5/10 Orange AMBG 86 (no shot), +3.5 49, PMPS 92

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/10 Orange AMPS 86 - should I shoot?

We just tried to feed him his breakfast, but he's still not really interested.
 
Re: 5/10 Orange AMPS 86 - should I shoot?

We need to leave now.

I don't feel comfortable shooting now with us not being here at the beginning and him not eating.

For anyone that reads this, I'd appreciate some advice on what to do in 2 hrs when we get home.

Thanks!
 
Re: 5/10 Orange AMPS 86 - should I shoot?

First, remember that Orange gets a dose reduction due to the 42 yesterday. You're going to have to take a look at the New to the Group sticky to see how to measure 0.1u. There are pictures.

Are you able to manage if you shoot 2 hours late? Your shot tonight will need to be 12 hours after whatever time you shoot this morning. (You could move your PM shot 30 min. earlier so you're shooting at +11.5.) Generally, it's the schedule issue that is the biggest problem with a late shot. As long as the numbers allow you to shoot, I think you should be OK to dose late if your schedule will allow.
 
Re: 5/10 Orange AMPS 86 - should I shoot?

yikes, our appointment went way longer than planned.

Its now 3.5 hrs after we would have shot. Do we have to skip at this point? We can manage the schedule if we shoot now. He still hasn't eaten any of the food we left out. I'll get a BG reading now to see where he is and then try to get him to eat.
 
Re: 5/10 Orange AMPS 86 - should I shoot?

GAH! He's at 49!

Is it possible to hypo when his last shot was almost 16 hrs ago? I'm trying to get him to eat now.
 
Re: 5/10 Orange AMPS 86, didn't shoot +3.5 = 49!?!

Definitely no shot right now! Looks like you're getting some pancreas action too!!! Oh what a DREAM! Is there something 'special' that he'll always eat? KT's is boiled chicken - just to get some food in there. Maybe a bit of baby food on top? Tuna juice? I don't usually give dosing advice but since there's no one else here right now, I feel like I need to jump in....

Keep testing to be sure he's coming up....if he were mine, I'd be testing about every half hour until I see rising numbers. Let's see where he goes without another bump right now...

BIG HUG!!!

EDIT TO ADD: Yes he can hypo with shot being over 16 hours ago but not likely. I think that's a worry you can set on the back burner right now as long as you're testing...
 
Re: 5/10 Orange AMPS 86, didn't shoot +3.5 = 49!?!

He ate 1/4 can of EVO! Strange since thats not something he'll normally eat - but I put chicken on top and it helped.

Its 1/2 hr since that 49 test and hes up to 72 now :smile:
 
Re: 5/10 Orange AMPS 86, didn't shoot +3.5 = 49!?!

Good job!!! :thumbup You made the right choice not to shoot, looks like a really full shed. Nice response to the food. This really shows the value of the +11 test!

You will be able to shoot at your regular time tonight or you can adjust the time if you have been wanting to.
 
Re: 5/10 Orange AMPS 86, didn't shoot +3.5 = 49!?!

Julie

Just FYI, he shouldn't be able to hypo if you did not give him any insulin this morning. As Ann said, you are seeing shed action here. I'm glad he ate and he's up. I'm sure it makes you feel better.

Ann's suggestions are good for tonight....either shoot at your regular time or if you want to change times, you can do it now with no problem.

Have a great day. Way to go Orange!

ETA: could you please update your subject line? You should have it as AMBG 86 (since you didn't shoot), +3.5 46 and I believe the 72 was at +4?
Thank you....that will keep others from popping in to think you need help. Doing great!!!
 
Re: 5/10 Orange AMBG 86 (no shot), +3.5 49, +4 72

Thanks - I updated the subject line and SS.

I'm off to work for the afternoon - DH has it under control here, I'll be back for his PM shot.

Thanks!
 
Good news for an Orange kitty update!

DH reported that Orange ate just fine while I was at work today - no prompting or bribery needed. He just walked over to his food bowl all by himself and ate his food - about 3/4 - 1 can total during the day!

To top it all off we have a PMPS of 92 - I'm LOVING that after a missed AM shot! I shot 0.1 and he is scarfing down his dinner. dancing_cat
 
What a lovely day.

Marje had it right but there's also another way to list out numbers when you don't shoot. AMBG is correct or it's your +12. If you use the +12, then your next test is your +15.5. Regardless, what great numbers for Orange.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top