5/10 Sebastian AMPS 283 +3 275 +6 269 +9 295 PMPS 307 +5 282

Justin & Sebastian

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

AMPS 283. One mostly fluid vomit last night. He's got a real good appetite right now, last night he ate an extra 1/2 can of solid food beyond the 1 can I syringe fed. Still pretty bad diarrhea.
 
Poor little guy. Justin, have you tried some pure pumpkin for the diarrhea? It worked wonders on Leo. Best of luck. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
269@+6. Blood ketones: 0.5. Weight 10lbs 7.5oz. Ketones are up a bit. Weight is down, lowest its ever been. Really hope the vet can give him something so he can actually digest his food. It seems like he's bouncing right now, judging by the lows on the 5/08 so I don't know that we should increase the dose but I would love to get the numbers down a bit to help with the ketones.
 
It seems like he's bouncing right now, judging by the lows on the 5/08 so I don't know that we should increase the dose but I would love to get the numbers down a bit to help with the ketones.
It does look like a bounce high and flat.
You can increase even if he is bouncing.
We know it was quite a big reduction, and he surprised us all by going green. That said his low was 85, so there is some wiggle room there. Normally we would say let the bounce clear and see where he lands before deciding. But with the ketones, and he is likely not getting enough calories into his system, I'm with you on thinking getting a little more insulin might be good from a ketone perspective.
Maybe you could go up by 0.25u to 2.25??? Instead of the 0.5u increase you were initially thinking about.

Watch for the bounce breaking if you get a low yellow or blue I would hold of any increases. Increasing as the bounce breaks would likely lead to a very active cycle.

See what your vet thinks about his tummy issues, before making a definite decision.
What supplements is he on? could any of them be aggravating his tummy?
Do you think it is possible he has a food allergy? Have you noted it's worse when he's on a particular brand or type of protein?
 
The only supplements he's on right now are 1/4tsp of Metamucil and a 1/4tsp of egg yolk powder per cycle. We've used the Metamucil before without any issues. We had him on Beef food for a couple days when he wasn't wanting to eat the Turkey & Duck, and we have since switched back to only the T&D and the vomiting has gone down a bit since but I don't think they're related, he would keep the Beef down for most of the day and only throw up at night, similar to what he's still doing now and the vomiting was going on for at least a week before we introduced the Beef.

Previously we had him on the Ultimate Flora probiotic, didn't really have any issues, and then the vet had us switch to Synacore a couple weeks ago when we brought him in for the hairballs. 2 days after putting him on that is when he started vomiting a lot more. I'm not necessarily sure they're related since he's been off any probiotics since 4/24.

The diarrhea has gotten worse since we started the egg yolk power but it didn't start with it. My first note of loose stool is on 4/25 and we didn't introduce the egg power until 5/3. It's possible it is aggravating it because after we started using it is when the full on diarrhea started so I'll cut that out tonight just in case. His hairballs are pretty much gone now, so we'll also see if those come back when we stop with the egg powder.

I don't think it's a food allergy, we've got him on only the Turkey & Duck right now which is what he's been eating for months now with no trouble.
 
Vet thinks it could be IBD but said that can be difficult and expensive to test and diagnose for so she suggested we first just try to treat the diarrhea and if that doesn't work we'll start testing. So she gave us a syringe of DiaGel which is supposed to help firm up the stool and a bottle of Metronizadozle which is supposed to be an antibacterial/antibiotic that should treat the diarrhea itself. She also suggested we start giving some pumpkin so I picked up a can of that (100% pure pumpkin, not pie filler). She also suggested I give him a bubble of sub-q to help replenish his electrolytes. I'm going to do that and given that the last time we gave him one we saw a dip in BG as a result, I'm not going to increase the dosage tonight to fight the bounce and see if the bubble takes care of it. If we don't see a drop from the bubble and/or he is still high in the morning I will do a .25u increase to 2.25u. Dose plan is of course tentative based on what kind of testing results we see between now and then.
 
PMPS 307. Bubble didn't bring him down, still just surfing around 300. Didn't seem to be a huge fan of the pumpkin, had to cover it with the slurry and he was still iffy about eating it but we got most of it down, plus the Metronidazole. Took the egg powder out of the slurry just in case, we'll try adding that back in once things settle down. Hopefully the sub-q helps a bit and keeps the ketones in check, I'll test him again in the morning.

If his BG isn't down to at least low 200s by the morning I'm going to increase .25u. If he happens to come down to blues in the AM or PM cycle after i do the increase I will go back down to 2u at the next shot so we don't get too strong a depot going. I'm pretty sure he's just bouncing right now and I want to bring it down but I don't want to get another hypo going.
 
282@+5. Still looking like I'll be increasing at AM. Most likely won't get another reading until AMPS, big MAYBE +11, unless it's blue I'll up the dose. Still got diarrhea, just went at +5 and it's just hot soup. Though he did hold it longer, about 6 hours since his last trip to the box, versus the usual 3, it wasn't any thicker so I'm not sure that's any kind of gain. Check back in the morning.
 
Some cats will eat baby food squash, but not pumpkin. ECID, Neko begged for pumpkin when I was cooking with it.

IBD is expensive but not difficult to diagnose. First comes an ultrasound to see if and where inflammation is. Depending on that, it’s either an endoscopy or surgical biopsy to retrieve a sample that is tested to identify IBD and differentiate from small cell lymphoma.

Have you ever tried the really novel proteins like lamb, venison or rabbit? Poultry can be allergens, as is beef, fish and eggs.
 
First comes an ultrasound to see if and where inflammation is
I'm not strictly adverse to the ultrasound, it's just that we've already done two in the past year and he's just now growing his fur back from the one in November so I'm trying to avoid another at all cost. Is there maybe something they can review on the ones we've already done? The last one was in November when he went critical and got the pancreatitis diagnosis, the previous one was a few months earlier when they failed to diagnosis the pancreatitis (part of why I have zero faith in vets right now)

Have you ever tried the really novel proteins like lamb, venison or rabbit?
I have not. Everything on the main list seems to be either beef or poultry. He doesn't like chicken, turkey & duck is what he's been eating but as we've seen it's up and down, beef is a big maybe at this point. Are there any brands that offer lamb, venison, or rabbit or at that point are we looking at homemade raw? Honestly at this point I'm not really adverse to it if it's what it takes. The cost of buying a meat grinder and doing a little prep work would far outweigh the hours I'm putting in right now.
 
They can reuse an old ultrasound, if the right organs were imaged and there is inflammation of the bowels in the image.

Yes there are commercially available lamb, venison and rabbit. Search Dr, Lisa’s list with those words. Nature’s Variety, Ziwipeak, Rawz, Koha all have some or all of those options. Then you have to check the ingredients cause they often have second proteins in there. Some limited ingredient diets are good. If he would eat raw, it can often be helpful for IBD. It is easier to get commercial raw in different proteins, or make your own by adding a premix like FoodFurLife to meat.
 
If he would eat raw, it can often be helpful
So this has been my biggest concern. I looked at the raw diet and it requires a lot of upfront cost and investment. I'd hate to drop all that coin and then he doesn't take to it. Are there any trail options, maybe somewhere I can order a sample of raw food to see if it takes? I'm not adverse to doing if that's what we need, I'm just adverse to the cost if that's what we don't need.
 
Back
Top