5/10/17 Sprocket.AMPs/332,+2.75/291, PMPS/264.+2.25/194,+4.25/163.+5.5/201.bounced n Blues!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darnell & Sprocket (GA)

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...4-3-2-120-4-8-97-dose-am.177649/#post-1959707

Long night last night with alot of tears.

I am sorry i had to say what some peoples words make me feel like even if the words have best of intentions. I can get sensitive when extra exhausted but I cant help it. I do overthink stuff alot cause I need to know the what and why.

Still trying.

This am. Amps is 332.
He ate 2oz of 3carb and .75 of 1carb leaving.

All meds in 650am and 3.75u at 650am.
Convinced to do 3.75 to help with bounce but will probably go back to 3.5 tonight.
 
Darnell, I read yesterday's thread early this morning and I just wanted to tell you to hang in there. Everyone on here truly wants to help you. I have been where you are now and too many voices saying different things that conflicted with how I felt about things and the pressure to do things "their way" was the catalyst for me to take my cat's care offline. So I do understand where you are right now. You have to do what works for YOU and for Sprocket and keeps him safe. I wish I had a magic wand to wave over you and Sprocket and make your anxiety and fear for Sprocket go away, but only time can help this. The fear of steep drops and a hypo can be paralyzing, especially if you have experience one and/or have a cat that has been through a severe life-threatening crisis. Time truly helps ease this. Like you, I no longer have a life outside of working full-time M-F and taking care of Shoes. I no longer take any long trips or go visit family and friends. I also have serious health issues too. It took me a little bit of time to come to terms with this but I have. I go to work because I have to in order to pay bills. The rest of it will be restored in due time. Sometimes in life, we have to just accept that we are doing the best we can and that there are compromises that have to be made along the way. You are doing the best thing for you and Sprocket right now. I hope that you can take what works for you from the advice given here and understand that you are doing your best and that you are the ultimate decision maker in dealing with Sprocket's diabetes and feel less stressed and have less anxiety.
 
Darnell - you really do have this. I think more than anything you're lacking confidence in your own ability to cope if Sprocket does throw a low number your way at some point. And that makes you scared to leave him alone too in case it happens while you're not there. But remember, it's because you're anxious that you're going to spot the tiny changes in behavior that will lead you to do an early test that would identify a low number before it gets too low. Horrible though anxiety is, it can actually make you very well equipped to handle diabetes with all its ups and downs. And with a little time, you will get the confidence to handle it all without worrying so much too. And we all have your back - never forget that. If you do see a low number, we're here to help with that as well as with general advice. You're getting a lot of responses to your posts when you post lower numbers...and I know 100% that if any of those numbers come up a little too low, all of us will be right here to help you through it. You are, truly, not as alone as you feel with the whole L&L family here to help you. :bighug:
 
Darnell, I read yesterday's thread early this morning and I just wanted to tell you to hang in there. Everyone on here truly wants to help you. I have been where you are now and too many voices saying different things that conflicted with how I felt about things and the pressure to do things "their way" was the catalyst for me to take my cat's care offline. So I do understand where you are right now. You have to do what works for YOU and for Sprocket and keeps him safe. I wish I had a magic wand to wave over you and Sprocket and make your anxiety and fear for Sprocket go away, but only time can help this. The fear of steep drops and a hypo can be paralyzing, especially if you have experience one and/or have a cat that has been through a severe life-threatening crisis. Time truly helps ease this. Like you, I no longer have a life outside of working full-time M-F and taking care of Shoes. I no longer take any long trips or go visit family and friends. I also have serious health issues too. It took me a little bit of time to come to terms with this but I have. I go to work because I have to in order to pay bills. The rest of it will be restored in due time. Sometimes in life, we have to just accept that we are doing the best we can and that there are compromises that have to be made along the way. You are doing the best thing for you and Sprocket right now. I hope that you can take what works for you from the advice given here and understand that you are doing your best and that you are the ultimate decision maker in dealing with Sprocket's diabetes and feel less stressed and have less anxiety.

Thank you!!! A huge tear-filled hug!!!
 
Ok based on me finally deciding slgs is what i must do for me and Sprocket but I will closely monitor. I am going with 3.5u and see what happens. Gonna make a carb food plan for exact times everyday and see if that helps.

He ate 2oz of 4carb and .75oz of 3carb for pmps meal.
Got all meds at 645pm.
We see what happens.
 
I think Sprocket and Marvin are related ;)... One day at a time, I too had a first day here full of tears. My anxiety was triggered by too much information all at once and different from my vet whom is excellent and very open to hearing and looking into what I found on here and the net. Sometimes I find just reading others posts with similar concerns and question that I have helps, as I am getting information I need but don't feel targeted especially if I am tired, or my anxiety has already kicked in. I take it one day at a time, and I just do my best. I take into consideration all advice, but I do choose what work for me today, and adjust as I feel more comfortable. At first I felt super guilty for not having the time or energy to do a proper curve. I know I should and I will do it, at the moment I haven't had a good opportunity and that is ok, as I have learned so much, and the daily activities are a routine now, so I know that I will be able to add some extra things to it to help my Marvin. I am not perfect and my baby isn't going to get regulated overnight and like so many wise people here. Every Cat is Different, so I just check with Marvin to see what's his schedule is to get better, and he gives me that look. ... you know the the one.... "I'll get better on Cat time" ...
 
