5/10 Fearless AMPS=237 +2(113) +4(43) +5(52) +5.5(74) +6(130) +8(434) PMPS=449

Status
Not open for further replies.
Generally speaking it seems Fearless likes to do big drops in the first few hours of his cycles. Big drops could be contributing to his bounces and some actually bounce worse from big drops in a short period of time rather than too low of numbers. Wondering if you might try an experiment with either a little higher carb food at preshot time and/or feeding a little more food at +1 &+2 ( a tsp or two) to try and help minimize those drops and help flatten him out.

I never had to feed the curve but @Gill & George and @Sienne and Gabby (GA) had plenty of experience with it. There's also some information here
Feeding the Curve which is found in the Where Can I Find sticky.
 
Nice blue from Fearless, thought he had something up his sleeve.

Have you tried a snack this morning to try and slow him down?
The link for feeding the curve Karen gave you is a real good one, helped me tremendously.
 
I fed that 113 twice as much as normal (1/4 can LC) but it wasn't enough. +4 was 43 so I just fed 1T MC food w/gravy. Will test again in 30 min.
 
Last time he was blue @ +2 (other than yesterday) I fed 1/4 can LC and he stayed in blue. Never thought the bottom would fall out today or I would have tested every hour. Trying to give his poor little ears a break and do some gardening, but obviously that decision came back to bite me in the butt. :facepalm:
 
Cumulative effect of 4 tsp MC w/gravy over 2 hours brought him up, but nadir still 1/2 to 1-1/2 hours away, so fed 1/8 can LC just now.
 
Here's a question: how can I indicate two BG counts in one cell and still have correct color displayed? I've tried to change it after typing numbers, but no go.
 
how can I indicate two BG counts in one cell and still have correct color displayed
You have to choose "Format" then "text wrapping" then "wrap text" to stack the numbers. You'll also need to manually change the color by clicking on the cell, then there is an icon on the tool bar that looks like a "paint bucket", click there and select the color.

Depending on how fat your 1u Fat is, I might bring him down to .75u. Reason being is that he was also seeing green on the 1u and thing the dose was fattened prematurely. Either that or at least bring him back to a regular 1u. We don't encourage "fattening" the dose but rather keeping to the .25 reductions/ increases until they are mostly staying in normal numbers 120-50 on a human meter, and well regulated which Fearless is not. No harm done, you're doing great...just my 2 cents. Remember, Lantus is dosed on how low they go not how high they are. On the 1u he was seeing nadirs in the 60's :) I would however try to work on "feeding the curve" a bit as mentioned above to try and flatten him out a bit. Many kitties bounce higher/harder from fast/large drops in a short time frame than when they go into too low of numbers.

Hope he just surfs the rest of the day. If he's still high at PMPS you can shoot the 1uf one more time which is know as shooting through the bounce and then start the reduced dose in the morning.
 
I had already applied a text wrap but the color change doesn't work. As a work around I put the additional info for that hour in a note. Thanks anyway.

I would however try to work on "feeding the curve"
I have been feeding the curve, but have never tried simply feeding more at +1 and +2 for fear that it would counteract the insulin too much. I'll give that a try tomorrow morning.
 
Last edited:
Does that make sense?
It does and it's up to you whether you try the 1u or go down to .75. You can try the 1u again and sure Fearless what let you know what he thinks sooner or later ;)

I have been feeding the curve, but have never tried simply feeding more at +1 and +2 for fear that it would counteract the insulin too much. I'll give that a try tomorrow morning
Just a tsp or two at +1 & +2 so not much to stop the insulin but rather to slow those big drops in the beginning. Experiments are good and that's all you can do.

but the color change doesn't work
If you click on that "Paint Bucket" icon on the tool bar you can manually select the color.
 
Just a tsp or two at +1 & +2 so not much to stop the insulin but rather to slow those big drops in the beginning
It's just an observation when I looked at Fearless's SS. He tends to have pretty significant drops early in the cycle before the +2's. Some kitties just like to do that and have seen by feeding a little higher carb at preshot and a tsp or 2 at @1 & +2 eventually helped flatten the kitty out.

Sorry about the nasty bounce but he'll come back down soon. :bighug:
 
Hey there, looks like sometimes Fearless likes to drop at the +2 but, not all of the time. The 43 he popped you today earned a reduction to .75. It looks like you shot through the bounce tonight but you should take the reduction to .75 tomorrow AM

Congrats on the reducie!
 

Attachments

  • upload_2017-5-10_20-7-58.png
    upload_2017-5-10_20-7-58.png
    58.8 KB · Views: 63
I just saw Karen's tag. Sorry I'm late to the party.

You might want to take a look at Gabby's SS. She was a kitty who was prone to fast, early dives and bounces. What I found was that it was important to get in early tests. If numbers were dropping quickly, I started to steer the curve with food -- either LC or HC depending on how fast she was dropping, if I was going to be home, etc. Because Gabby was bouncy, how I steered her numbers was based on trying to prevent her from earning reductions. I'm not sure that Fearless is that far along in the process of FD that you need to consider that strategy so looking at the earlier pages of Gabby's SS may be of greater help.

 
You might want to take a look at Gabby's SS.
I see what you mean about the big drops. I'll try to get more tests early in the cycle.

Gabby must have had asbestos ears after 10 tests/day! I just read your post in the tribute to her and cried like I'd known her. I know this is very late, but I'm so sorry for your loss. Sometime you will have to tell me how you managed to have a life outside the house when you were testing that much for 6+ years. You deserve a medal for your perseverance and unconditional love for your kitties.
 
Thank you. I think about her every day. For being such a diva, she was a very special lady.

We were able to get into a routine and, frankly, their ears do toughen up and bleed easier as the capillary bed develops. It helped that Gabby was prone to drama early in the cycle. I would be able to get her taken care of and go out. I also have wonderful friends who are either pet people or indulgent of my being a devoted cat parent, and would understand that I needed to run home to check on her. Even at work, if I had a late meeting, I would go home to test, feed, and shoot then return for a meeting and get home usually ahead of any dramatics. Much of the learning curve is a matter of knowing your cat. It's why gathering the data and having a sense of when onset and nadir occur is so important.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top