5/1 Zener PMPS 174;1 202;2 73,43;3 52,56;4 43,59;+5 64;~6 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Today
5/01/12 Zener
AMPS 448, 8th cycle @1.5u, 2/3PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1.5oz 10%, 1/32t miralax, sprinkle of sisu
+1 382, 1/2 treat, 0.9oz 10%, 7 drops kidney liquid

Zener is doing fine this morning, just a little bounce from the lovely green cycle yesterday. He and Tillie were a little slow on eating but got up to speed. He's been on yard patrol with assistance from Tillie. Beautiful morning here. In fact, it's been a very nice spring with little wind (our normal weather this time of year). Paws crossed that it continues.

Ruby is doing nicely on her OTJ trial. Simon's butt seems to be ok but Georgia will monitor closely - Tillie and Zener both need frequent anal gland expressing so I write that with a slight smirk. Welcome to Lily, Rosalie's new sweetie. What a lucky girl. Hope Charlie's limp gets better. Thinking of ailing kitties, beans, and droolers.

@Serryn: hmm, interesting suggestion, having a liver transplant. Mr. Liver, did you read that?

Happy Tuesday, LL!
Liz
 
Re: 05/01 Zener AMPS 448;+1 382

Happy May Day Liz, Zener and Tillie. So cute with Tille assisting Zener on yard patrol! :-D I bet Tillie doesn't get poo patrol though! :lol: I just get such a kick out of poo patrol. I hope Zener clears the bounce. It's nice weather here, too, low 60's and cloudy. I just took a short walk around the neighborhood. Have a nice day, and hope the nice weather continues.
 
Re: 05/01 Zener AMPS 448;+1 382

Hi guys .. glad to see that zener has come down from that unmentionable floor .. Now he just needs to keep that progress going .. Sweet that tillie helped with the yard patrol .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 05/01 Zener AMPS 448;+1 382;+2 374

Liz is out on a run, so I'm updating. flip_cat
Today
5/01/12 Zener
AMPS 448, 8th cycle @1.5u, 2/3PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1.5oz 10%, 1/32t miralax, sprinkle of sisu
+1 382, 1/2 treat, 0.9oz 10%, 7 drops kidney liquid
+2 374, 0.85oz 10%

@Ann & Maggie - happy May day to you and Ms Mags too! Tillie does not get poo patrol at the same level as the mighty Z. She much prefers to make her deposits in the LB. :lol:

@Devon - Zener is listening to you and continuing down, s l o w l y, for the moment. ;-)

Looks like the big guy will get a pokey break this cycle.
 
Re: 05/01 Zener AMPS 448;+1 382;+2 374;+4 311

I think we need to have Zenner and Tess sign a pledge to "stay away from the evils of that floor." Nice and slow now Z-man.

We're having our summer weather, fog! We seldom need AC though!
 
Re: 05/01 Zener AMPS 448;+1 382;+2 374;+4 311

Oh, I hope Zener will come down for you in the PM cycle.

Hey Zener, you look much better in blue, and some green, even better.
 
Re: 05/01 Zener AMPS 448;+1 382;+2 374;+4 311;+6 321

Nice slow slide down Zener. No drama today. Sounds like it was a good day there. Yard patrol is very important! :lol: I bet you both are counting the hours until school is out. You lucky beans. Have a great night!
 
Re: 05/01 Zener AMPS 448;+1 382;+2 374;+4 311;+6 321

Now Zen yesterday was wild, so let's have a nice quiet slidage down to the blues & greens we all love so much! Moonie was on yard patrol from our big windows--she's indoor but still the Warden of the yard :lol: :lol:
She will help whenever yours need it :lol: HUgs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 05/01 Zener AMPS 448;+1 382;+2 374;+4 311;+6 321

Z-Man, what's up with the pink huh> Mannie says to tell you that he isn't going there, as far as he knows, so best you come on down. :-D

Nice on the weather! We got lucky today - never did get the onslaught of the predicted rains. Mannie was elated, he then could head on out for yard patrol and not worry abut wearing his goulashes. :lol: :lol: Zener - you make alot of patrols today? very nice!

Enjoy your evening - I hope it is a good one.
 
