Beth & Atlas
Member Since 2010
Mornin' Lantus Land!!!
Well if things couldn't get more screwed up....last night as I was getting ready for bed to take the bedtime reading etc.....I noticed the syringe laying on the counter. I thought odd...I didn't dispose of this? As I picked it up it was still loaded!!! ohmygod_smile . That would put us 4 hours behind schedule if I shot Attie. So, I took his reading for +4 expecting it to be sky high. Low and behold it was only 282...actually down from his PMPS. Well, I debated briefly my pros and cons of various scenarios. Shooting that late, dose adjustments, skipping the shot or token dose. So, I opted for a token dose last night and a reduced dose this morning on time.
So we're at the 9th hour on last nights dose with a AMPS of 300. I am home most of the day :sad: today and can monitor these early hours as we have one dose wearing off and the other on-setting. The combined doses are nearly his regular dose, so I expect a drop this morning and then a climb this afternoon.
Of course kitties never perform the way we expect...and that is why one should always proceed with caution and consider your abilities and options for the next 24 hours. If I had a busy day today, I would have skipped the shot entirely and shot normal time this morning a full dose. It would have drained the shed to it, but it would have been the safest route. And it may still have been the right choice...we'll see.
Well all that hissing and growling is now coming from MudCat. I got a good observation last night and this morning... Last night she came into the living room and started on her pay attention to me routine...rolling around on the floor being all torti-flirty....Gary got out of the basket and approached her in a 'play stance.' Don't you know she got up and proceeded to act like a major B. Poor Gary.
This morning when I opened the back windows all three cats wanted at the 10 foot expanse. First Attie, then MudCat, and finally Gary....don't you know she sat there trying to tell Gary he wasn't allowed at the window...then she got up in the cat tree where Gary has been hanging out and wouldn't let him up. He is not approaching her aggressively, but she is letting it be well understood she is not putting up with him in her space.
So the situation remains supervised and Gary gets "put away" if I have to leave or for overnight. Poor guy I know he doesn't understand.
Well if things couldn't get more screwed up....last night as I was getting ready for bed to take the bedtime reading etc.....I noticed the syringe laying on the counter. I thought odd...I didn't dispose of this? As I picked it up it was still loaded!!! ohmygod_smile . That would put us 4 hours behind schedule if I shot Attie. So, I took his reading for +4 expecting it to be sky high. Low and behold it was only 282...actually down from his PMPS. Well, I debated briefly my pros and cons of various scenarios. Shooting that late, dose adjustments, skipping the shot or token dose. So, I opted for a token dose last night and a reduced dose this morning on time.
So we're at the 9th hour on last nights dose with a AMPS of 300. I am home most of the day :sad: today and can monitor these early hours as we have one dose wearing off and the other on-setting. The combined doses are nearly his regular dose, so I expect a drop this morning and then a climb this afternoon.
Of course kitties never perform the way we expect...and that is why one should always proceed with caution and consider your abilities and options for the next 24 hours. If I had a busy day today, I would have skipped the shot entirely and shot normal time this morning a full dose. It would have drained the shed to it, but it would have been the safest route. And it may still have been the right choice...we'll see.
Well all that hissing and growling is now coming from MudCat. I got a good observation last night and this morning... Last night she came into the living room and started on her pay attention to me routine...rolling around on the floor being all torti-flirty....Gary got out of the basket and approached her in a 'play stance.' Don't you know she got up and proceeded to act like a major B. Poor Gary.
This morning when I opened the back windows all three cats wanted at the 10 foot expanse. First Attie, then MudCat, and finally Gary....don't you know she sat there trying to tell Gary he wasn't allowed at the window...then she got up in the cat tree where Gary has been hanging out and wouldn't let him up. He is not approaching her aggressively, but she is letting it be well understood she is not putting up with him in her space.
So the situation remains supervised and Gary gets "put away" if I have to leave or for overnight. Poor guy I know he doesn't understand.