Maria & Suzie
Member
Hi all,
Am trying to follow the protocol. Have set up a spreadsheet for Suzie which will hopefully appear in my signature. Profile to follow. Hope I did it right in the Subject line.
Am worried about the way she was bouncing yesterday.
Her AMPS was 329 this morning. My vet advised to go up to 4 IU (I am happy to be able to email with my vet) in view of yesterday's HI readings, but I stuck with 3.5 IU. Today is day 4 of 3.5 IU, am trying to stick with it.
Lantus is not an insulin that has been around very long here for veterinary use, so I have my doubts as to how much experience vets over here in Belgium have with it. I am not knocking it, I am happy I found a vet who recognized what was wrong with Suzie and that we were lucky enough to get Lantus. Also just happy that Suzie is eating again and even gaining some weight. She had stopped eating and we were getting by on horrible force-feeding.
She is relatively lively, in the sense of actually asking for food, moving about the house. When she sleeps though, it's the sleep of the dead, on her side, can barely see her breathe, then she wakes up, looks alert and goes to the food bowl. She has also started grooming a bit again, something that had completely stopped.
Happy for any advice about dosage anyone can give based on Suzie's readings. I am working from home today, so am going to try to test her every 3-4 hours today.
re. the tips to go back down to 1 IU and "start over", won't that be a shock to Suzie's system? to suddenly go from 3.5 to 1 ?
She is frail and skinny and 15 years old, she doesn't have much margin and I'd be horrified if she stopped eating again.
thanks to all!
Maria & Suzie
Am trying to follow the protocol. Have set up a spreadsheet for Suzie which will hopefully appear in my signature. Profile to follow. Hope I did it right in the Subject line.
Am worried about the way she was bouncing yesterday.
Her AMPS was 329 this morning. My vet advised to go up to 4 IU (I am happy to be able to email with my vet) in view of yesterday's HI readings, but I stuck with 3.5 IU. Today is day 4 of 3.5 IU, am trying to stick with it.
Lantus is not an insulin that has been around very long here for veterinary use, so I have my doubts as to how much experience vets over here in Belgium have with it. I am not knocking it, I am happy I found a vet who recognized what was wrong with Suzie and that we were lucky enough to get Lantus. Also just happy that Suzie is eating again and even gaining some weight. She had stopped eating and we were getting by on horrible force-feeding.
She is relatively lively, in the sense of actually asking for food, moving about the house. When she sleeps though, it's the sleep of the dead, on her side, can barely see her breathe, then she wakes up, looks alert and goes to the food bowl. She has also started grooming a bit again, something that had completely stopped.
Happy for any advice about dosage anyone can give based on Suzie's readings. I am working from home today, so am going to try to test her every 3-4 hours today.
re. the tips to go back down to 1 IU and "start over", won't that be a shock to Suzie's system? to suddenly go from 3.5 to 1 ?
She is frail and skinny and 15 years old, she doesn't have much margin and I'd be horrified if she stopped eating again.
thanks to all!
Maria & Suzie