5/10 Cheech AMPS 316, +3 328 +6 371 +9 332

CheechMama

Member Since 2026
Previous posts

Happy Mother’s Day to all and happy curve day to us!!

This time I decided on an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. I’ve never seen her BG rise after a shot so this will be interesting for us all! I will update as we go, and as her temperament allows.

It’s a nice and dreary day for us here, Cheech getting her sleep in!!


IMG_4645.jpeg
 
Argh feeling so confused why she is climbing post shot?! Did I miss her nadir!!
She's likely in a bounce, perhaps from that lower AMPS number today. Did you skip her dose last night? I don't see anything on the spreadsheet. Once you get into the p.m. cycle, please tag Marje and Gracie or Wendy and Neko to get their eyes on your spreadsheet and get some analysis and guidance about increasing, especially given that Cheech has had ketones and would do well to get out of these higher numbers.
 
She's likely in a bounce, perhaps from that lower AMPS number today. Did you skip her dose last night? I don't see anything on the spreadsheet. Once you get into the p.m. cycle, please tag Marje and Gracie or Wendy and Neko to get their eyes on your spreadsheet and get some analysis and guidance about increasing, especially given that Cheech has had ketones and would do well to get out of these higher numbers.
Thank you for the catch! She did get her PM shot, we did not fill the SS. We have a physical paper document with her shot times so sometimes if we’re distracted we forget the SS! This plus the AlphaTrak saves the blood glucose for us.

I just updated. ❤️

As for her ketones, both the vet and the forum have said it was such a low number that it was not of concern. Nothing came up on her UA when we did it, as well, but I do have ketostix in the house if needed! It’s been on my mind too but her 5ps are good with no symptoms at all.

Thank you again! I’ll tag them once we head into PM cycle as suggested.
 
By the way, LOVE today's picture, as well as the profile picture--it always makes me smile. She's a sweet sleepy baby girl!! Give her some scritches and love from Jude and me.
Thank you SO much - she is truly my little baby. She was $30 with a bag of food at the shelter all these years ago. Best $30 of my life.

Jude’s picture is how she loves to sleep - we call it possum pose! He is precious ❤️❤️
 
Hello @Marje and Gracie/ @Wendy&Neko - firstly please accept my apologies if it’s not appropriate to tag you, however I am hoping on some guidance on our curve. It is not over yet!

I just did PMPS 346

I’m not sure why she’s having a bounce like this - maybe I should be glad we caught it? Any advice is helpful and I will email her vet tonight as well after we complete the curve.

Many thanks in advance!
 
Hello @Marje and Gracie/ @Wendy&Neko - firstly please accept my apologies if it’s not appropriate to tag you, however I am hoping on some guidance on our curve. It is not over yet!

I just did PMPS 346

I’m not sure why she’s having a bounce like this - maybe I should be glad we caught it? Any advice is helpful and I will email her vet tonight as well after we complete the curve.

Many thanks in advance!
It’s fine to tag us.

She looks very flat to me (she’s not going up and down because there can be a 20% variation from test to test) and, without any nighttime tests at all, it’s impossible to know if she’s high and flat all the time or she’s bouncing. If you could even just get a +2 and before bed every night in the PM cycle, it would be extremely helpful.

Under SLGS, you would do a curve every 7 days, testing every two hours, for one cycle. Without that data, it’s going to be very hard for you to properly dose her but based on what you’ve seen today, I would increase her dose by 0.25u. If you could do TR, you could raise the dose more often and by 0.5u until she’s seeing BGs under 300 but you would have to test more. I wonder if she would do better with a Libre 3 CGM just so you would have a better idea of her BGs if you can’t be there to monitor her. She could be doing much better and staying at these high numbers this long builds up insulin resistance and results in glucose toxicity.
 
It’s fine to tag us.

She looks very flat to me (she’s not going up and down because there can be a 20% variation from test to test) and, without any nighttime tests at all, it’s impossible to know if she’s high and flat all the time or she’s bouncing. If you could even just get a +2 and before bed every night in the PM cycle, it would be extremely helpful.

Under SLGS, you would do a curve every 7 days, testing every two hours, for one cycle. Without that data, it’s going to be very hard for you to properly dose her but based on what you’ve seen today, I would increase her dose by 0.25u. If you could do TR, you could raise the dose more often and by 0.5u until she’s seeing BGs under 300 but you would have to test more. I wonder if she would do better with a Libre 3 CGM just so you would have a better idea of her BGs if you can’t be there to monitor her. She could be doing much better and staying at these high numbers this long builds up insulin resistance and results in glucose toxicity.
Thank you and this makes me feel a lot better weirdly.

I am home and I can absolutely get a + 2 and pre-bed time every night.

With the CGM - she is the type of cat that will rip her fur off if something is stuck to it. She also doesn’t tolerate any shirts/sweaters so we were worried it would cause her more anxiety and stress than not. I’m deeply concerned about insulin resistance as I myself am insulin resistant and I know how that feels as a human.

