? 5/10 PHOEBES Amps 354 +2.5 289 +5.5 298 +9 224 +10 206 pmps 236 +2 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phoebes (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-269-6-286-9-305-pmps-335-2-353-9-394.177666/
So I do every 4 cycles up 1 unit until? I see green or blue? NO ONE IS TO USE THIS DOSING METHOD IT IS FOR PHOEBES RESISTANCE ONLY
unless directed by one of the "elders" more experienced members. Who do I have to count on if things start to move quickly besides @Wendy&Neko . I just want to be prepared.
In the morning I go up to 14 units if she sees no green or blues today. Thank you for your attention.
 
I can't offer any expertise in high-dose matters, but if I'm around, I'll be looking in on you and Phoebe and offering whatever I can, even if it's only words of support!
 
So I do every 4 cycles up 1 unit until? I see green or blue?
Keep fast tracking or going up every four cycles until you see blue, then you slow down. For now the increases are 1 unit at a time, but that may change if she gets to higher doses. Think of the increase as a percent of the overall dose. In small doses people go up by 0.25 units. At 5 units that changes to .5 units, or 10% of the dose. 1 unit is now 10% of the base dose. Over 15 you could go to 1.5 units increases. Depending where kitty is with numbers, sometimes we'll change to 15% increases. For anyone lurking, this is strickly for Phoebe only!

Paws crossed Phoebe responds soon.
 
Welcome to the double-digit dose club! If you take a look at Bronx's SS, I was very aggressive with increases until we got to blue and did use R to help him get there. R is an option if you can closely monitor. But please use guidance from other members who are experienced in using R as some kitties, even high-dose ones, can drop too much on even a small dose of R.
 
Another high-doser checking in. I'm relatively up to speed with Phoebes and have been trying to check in a little more often. If you need a quick response on something from me, sending a PM is best since that will send me an email, just a tag I would not see until the next time I logged in.

Similar to Paul (Bronx's dad) we fast tracked as well when Jack was stuck in higher numbers. The idea is to speed up getting them closer to where their numbers should be, then slow down the increases to "fine-tune" the dose. Julie and Wendy both put in my head to start thinking in percentages and not just units of insulin when cats get on a high dose. My reduction last night was more then a lot of cats get in a whole day here and was still less then a 10% reduction:facepalm:.

R insulin can be a great tool to have in the toolbag. I wouldn't say it is time to rush out and get it, but being aware that it is an option is good for now.
If you get interested in going that route, let us know and we can get a few members who have a lot of experience with R to help. It can be powerful stuff, so we always want someone experienced with R to be around the first few times you use it until you know how Phoebes responds.

There will be a tipping point once you overpower the acro and when that happens the dose increases slow down drastically, maybe(paws crossed) even a reduction. I celebrated the first time I took a reduction with Jack. It feels like never ending increases when you are first going up the dosing ladder, but there is a tipping point when the numbers finally start coming down.

Hang in there, I know you are struggling a bit with Phoebes, but you are asking the right questions and following a similar path a lot of us high-dosers took. I definitely like the fast track idea given her stubbornness in showing you a nice blue or green on the SS.
 
Welcome to the double-digit dose club! If you take a look at Bronx's SS, I was very aggressive with increases until we got to blue and did use R to help him get there. R is an option if you can closely monitor. But please use guidance from other members who are experienced in using R as some kitties, even high-dose ones, can drop too much on even a small dose of R.
Ty what's the R?
 
Another high-doser checking in. I'm relatively up to speed with Phoebes and have been trying to check in a little more often. If you need a quick response on something from me, sending a PM is best since that will send me an email, just a tag I would not see until the next time I logged in.

Similar to Paul (Bronx's dad) we fast tracked as well when Jack was stuck in higher numbers. The idea is to speed up getting them closer to where their numbers should be, then slow down the increases to "fine-tune" the dose. Julie and Wendy both put in my head to start thinking in percentages and not just units of insulin when cats get on a high dose. My reduction last night was more then a lot of cats get in a whole day here and was still less then a 10% reduction:facepalm:.

R insulin can be a great tool to have in the toolbag. I wouldn't say it is time to rush out and get it, but being aware that it is an option is good for now.
If you get interested in going that route, let us know and we can get a few members who have a lot of experience with R to help. It can be powerful stuff, so we always want someone experienced with R to be around the first few times you use it until you know how Phoebes responds.

There will be a tipping point once you overpower the acro and when that happens the dose increases slow down drastically, maybe(paws crossed) even a reduction. I celebrated the first time I took a reduction with Jack. It feels like never ending increases when you are first going up the dosing ladder, but there is a tipping point when the numbers finally start coming down.

