

Can you get a +1 and a +2 to start? What dose did you shoot?
 
We are trying to dial in dosage. We kept getting flat yellow cycles and we are worried that the BGs were too high. Trying to get those numbers to a more normal range 70-180 on relion prime meter. Wife said to give 2 units for tonight’s dose, I say to give 3.5. Gave her 2 units. Not sure if we made the right decision, but wifey is afraid for a hypo event.
I wanted to get that out there first. I was wondering what method you were following for dosing. Your signature says TR, but the dosing in your spreadsheet does not. Increases should only be by 0.25 units at a time at this point, and you need to get more mid cycle tests to follow TR. I'm afraid you may have increased by too much without knowing how low the dose is taking her.

Can you get a +1 and a +2 to start? What dose did you shoot?
 
Last edited:
Thank you! I know that we don’t have a lot of data, and that we are still learning, however based on what we know of our cat and the numbers we’ve been getting, we believe around 4 units to be around the right number for our tippy. Although, we do know that more testing is the best thing. We also ensure that she is eating enough to prevent ketones as well so there’s definitely a balance.
Rather than drop the dose a lot on a cat with recent DKA, I'd test at least twice per cycle and get a better idea how the dose is doing. Flat yellow cycles can also mean too low a dose.
 
Back
Top