I have some work travel at the end of this week and next month. My husband doesn’t WFH so I will try TR when I get back and see what we can do to get her on the right path.

With these numbers do you feel we should go up .5?
 
Thank you and this makes me feel a lot better weirdly.

I am home and I can absolutely get a + 2 and pre-bed time every night.

With the CGM - she is the type of cat that will rip her fur off if something is stuck to it. She also doesn’t tolerate any shirts/sweaters so we were worried it would cause her more anxiety and stress than not. I’m deeply concerned about insulin resistance as I myself am insulin resistant and I know how that feels as a human.

I have some work travel at the end of this week and next month. My husband doesn’t WFH so I will try TR when I get back and see what we can do to get her on the right path.

With these numbers do you feel we should go up .5?
SLGS only allows for increases of 0.25u.

If these numbers are true and she’s not dropping somewhere, she needs to be fast-tracked and we can change her dose by 0.5u because with fast-tracking we set aside both dosing methods. But to fast-track her, you have to be able to test her more than you are currently doing because we have to catch the lows to know when to stop.

That would require, in addition to the PSs, the +2 and something around midcycle during the day and the +2 and before bed at night.
 
SLGS only allows for increases of 0.25u.

If these numbers are true and she’s not dropping somewhere, she needs to be fast-tracked and we can change her dose by 0.5u because with fast-tracking we set aside both dosing methods. But to fast-track her, you have to be able to test her more than you are currently doing because we have to catch the lows to know when to stop.

That would require, in addition to the PSs, the +2 and something around midcycle during the day and the +2 and before bed at night.
Do you feel she is serious enough to be fast tracked? If so, then that’s what we can do.

I’m feeling really concerned that she isn’t responding and I want to do anything I can to help her. I’m feeling a lot of emotions as I process that this isn’t as linear as I hoped and also that I am not doing a good job to help her.

Thank you truly for your advice and kindness.
 
Do you feel she is serious enough to be fast tracked? If so, then that’s what we can do.

I’m feeling really concerned that she isn’t responding and I want to do anything I can to help her. I’m feeling a lot of emotions as I process that this isn’t as linear as I hoped and also that I am not doing a good job to help her.

Thank you truly for your advice and kindness.
Hi Cheech and Mama, every cat and journey is different, but don't lose hope. I look at your ss and it looks similar to zero's. first 6 weeks it just would NOT budge. I am pretty new at this, on my 7th week here and only now i started to see some improvement with some adjustments and some extreme luck. at the begining zero and I were really struggling, like HARD because he just would not let me test him or shoot him, so for a while i missed Preshot tests, or even shots, because it just was too hard, and I was just plummeting down into deppression.

then something changes and things start feeling better. I don't want to say it will be the same with you, since 1. I am almost as new as you in this, got diagnosed a couple of weeks earlier than cheech, and 2. I am learning as i go with the help pf folks here, but just wanted to stop and say, I feel how you feel, I just recently was right there too.
cats do take a while to start responding to insulin, and the biggest difference started happening the minute I joined the Forum. Just with my vet guidance alone, things were pretty stuck in the reds and even blacks.

Hang in there, don't despair, breathe deep, and try to find factors that might help her go down. definitely progressively getting more tests is gonna help you.

YOU GUYS GOT THIS! ☄️ 💫 🍀

love from zero, sigma & mielconejo
 
Do you feel she is serious enough to be fast tracked? If so, then that’s what we can do.

I’m feeling really concerned that she isn’t responding and I want to do anything I can to help her. I’m feeling a lot of emotions as I process that this isn’t as linear as I hoped and also that I am not doing a good job to help her.

Thank you truly for your advice and kindness.
I really would like to see a few more tests. A cat can go from 300 to green to 300 in one cycle. One curve could happen while she’s bouncing. If she is really this flat pink all the time, yes, she needs to be fast-tracked a bit. Sometimes it doesn’t take much. But it does take data because knowledge is power.

I’m happy to help.
 
Hi Cheech and Mama, every cat and journey is different, but don't lose hope. I look at your ss and it looks similar to zero's. first 6 weeks it just would NOT budge. I am pretty new at this, on my 7th week here and only now i started to see some improvement with some adjustments and some extreme luck. at the begining zero and I were really struggling, like HARD because he just would not let me test him or shoot him, so for a while i missed Preshot tests, or even shots, because it just was too hard, and I was just plummeting down into deppression.

then something changes and things start feeling better. I don't want to say it will be the same with you, since 1. I am almost as new as you in this, got diagnosed a couple of weeks earlier than cheech, and 2. I am learning as i go with the help pf folks here, but just wanted to stop and say, I feel how you feel, I just recently was right there too.
cats do take a while to start responding to insulin, and the biggest difference started happening the minute I joined the Forum. Just with my vet guidance alone, things were pretty stuck in the reds and even blacks.

Hang in there, don't despair, breathe deep, and try to find factors that might help her go down. definitely progressively getting more tests is gonna help you.

