5/10 Kasha AMPS 422, 97@+5, 536@+11 PMPS 499 Advice Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Well, 422 still sucks, but it is 70+ points lower than our starting points yesterday, so I'll take that.

Got through the morning feeding - I had to put Blue in the front stairwell for about 1/2 hour so Kasha could eat (he's not allowed to eat this morning cuz we have a vet appt and they may - likely - need to sedate him). Kasha ate fairly well - Wellness chicken, which we haven't had for a few days. A break from the FF. She ate her full breakfast, so I'm not complaining. I had to chicken dust the last 1 or 2 tsp, but hey - whatever works. Then she ate a little extra from a spoon directly out of the can. I think that's a novelty for her, so it's more interesting.

Now - to get thru this vet appt with Blue. My nerves are frayed.


Yesterday
 
Re: 5/10 Kasha AMPS 422

Jezebel said:
What is chicken dust?
Debie & Jez

It's crumbled freeze-dried chicken - like Halo Liv-a-Littles. Just crumble to dust over food and a lot of cats can't resist.
 
Re: 5/10 Kasha AMPS 422

Well, Kasha's numbers are dropping like a stone - setting up for another bounce, I presume. Just gave her a FF snack to smooth things out, but it's probably too late for that.

Just got back with Blue. Screamed like a banshee all the way to the specialist's office. Nice drive. Screamed in the office as well, but otherwise fairly good. The results: he is a candidate for amputation, no guarantees of course. It will cost $2200 - 2600 for the amputation and follow-up, assuming no complications. That's a tough one. I don't want this to be about money, but that is a big issue for me at the present time. Things are tight -. There have been a LOT of expenses lately - I'm concerned that if I do this and something comes up with Kasha, I may find myself in a position where I can't afford to do what I need for her. She is priority #1. It may not be right, but that's how it is. We've spend most of my adult life together (17+ yrs) and I will take of her.

Another issue: Blue's brother. Big White Cat, has been fading away - the prednisolone is helping, but it's hard to say what's going on. At least he is eating now.

I also have a geriatric horse who's been with me for 27+ years. He also has health issues (Note: if your daughter/niece/cousin/etc. decides she wants a horse when she is 12, make sure she has some concept of the fact that horses can and do live 30+ years and if you stick by them, you will be dealing with numerous age-related issues that you never expected to encounter back when you were 12).

God, I really don't want this to be about money, but I'm going to have to do some soul-searching here. I don't see how I can NOT do this. But it's going to be very difficult financially to do this. And there's always the possibility of this turning into a total nightmare for Blue, which is why I didn't initially consider it. But now the tumor on his foot is necrotic and the tissue is degrading quickly - something has to be done - but to look at Blue, he's so vibrant and alive, I don't see how euthanasia can be a consideration at this time. And there are no other options for him - the specialist confirmed that today. Due to the location of the tumor, there is no way to remove it and do skin grafts. It's not a viable option. Basically, it's amputation or nothing.

I guess there are no easy decisions here.
 
Re: 5/10 Kasha AMPS 422, 116 @ +4

Maybe you can set up a pay off plan with the vet so Kasha can have the surgery she needs? Wish I could help, but I will be here for support as we all will. HUGS to you all~~!
 
Re: 5/10 Kasha AMPS 422, 116 @ +4, 97@+5

Surgery is not for Kasha - it's for one of the other cats, Blue. Anyway - have to think about that for a bit.

Kasha just hit the green. She is going to bounce like a rubber ball after this. I've given her 2 treats - FF treat @ +3.3 and some turkey at +4.5 and she still made it to the green. What a crazy ride.

Got to to into work for the afternoon.

Thanks for all your support.
 
Re: 5/10 Kasha AMPS 422, 97@+5, 536 @ +11 Advice Please!

Looks like she's bouncing hard again. Any advice? This can't be good for her. What should I be doing? Help please...
 
Re: 5/10 Kasha AMPS 422, 97@+5, 536 @ +11 Advice Please!

Ouchy - I wonder where she went after +5? Pretty green!
The only thing I can suggest is hang in there and patience! Bumps in the road and they too shall pass.
 
So what's the protocol when you're bouncing like this? Hold the dose and ride it out until it steadies more? If I hadn't been home today, I wouldn't have known she hit the green... And I won't be checking any more daytime nadirs this week because of work stuff.
 
yep, you want to hold the dose until the bounce clears, then see if she can make it back to green. If so, yay! If not, then we'll need to increase the dose to get the green back.
 
Ok - I just feel like she bounces, clears the bounce and drops into the blues and greens - too fast - then bounces again, clears that bounce then sinks too fast, bounces.... will the crazy cycle ever end?
 
I do think your instincts were good to give Kasha some food to soften the drop. That may be just part of the routine -- give her more food early in the cycle to offset the drop during the time when Lantus is most active.
 
Well, there will be food out for her tomorrow, but she'll have to figure it out herself. She was snacking on her own a lot today - mostly on her turkey. She just ate a bunch of chicken I just cooked for her (note, I did not cook anything for ME - LOL). I hate these high numbers.
 
I don't have bouncers, but maybe you will see less once Kasha gets used to those lower numbers 'feeling' right. There's one good thing about getting those green numbers, and that's knowing Kasha can get down to them!
She has been at this insulin for just a short while, so once she settles in, she will get some better numbers.

I sure hope everything goes OK for Blue. I know money's an issue but if at all possible, I am sure you and the vets can work something out so that Blue gets fixed up to live alot more life.

Pats and scratches for all of you crew.
 
krys - what is Blue's diagnosis? Which leg do they want to amputate, how old is Blue, how long has he had the problem?
I may have missed prior discussion on this so sorry if you are repeating. We had a cat that we had to do an amputation for a cancer that started in his paw.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top