5/10 Ruby AMPS 76/+3 94/+5 92/PMPS 96/+2 93/+4 86

Happy happy for you girls! I'm glad you are doing the drop dose. I went the drop route also, even though I could have tried to stop insulin after the 2 drops (.1U). When I did it, I thought it was the way to go; didn't even know .1 was often the last dose! But the lift off of insulin was so smooth.
Rooting hard for more lovely starts to the day like this one.:):):):cat::cat::cat:
 
+3 = 94. This makes me super nervous as Ruby never throws me such a high number at this time. Poked her twice to check. I did a test to see what came out of the syringe when I pushed in the plunger, put it in the pen and then let go of the plunger. What came out was barely a drop. Perhaps I needed to hold the needle in Ruby longer, as this morning she moved when I gave her the shot.

Hoping this number is a blip and an anomaly, and we'll be on course again for the next test.
 
I practiced that drop so many times . . . take Rubes for a little run to get a few points lower! Does she have a treadmill? Just kidding of course; keeping paws crossed she's just messin' with you!
I agree she just needs to settle in to this dose. Has to be it:cat: Right Ruby?
 
I practiced that drop so many times . . . take Rubes for a little run to get a few points lower! Does she have a treadmill? Just kidding of course; keeping paws crossed she's just messin' with you!
I agree she just needs to settle in to this dose. Has to be it:cat: Right Ruby?
Haha! Good idea. I am basically the treadmill. :rolleyes: I drag a piece of kitchen twine up and down our hallway in our apartment for exercise for the cats. They love it more than the laser.

Regarding the drop: I only got a little spittle of insulin out when I pushed the plunger and then released in the pen. The insulin won't drip off the needle without me flicking it, it's so small gravity doesn't work on it. Should it be a fat drop? When I do .1, it's a fat drop and then a smaller one so it's like 1.5 drops.
 
Yesterday on That Cat Ruby. :cat:

The day starts auspiciously :coffee: : a poop in the LB, a low AMPS, and everyone was a member of the Clean Plate Club. :woot: Reduced to a drop dose today. :D

Healing thoughts for all of the sick kitties, and happy Monday! :bighug::bighug:
Good morning Katherine. Great job Ruby and Katherine. Good luck with the reduction, almost there. How are you doing Katherine? :nailbiting: Nerves getting to you? Ruby is just testing your faith in her :p Everything looks beautiful. Sending big hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Katherine, Ruby is lucky to have a personal treadmill:D

How I wish I could "fix" this issue of the drops not being the same size. I'll try!?!
I played on a glass top stove, trying to match my drops. I noticed for a long time how the drops were as you say: not two equal drops from the .1 unit. I practiced the .1 two drops, then the 1 drop I was drawing, until all three drops (two from .1 and one from "the drop") looked equal. The primary thing I noticed FIRST was that you need to prime the needle before relying on even a drop to come out. I did that by drawing insulin in the needle, then pushing in all back in (push hard), then let the air fill that drop dose. If I did not draw a bit of insulin first, then push back in hard before releasing, simply pushing in and releasing drew no insulin at all.
And YES, push hard on the plunger, and pause for a bit before pulling the needle out, when giving precious Ruby that drop.

I hope all that rambling helps in some kind of way!! Gosh I'd be a horrible technical writer, but I sure love reading other people's better concise writing:)
 
@Diane Tyler's Mom I saw Tyler gave you a few mid-cycle 90's when he was on a drop. Please talk me off the ledge. :nailbiting:
Hi Katherine, yes I looked back and there were a few in the 90's and one blue PMPS
Of course I freaked out too.
I was told to not get bent out of shape , just to see if it keeps happening, and to post
before I panicked and gave insulin

Ruby probably has to settle into the new dose
I would push as hard as I could on the plunger , stick it in the pen and let it go
Then I would check to see if any came out of the syringe , I would push as hard as I could to see if any came out.

