5/10 Pearl PMPS 66, +2 57

Margaret and Pearl (GA)

Member Since 2020
Good morning!! Trying to get back into my habit of posting here in the AMs, and checking on some cat condos to see what you are all up to!!

Pearl is doing ok. Thank goodness for Sienne telling me I needed to reduce dose! No signs that the slowly diminishing depot is affecting her BG negatively.

I still have NOT got that urinalysis on Chessie my civvie. They couldn't get any urine on Friday via cysto so sent me home with nosorb. Chessie will have NONE OF IT. She will hold her pee for 24 hours if she has to (even with sub q fluids on board, as I have found out this weekend), but she will NOT use the nosorb. Meanwhile, I am collecting more bloody urine spots on the bed. So, we go back today at 1:30 for another try at cysto. I loaded her up on sub q fluids a little bit ago so fingers crossed for success. Whether we get it or not - this is the last try, and I will insist on starting antibiotics TODAY.

Hope you are all well and kitties surfing safely. yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-75-do-i-try-a-reduction.247152/#post-2787769
 
I hope the vet can get the urine sample from Chessie. D-Mannose is a supplement you can buy for humans that you can give to cats for a UTI. You can buy capsules or powder. If you get the capsules, you need to open them up to get to the powder. You can add 1/4 tsp in the food a couple times a day. I've used it for Furball and it works. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug:
 
D-Mannose is very good for preventing UTIs in cats, if the bacteria is E. coli. If it is not E. coli then it doesn't really work. If Chessie ends up being the kind of cat who gets frequent UTIs then you might want to consider using it on a regular basis. Hopefully, they can culture and see what the bacteria is. They could do a culture and sensitivity test to see what antibiotics it would be responsive to -- and really quickly (today) they can look under the microscope to see if she has a lot of bacteria in there.
 
I'm totally with you, Margaret. Get those antibiotics. Zenequin would be a great (once a day) choice for a suspected UTI. Good luck today!
I'm totally with you, Margaret. Get those antibiotics. Zenequin would be a great (once a day) choice for a suspected UTI. Good luck today!
Suzanne, do you think you should talk to Margaret about your bad experience with too much sub-q fluids?
 
Good morning!! Trying to get back into my habit of posting here in the AMs, and checking on some cat condos to see what you are all up to!!

Pearl is doing ok. Thank goodness for Sienne telling me I needed to reduce dose! No signs that the slowly diminishing depot is affecting her BG negatively.

I still have NOT got that urinalysis on Chessie my civvie. They couldn't get any urine on Friday via cysto so sent me home with nosorb. Chessie will have NONE OF IT. She will hold her pee for 24 hours if she has to (even with sub q fluids on board, as I have found out this weekend), but she will NOT use the nosorb. Meanwhile, I am collecting more bloody urine spots on the bed. So, we go back today at 1:30 for another try at cysto. I loaded her up on sub q fluids a little bit ago so fingers crossed for success. Whether we get it or not - this is the last try, and I will insist on starting antibiotics TODAY.

Hope you are all well and kitties surfing safely. yesterday's post: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-75-do-i-try-a-reduction.247152/#post-2787769
I'm trying to understand everything, Margaret. Why did Sienne tell you to reduce? Seems Pearls numbers were not too low.
 
Suzanne, do you think you should talk to Margaret about your bad experience with too much sub-q fluids?
I don't know how much sub-q was given to Chessie. I don't know how much Chessie weighs (which would play into how much is too much). And, since it is just a one day thing, it will probably be okay. My tragedy was a result of longer term excess of sub-q fluids :-( It makes me so sad to even think of it.
Let's see what Margaret has to say. Paws crossed.
 
I'm trying to understand everything, Margaret. Why did Sienne tell you to reduce? Seems Pearls numbers were not too low.
Please see sticky quoted yesterday. Numbers in normal range for 14 cycles, then you reduce!

Also have lots of experience giving sub-q! (I am kind of like a home-vet nursery for senior cats), so don't worry not too much was administered.
 
Last edited:
Ok! So, we are back from the vet. NO evidence of blood or bacteria which concerns me. I have SEEN the blood. So, they are sending it off for culture anyway and I got the Veraflox as I insisted. I have enough for 21 days if I need it.

The vet (who is NOT my usual and NOT a sonographer) said she saw a possible mass in Chessie's bladder - ultrasound less than 3 months ago totally perfect, so I have doubts as to how quickly a significant cancerous mass could develop. All that to say, perfect urine sample can also be a cancer that is undetected. It also could have been a blood clot, which the vet says is totally normal and happens to mammals all the time - they form then dissolve all the time.

Or maybe i have it all wrong and the blood is from elsewhere in her body. I have no clue at this point, but I definitely do NOT rush to consider a cancer, especially when a recent ultrasound was perfect (and yes I have experience with vets misdiagnosing my cats before calling things cancer that were not). And I also have experience with UTIs that don't show up on a test but you just treat it anyway (propholactically).

So now we are back at home. CHessie hates me. Pearl is hungry. I am a bit overwhelmed after being awake all night trying to watch Chessie like a hawk to get the urine sample that never happened.
 
Thank you so much for stopping by today, and for your helpful suggestions. Appreciate you all! @carfurby @Diane Tyler's Mom @Summer and Susie @Suzanne & Darcy :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Margaret,I see you have a lot of experience and knowledge when it comes to
all of what you said. I doubt it's cancer also.
What did this vet do another ultrasound today?
Hopefully the veraflox will take care of everything
I'm praying for Chessie that it's not anything serious ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
You made me laugh when you said Chessie hates you and Pearl is hungry
I hope you can get a good sleep tonight
 
Hi Margaret,I see you have a lot of experience and knowledge when it comes to
all of what you said. I doubt it's cancer also.
What did this vet do another ultrasound today?
Hopefully the veraflox will take care of everything
I'm praying for Chessie that it's not anything serious ♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
You made me laugh when you said Chessie hates you and Pearl is hungry
I hope you can get a good sleep tonight

This story is funny in retrospect, but at the time it wasn't. When my Whisper (black cat in profile pic) was declining, she had to be hospitalized. She had a growth in her digestive tract that I knew about from a month previous. The intake veterinarian at the emergency hospital told me "Well, I scanned her quickly with the ultrasound, and that mass is HUGE. It has grown a huge amount!" I was terrified and panicked. Later on (after the "real" ultrasound with the radiologist), she called me back and said "Well, it's a good thing I'm not a radiologist. Because that mass I was telling you about....is just her liver. The growth in her intestines hasn't changed at all".

I don't know why the vet yesterday decided to grab the scanner, but since that experience with Whisper, I never trust those moments unless it's a board-certified radiologist or sonograph technician telling me what is going on.

thanks for the encouragement, Diane!
 
Oh my god, it was her liver. Unbelievable. I don't blame you at all , unless it's a certified radiologist or sonograph tech telling you what's going on.
Praying for Chessie!♥:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top