I think Sprocket and Marvin are related ;)... One day at a time, I too had a first day here full of tears. My anxiety was triggered by too much information all at once and different from my vet whom is excellent and very open to hearing and looking into what I found on here and the net. Sometimes I find just reading others posts with similar concerns and question that I have helps, as I am getting information I need but don't feel targeted especially if I am tired, or my anxiety has already kicked in. I take it one day at a time, and I just do my best. I take into consideration all advice, but I do choose what work for me today, and adjust as I feel more comfortable. At first I felt super guilty for not having the time or energy to do a proper curve. I know I should and I will do it, at the moment I haven't had a good opportunity and that is ok, as I have learned so much, and the daily activities are a routine now, so I know that I will be able to add some extra things to it to help my Marvin. I am not perfect and my baby isn't going to get regulated overnight and like so many wise people here. Every Cat is Different, so I just check with Marvin to see what's his schedule is to get better, and he gives me that look. ... you know the the one.... "I'll get better on Cat time" ...

Hi Nat & Marvin,
I am glad my chaos was able to help you. That makes me feel good. Feel free to look back at other days. I have been posting daily for about 2 months. Sorry you have the anxiety too but we are all troopers!!! We can do it and we will get in good bgs eventually! Look at Sprockets ss, he started in high bgs and he is getting lower now.
Its like a crash course in kitty diabetes 101. I print out what I can cause I do better reading paper especially to remember stuff.
My advice to you is breathe! Then I noticed Marvin had UTI before. I found that the water you get from your tap can have alot of minerals that are bad for kitties. I have a private well now with hard water (good for humans but bad for cats) so I switched to all bottled water for the cats and it has helped alot. I put it in the water bowls plus put some (about a tblsp or two) into each canned food meal. Amount depends on how much you feed at once.
Also, meds. If he is on meds find out if the meds have sugar in them. I learned it can make a difference on bgs. Especially steroids. Anything compounded into liquid can have sugar free flavoring but make sure it says sugar free and that diabetic cat is put on script and file.

As for the curve. I was told to just get different times whenever I can. I started doing +4 , +5, or +6 to try to get a low in middle of cycle then I added other times when I could. You can do that on any days off you have. Or even wake up in middle of night to get a bg. I have been told many times...we shoot the low number we get somewhere in middle of cycle not the amps or pmps bg. Of course, Sprocket seems to not want to settle on what time that is...lol....thus mom all emotional due to lack of sleep.
Another thing that has helped me alot. I went on local fb groups and asked for a vet tech to help me that lived close by. I ended up finding 2 vet techs that took care of Sprocket while he was in hospital so he already loved them. So they come to help me give fluids, clean ears, or give meds when needed. Plus I will use them if i should ever get a minivacation again or day trips. Or just for events that I must be at.
I also recommend learning the canned food from the chart at catinfo.org. I printed the entire chart out to find low carb foods to feed plus learned how I had fed high carb food without realizing it.
Now I label every can with carb number and carbs from 0-20 as I learned we can use them all at different times. Mostly the under 10% but good to have others too.

Hey, look at that...I learned alot that I can give some tips now! Wohoo!

One step at a time. Hugs to you both!
Thanks alot for letting me know we helped you too! I learned alot last few days too.
Now to go test again and get some sleep.
Take care!
 
@Darnell & Sprocket - Look at you able to give advice and everything! Way to go! And I'm sure good for you to realize how much of what you've learned really has stuck in your head. :) I completely agree with everything you've said. Try not to worry about the moving nadirs - I've seen the same cat nadir as early as +2 and as late as +10 on the same dose...but the more regulated they get, the more likely they are to just sit in normal range, flat numbers most of the day so it becomes less of an issue later on. It is a crash course - we all feel thrown in at the deep end initially, then suddenly we realize we've hit a routine and it isn't so scary any more. :bighug:
 
Thank you Darnell, it's nice to see how much you have learned too. It is a journey, and it is good to interact with others who are going through the same things, and those who have been dealing with this for a while. I am sure I will need a lot of support once Marvin starts going down, and reaches the blues and dark green, it's ironic its what we want for them but it scares the X out of us when it happens. Which is probably normal as it's all new again, and we need to adjust and get used to what works and what doesn't at that point. I am looking forward to see those numbers, and I know will be screaming for help here when it does happen. I have a feeling that Sprocket is getting better and there are alot of good things to come.

Thanks again for the suggestions, I may very well check if my vet office has fb, as it would be nice in the future to be able to get away for a few days :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top