Then I would do it again , insert the syringe into Tyler push and hold it for about 5 or 6 seconds
When I got that blue I waited 3 hours after he ate and tested him again to make sure the number came down. Prime the needle also like Tina Marie and Jan said
@PerfumedCatMom
 
Last edited:
Ruby threw up her PMPS meal. Getting her to eat over the past week has been hard. I have to chase her around the apartment with the dish until she acquiesces and takes a few bites. I've been giving her ondansetron everyday because she's either been throwing up or very reluctant to eat her meals. I don't think it was the Alnutrin because her sister Olive has been eating the turkey I made with it and she has been totally fine. I found a new vet who is not a holistic vet per se but says she is supportive of raw feeding and offers acupuncture and other forms of Chinese medicine. I might bring Ruby there if they can fit me in if her tummy issues continue. I was hoping to wait until June to do her kidney values but I probably can't wait until then. All of this vomiting is not normal.

Katherine, Ruby is lucky to have a personal treadmill:D

How I wish I could "fix" this issue of the drops not being the same size. I'll try!?!
I played on a glass top stove, trying to match my drops. I noticed for a long time how the drops were as you say: not two equal drops from the .1 unit. I practiced the .1 two drops, then the 1 drop I was drawing, until all three drops (two from .1 and one from "the drop") looked equal. The primary thing I noticed FIRST was that you need to prime the needle before relying on even a drop to come out. I did that by drawing insulin in the needle, then pushing in all back in (push hard), then let the air fill that drop dose. If I did not draw a bit of insulin first, then push back in hard before releasing, simply pushing in and releasing drew no insulin at all.
And YES, push hard on the plunger, and pause for a bit before pulling the needle out, when giving precious Ruby that drop.

I hope all that rambling helps in some kind of way!! Gosh I'd be a horrible technical writer, but I sure love reading other people's better concise writing:)

Jan, So grateful for your utterly VERBOSE explanation! :bighug: After reading your instructions I did some practicing myself. I realized that you're right and I didn't prime the needle this morning. I figured out that since my .1 was about 1.5 drops, I drew about .5 units of insulin and eyeballed the plunger to be just above where I stopped for .1 (right before the plunger hits the stopper) and was able to get one drop out rather than a drop and a half. Ruby very likely got no insulin at all this morning. Was really happy that she remained so flat all day, but her numbers might be elevated because she's not feeling well. As Elise says, I should wait for things to settle down.

Hi Katherine, yes I looked back and there were a few in the 90's and one blue PMPS
Of course I freaked out too.
I was told to not get bent out of shape , just to see if it keeps happening, and to post
before I panicked and gave insulin

Ruby probably has to settle into the new dose
I would push as hard as I could on the plunger , stick it in the pen and let it go
Then I would check to see if any came out of the syringe , I would push as hard as I could to see if any came out.

Then I would do it again , insert the syringe into Tyler push and hold it for about 5 or 6 seconds
When I got that blue I waited 3 hours after he ate and tested him again to make sure the number came down. Prime the needle also like Tina Marie and Jan said
@PerfumedCatMom

Thanks, Diane, for allowing me to freak out and not feel totally crazy to do so! I think getting up at 3 AM every day is also making me a emotionally fragile. :arghh: I will follow your very good directions and put myself in a more optimistic mindset. You're the best, Auntie Diane! :kiss: :bighug:
 
Thanks, Diane, for allowing me to freak out and not feel totally crazy to do so! I think getting up at 3 AM every day is also making me a emotionally fragile. :arghh: I will follow your very good directions and put myself in a more optimistic mindset. You're the best, Auntie Diane! :kiss: :bighug:
Oh Katherine, I feel so awful for Ruby and this throwing up business. I hope if you can get in with this new vet they can get to the bottom of it.♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I found a new vet who is not a holistic vet per se but says she is supportive of raw feeding and offers acupuncture and other forms of Chinese medicine.
Sounds like my new vet, went to her first for acupuncture and loved her. I hope you have an equally great relationship and can get to the bottom of Ruby's tummy issues. :bighug:

Upset tummy/vomits can raise the numbers a bit, hopefully they come down as she calms down.
 
Back
Top