5/10 Neko PMPS 459 +2 341 +4 178 +5 134

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Neko

Member Since 2012
Moderator
Yesterday http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=70631 Neko had a nice little run into very low 200's with a toe dip into the blue lagoon and resulting bounce last night.

So this morning's number was a complete surprise. I'm not sure if she is over the bounce yet, that would be rather quick for her. Still waiting for a time when she is settled for a dosecrease. Instead, today we start a new Lantus cartridge. I'm quite impressed by my local Save On Foods pharmacy and their knowledge of cats and insulin. I called in for a vial and the pharmacist convinced me to do the cartridges instead (not pens).

Neko is currently parked on the floor in front of the autofeeder. DH suggested we should put a bed out for her there because she will literally be there until it delivers the goods. She did a quick yard patrol after breakfast, but you wouldn't want to miss an important event like the autofeeder! :lol:

Testing ketones is getting trickier as the number of pees is going down and much less predictable. She uses the litter box when we come back from rowing, but not for pee.

OT rowing report: It's almost time for sunglasses for the 5:30 AM rowing. Hard to believe. Beautiful blue skies and the expected wind did not show so the water was pretty flat. But it is cold this morning so we were all wearing our pogies (hand covers). There are a couple of geese on Gray Rocks Islands, squawking at us as we go by so definitely nesting. Nothing cuter than having to navigate around momma duck or goose with her babies when they first take to the water.
 
Re: 5/10 Neko AMPS 386

Hi guys .. how funny on neko and the autofeeder .. mocha does not sleep in front of hers, but it can wake her out of a dead sleep! :lol: Your mornings sound so nice .. be it's beautiful for you .. have a great day!
 
Re: 5/10 Neko AMPS 386 +2 463

Well, Neko just answered the question of whether the bounce is over, definitely NOT.

Thanks for stopping by Devon. Interesting to see that OTJ kitties still luvs their fuds. Neko always did before FD, now it's just more intense.
 
Re: 5/10 Neko AMPS 386 +2 463

I wanted to comment on this from yesterday:

wmoore said:
After a nice afternoon of low 200's and possibly dipping toes into the blue lagoon, Neko did the expected and bounced into the blacks. So, we wait before increasing the dose. Mama gets an early to bed pass again!
You don't necessarily need to wait for the bounce to clear every single time she bounces. The point of waiting until a bounce clears is largely to see where she goes once the hormones clear. In this case, the old bounce cleared and Neko remained in the 200s. You still have room for an increase.

There are times when it is helpful to wait (like if the cat is hitting green regularly), but for Neko you should be fine to go ahead and raise the dose.
 
Re: 5/10 Neko AMPS 386 +2 463 +4 459 +8 566 !

Yuck! Today has been nothing but an upward trend. I just started a new cartridge today. I wonder if the Lantus in it is bad? I thought she was getting over her last bounce. I'll see what we have at PMPS. I still have some juice in the old vial, but it's getting older and down to the last quarter which is why I replaced it.

Libby, advice I've received before has been to wait for a bounce to clear before raising the dose, without exception. It's a bit confusing, so maybe there should be something in a sticky about this. Sounds like if you've been at a dose long enough and know where it goes, then it's OK to raise during a bounce. Otherwise, I agree with you that you could be waiting forever to increase if you have to wait to see if you have cleared the bounce, then that cycle without a bounce could cause another.
 
Re: 5/10 Neko AMPS 386 +2 463 +4 459 +8 566 !

the advice to never increase on a bounce has been going around lately, and I'm not sure where it started. If you could never, ever increase during a bounce then you would never be able to increase! You do need to be smart and know where your cat is going, and give her a chance to get there if she is going somewhere interesting. Once you have determined that this is all that particular dose can do for her, then onward and upward. :smile:
 
Re: 5/10 Neko AMPS 386 +2 463 +4 459 +8 566 !

DH suggested we should put a bed out for her there because she will literally be there until it delivers the goods.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

come down, Neko...and best of luck with the increasie!!!
 
Re: 5/10 Neko PMPS 459

PMPS 459 - who thought I'd ever be glad to see that. But after the ugly day of a curve going the wrong way, it's a sign that things are going down and hopefully clearing the bounce from whatever she must have done last night.

Dose increased to 5.0 tonight. Now at the same level as with Caninsulin way back in February.
 
Re: 5/10 Neko PMPS 459

Hi Wendy,

Poor Neko! That's a nasty bounce. I wonder what it feels like to them when they bounce. I know they feel different. I hope the increase helps stop the bounce faster. Racci was on 5u also way back when she was on PZI and transferred the same dose to Lantus. We just worked the opposite way. :lol:

Have a good night.

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 5/10 Neko PMPS 459 +2 341

Wendy, I was reading Neko's profile. Wonder if the food has an impact on her bg. I dont know, maybe you can go through it again. If Neko is not picky with her food. Try something else slowly for a change.
I remember those weeks when Rosy was have the Natural Instict no grain Duck, her bg raised a lot. I guess canbe the vege inside ( carrot, pea). A lot of LC also contain vege inside which kitty might not agree with.
 
Re: 5/10 Neko PMPS 459 +2 341 +4 178

+4 178

Looks like this new dose is having an immediate effect, and I'll up again in an hour to test.

Helen - the primary food Neko gets is from Red Dog/Blue Cat. I got "as fed" numbers from them and put them through the carb calculating spreadsheet and they are in the range of 4 to 5.5% carbs. Different raw food fenders put different amounts or types of veggies in their mix. Some put none. When I give the cats 3P Naturals rabbit, there are no veggies in the package. I also have on hand canned LC, MC, and HC.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top