5/10 Max PMPS 182 +2 124 +4 41....help!

Status
Not open for further replies.
=4http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=14143

Can't update spreadsheet, my google account needs it's password reset, will try again later....but his PMPS was 182...thought it would have gone higher with the dose reduction...but there it is. I bit the bullet and dosed him 1.50U after PMPS. Will now monitor. I'm just scared during the day, if he goes too low and I dose the 1.5, but he seems to be coming down nice and steady. Any advise for tomorrow morning would be welcome. I'll test his BG tonight as much as I can and see how low he goes tonight.


EDIT: he has gone down to 41 at +4, andpotentially going lower to +6. I usually go to bed now...I'm going to add a little high carb to his food
 
Re: 5/10 Max PMPS 182

Oh how I remember being in your shoes! It is surprising that he didn't bounce up higher with the reduced dose, but because they carry a storage shed of "extra" insulin, it's hard to say what will happen. Usually you don't see whether or not a reduced dose is still working until a few cycles later.

Definitely keep an eye on him tonight and see what happens with his numbers and the 1.5u dose. I know it's hard to give a shot and leave for work--I gave a reduced dose several times myself. I really can't give any dosing advice--my Max didn't always follow the rules for a dose reduction, and often I was just trying to do damage control, only to find that the reduction stuck and worked out for him. So much of the dosing, especially with newly diagnosed kitties, is a guess and test type of game. If you look at my ss, you'll see we dropped from 2u to .5u in a 5-day time span, which is not typical, nor would I recommend it. It was scary, and exhausting, but somehow it worked.

Anyway, hang in there. And as we've all said before, if you need dosing help, put it in your subject line. There are many others around here who have been at this much longer, and have more knowledge to say whether a reduction would be warranted to see if it lessens the bounce.
 
Re: 5/10 Max PMPS 182 +2 124

Hello there!

Nice AMPS there!
I hope you get your google docs figured out soon.
Could I also trouble you to make a profile for Max with the food/schedule he eats, it would be helpful.

I am also a fan of keeping things constant and lantus likes it. Same dose 12 hours apart -> unless you get special coaching - is in my opinion the best way to keep things relatively the same. Collecting data will for sure increase your confidence because you'll learn how Max is responding to insulin. I was worried a lot to leave for work, but I knew that Tizon would eat (ok, to be totally honest, i thought at one point that he wouldn't get out of bed to eat... but that was me losing my mind), so I got a timed feeder and I observed Tizon using it. That was key for me.... Knowing a little bit in advance (like at +11) what to expect at AMPS also helped me. Yeah, it required me getting my rearend out of bed earlier, but it bought me more time to decide what to do with his morning dose. Remember that you can always "manipulate" food with a little gravy if you have to. JD/Dyana is really good at noting the type (and %) of the food she uses on her SS... have a look.

And a couple of last things.... if the protocol is followed (all other things being equal) and enough spot checks are collected, the dose can only be off by 0.25U, which isn't an enormous overdose. The body can typically adjust to a tiny overdose. And last but not least, the bounces you see are a indication that Max's liver is working.... so if he goes low, the liver will (very likely, again CMA) counteract and cause Max's blood sugar to increase again....

I hope this helps.... see you around!
 
I have just added a tablespoon of FF High Carb to his normal low carb feed. He is walking around and no signs of anything funny, but like I say we still have a +6 to navigate. I'll test again in 30 minutes....and murphy's law he is hating his BG testing today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top