Hang in there, I know you are struggling a bit with Phoebes, but you are asking the right questions and following a similar path a lot of us high-dosers took. I definitely like the fast track idea given her stubbornness in showing you a nice blue or green on the SS.
Sassy sister checking in. Her name is actually Phoebe but that was taken too when I started here. Lol ty for letting me know you guys are around. @Bronx's dad @saltycat is it better to send pm so it gets to you faster or tagging you ok?
 
Sassy sister checking in
:p:p:p

Ty what's the R?

R is a different type of insulin (novalin R). It is a faster acting insulin that typically lasts about 4 hours. It can be used in addition on an as needed basis in addition to the normal Lantus shots. It is good at bringing numbers down, and lantus/levemir are good at keeping the numbers down. I would say for now being aware it is an option is good enough. Lots going on with you and Phoebe right now, no need to add another variable to the mix now.

Tags are fine for normal stuff, if you can't get an answer and need a faster response, sending a pm will also send an email in case the person is not on the boards.
 
Sassy sister checking in. Her name is actually Phoebe but that was taken too when I started here. Lol ty for letting me know you guys are around. @Bronx's dad @saltycat is it better to send pm so it gets to you faster or tagging you ok?
Either way, pm or tag, is fine. I am pretty new to this myself but many experienced folks already tagged like Wendy, Karen, Sandy & Julie are awesome at offering advice and guidance. Like Wes (saltycat) said, you will eventually get to a dose that works. I was so frustrated stuck in reds & pinks for what seemed like forever, but we finally got to a good place thanks to the great folks on this board.
 
Either way, pm or tag, is fine. I am pretty new to this myself but many experienced folks already tagged like Wendy, Karen, Sandy & Julie are awesome at offering advice and guidance. Like Wes (saltycat) said, you will eventually get to a dose that works. I was so frustrated stuck in reds & pinks for what seemed like forever, but we finally got to a good place thanks to the great folks on this board.
You did the surgery too is that correct?
 
If you think Phoebe starts to get uncomfortable from higher dose Lantus shots then I'd consider switching to Levemir. Lantus is known to sting but doesn't happen to every kitty...just something to be aware of. It stung Doodles over 5/6u but others are on 30+u of Lantus with no problems. Also when I switched to Levemir it did help break through some of Doodles IAA. I'm glad to see Phoebe's been eating good. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Either way, pm or tag, is fine. I am pretty new to this myself but many experienced folks already tagged like Wendy, Karen, Sandy & Julie are awesome at offering advice and guidance. Like Wes (saltycat) said, you will eventually get to a dose that works. I was so frustrated stuck in reds & pinks for what seemed like forever, but we finally got to a good place thanks to the great folks on this board.
Holy moly guacamole, 37units??? :/ poor bronx. Hugs for what you've been thru. Not sure my vet would give me the R. She didn't want her past 5 units 8 she pooped her pants. So we nod. And we smile. Grrr
 
My vet was adamant no cat needed more then 5u of insulin until Jack. Karen made a good point about Lantus stinging some cats, if the Sassy Sister starts flinching at shots it could be worth investigating more. Price is about the same for each except Lantus just went off-patent and prices/coupons are getting better for it.

If you decide to go with some R insulin PM me, I have an extra vial.
 
My first vet gave up after we passed 3u and referred me to a internal medicine vet who was familiar with acromegaly and the use of R. But I got better guidance here using it than my vet could offer. It is avail over the counter at Walmart for about $25/vial. From what I was told early on, Levemir/Lantus likes a lower number to "grab onto", and that's what R can do. It helped the flat reds/pinks we were stuck at. 37u is a lot but I have heard some kitties as high as 100u. Crystal @suki & crystal (GA) was another very high dose kitty.
 
Last edited:
My first vet gave up after we passed 3u and referred me to a internal medicine vet who was familiar with acromegaly and the use of R. But I got better guidance here using it than my vet could offer. It is avail over the counter at Walmart for about $25/vial. From what I was told early on, Levemir/Lantus likes a lower number to "grab onto", and that's what R can do. It helped the flat reds/pinks we were stuck at. 37u is a lot but I have heard some kitties as high as 100u. Crystal @suki & crystal (GA) was another very high dose kitty.
:bookworm::bookworm::bookworm:
 
My first vet gave up after we passed 3u and referred me to a internal medicine vet who was familiar with acromegaly and the use of R. But I got better guidance here using it than my vet could offer. It is avail over the counter at Walmart for about $25/vial. From what I was told early on, Levemir/Lantus likes a lower number to "grab onto", and that's what R can do. It helped the flat reds/pinks we were stuck at. 37u is a lot but I have heard some kitties as high as 100u. Crystal @suki & crystal (GA) was another very high dose kitty.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top