YOU GUYS GOT THIS! ☄️ 💫 🍀

love from zero, sigma & mielconejo
Thanks for supporting them. It’s so important to be there for each other.
 
Do you feel she is serious enough to be fast tracked? If so, then that’s what we can do.

I’m feeling really concerned that she isn’t responding and I want to do anything I can to help her. I’m feeling a lot of emotions as I process that this isn’t as linear as I hoped and also that I am not doing a good job to help her.

Thank you truly for your advice and kindness.
Perspective: you're doing fine--don't beat yourself up. You just need to grab some more tests, especially at night. If you can do what Marje is saying, you'll likely move her toward better numbers. Every cat is different. Initially, it can take some time to get the dose right and start getting them into better numbers. FD is a challenging disease to treat--and so time consuming! Look at Jude's spreadsheet when he came out of remission in 2024--it took him from October to February to get down into some better numbers. Hang in there!
 
I really would like to see a few more tests. A cat can go from 300 to green to 300 in one cycle. One curve could happen while she’s bouncing. If she is really this flat pink all the time, yes, she needs to be fast-tracked a bit. Sometimes it doesn’t take much. But it does take data because knowledge is power.

I’m happy to help.


Perspective: you're doing fine--don't beat yourself up. You just need to grab some more tests, especially at night. If you can do what Marje is saying, you'll likely move her toward better numbers. Every cat is different. Initially, it can take some time to get the dose right and start getting them into better numbers. FD is a challenging disease to treat--and so time consuming! Look at Jude's spreadsheet when he came out of remission in 2024--it took him from October to February to get down into some better numbers. Hang in there!

Thank you all very much for your kind words and reassurance. I always struggle after a curve because it’s disheartening to see her numbers not lower!!

We just did +3 PMPS 276, which is more in line with what I would have expected.

It’s almost 10pm here so I’m not sure how much later I can get another test but if we feel it’s needed I’ll make it happen.


Hi Cheech and Mama, every cat and journey is different, but don't lose hope. I look at your ss and it looks similar to zero's. first 6 weeks it just would NOT budge. I am pretty new at this, on my 7th week here and only now i started to see some improvement with some adjustments and some extreme luck. at the begining zero and I were really struggling, like HARD because he just would not let me test him or shoot him, so for a while i missed Preshot tests, or even shots, because it just was too hard, and I was just plummeting down into deppression.

then something changes and things start feeling better. I don't want to say it will be the same with you, since 1. I am almost as new as you in this, got diagnosed a couple of weeks earlier than cheech, and 2. I am learning as i go with the help pf folks here, but just wanted to stop and say, I feel how you feel, I just recently was right there too.
cats do take a while to start responding to insulin, and the biggest difference started happening the minute I joined the Forum. Just with my vet guidance alone, things were pretty stuck in the reds and even blacks.

Hang in there, don't despair, breathe deep, and try to find factors that might help her go down. definitely progressively getting more tests is gonna help you.

YOU GUYS GOT THIS! ☄️ 💫 🍀

love from zero, sigma & mielconejo

Thank you, new friends! 🥰
 
Thank you all very much for your kind words and reassurance. I always struggle after a curve because it’s disheartening to see her numbers not lower!!

We just did +3 PMPS 276, which is more in line with what I would have expected.

It’s almost 10pm here so I’m not sure how much later I can get another test but if we feel it’s needed I’ll make it happen.




Thank you, new friends! 🥰
Please know I wasn’t criticizing you. Sometimes new members just don’t get the help they need early on to know what they need to do.

I’m glad to see that 276 and she might come down more later tonight but I believe she’s high enough for you to not test more.

Please be sure and increase her dose to 2.25u bid and grab the tests you can. She might be doing better than we think. 🤞🏻🤞🏻
 
Please know I wasn’t criticizing you. Sometimes new members just don’t get the help they need early on to know what they need to do.

I’m glad to see that 276 and she might come down more later tonight but I believe she’s high enough for you to not test more.

Please be sure and increase her dose to 2.25u bid and grab the tests you can. She might be doing better than we think. 🤞🏻🤞🏻
Omg — absolutely not. Honestly, this is the transparency I’ve needed. I’ve felt very lost and confused on what to do, you have already helped me immensely. Truly. Thank you again for all your advice and we will up her dose and see how she is doing!!

For how much I am concerned about her…this is her following the birds outside. We both say thank you for all your help today 🫶🏻🥰
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4698.jpeg
    IMG_4698.jpeg
    1,020.1 KB · Views: 12
Omg — absolutely not. Honestly, this is the transparency I’ve needed. I’ve felt very lost and confused on what to do, you have already helped me immensely. Truly. Thank you again for all your advice and we will up her dose and see how she is doing!!

For how much I am concerned about her…this is her following the birds outside. We both say thank you for all your help today 🫶🏻🥰
Sweet girl.

You’re welcome. Just tag me when you need to and I’ll try to remember to check in on Tuesday pm so we can decide on the next steps.
 
Back
Top