Re: 05/01 Zener PMPS 174

A bounce and slow slide for most of the day, then a big drop between +10.5 & PMPS, thinking it could be a sputter from his pancreas in response to the freeze dried chicken poke snack. Time will tell, or not. :lol:
Today
5/01/12 Zener
AMPS 448, 8th cycle @1.5u, 2/3PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1.5oz 10%, 1/32t miralax, sprinkle of sisu
+1 382, 1/2 treat, 0.9oz 10%, 7 drops kidney liquid
+2 374, 0.85oz 10%
~3 0.6oz 10%
~4 1PP & 3mg Zobaline, 0.3oz 5%
+6 321, not hungry
+10.5 281, FDCh
PMPS 174, 9th cycle @1.5u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1.35oz 10%, 1/16t miralax

@Ann & Tess - send that pledge to us and we'll get Zener to make his mark! :-D Summer weather already, wow! We get fog here about once a year.

@Barb - Looks like Zener is on his way down for the PMPS, he listens to you all here in LL so much better than to us! ;-)

@Melissa & Mr T - so much for the slow slide at the end of this cycle, but it's probably due to the little poke snack. Good day here, though beans were away at work far too much for the kitties liking - severely limits yard patrol.

@Roni - Thanks for coaching the mighty Z on the way to run his cycle. How funny that Moonie is the Warden of the yard at her window! :lol:

@Michelle & Mannie - the only time we like pink is when it follows red. :lol: We will tell Zener that Mannie will not go pink! You can send some of the rains to us. Now that Zener knows Mannie has his own rain footwear, Z will want some too. :roll:

A week or so ago we were on the lookout for extra trays for our auto feeder. Since our civvie Tillie has discovered the auto feeder, she will eat the freeze dried chicken out of it, and the plastic can aggravate her feline acne. If we wash the tray in the dishwasher that usually does the trick. I had no luck online so contacted the manufacturer and they told us they do not sell the food trays separately. So, I posted on FDMB to see if anyone had ideas and CD contacted us. The mighty Z has been eating much better since CD contacted us about the trays, and she said she hoped it would help his eating since the BigMac was always such a good eater. Today, we got a package from CD with two food trays! We think that BigMac is now Zener's appy angel and we will think of CD & BigMac each night when we set up the auto feeder. Thank you CD and BigMac. :YMHUG:

Hope everyone has a great evening in LL!
 
Re: 05/01 Zener PMPS 174

How wonderful is this!
Anne & Zener said:
...... I posted on FDMB to see if anyone had ideas and CD contacted us. The mighty Z has been eating much better since CD contacted us about the trays, and she said she hoped it would help his eating since the BigMac was always such a good eater. Today, we got a package from CD with two food trays! We think that BigMac is now Zener's appy angel and we will think of CD & BigMac each night when we set up the auto feeder. Thank you CD and BigMac. :YMHUG:

Enjoy your evening! Zener is off to a great start!

Zener - dude! we almost gots the same number. freaking awesome! pssstt.... push for the footwear - the rain kind!! Me thinks your bean will cave.... heeheehee.... ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 05/01 Zener PMPS 174

Good evening, guys,

It's so nice to see that Zener came down to blue over the course of the day. Way to go, Z-Man! And you are a lucky kitty to be the proud recipient of BigMac's food trays.

All the kitties are heading to Punkin's tonight to eat cimmamum birthday cake. Hope the beans will have a fine evening (reading term papers??)

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 05/01 Zener PMPS 174

Look like Zener eased out of that bounce and into PMPS nicely! What an honor to have BigMac's trays...I'm sure Zener will treasure them!
 
Re: 05/01 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73



PMPS 174, 9th cycle @1.5u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1.35oz 10%, 1/16t miralax
~1 202, 0.95oz 10%
~2 73, 1 treat, 0.5oz 10%

@Michelle & Mannie - it is really sweet to have BigMac's presence in our house! It's a good thing Zener is eating well, since he is in dive mode this cycle. :shock:

@Ella - we are sending Zener to the birthday party for some treats. Nothing like a rainbow cycle! If we could only get the kitties to do our grading for us. :roll:

@Amy - yep, directly from the trampoline to the diving board. :o

It looks like the bounce busting rainbow kitty is back in the house for this cycle. :shock: Zener was out doing his rounds and Liz showed him the blanket they usually get under to play tent. He came running across the yard and went directly under the blanket and behind Liz's knees for a game of tent. We almost didn't get a +2 since he had gone up at his +1. Sheez! We can never predict what the mighty Z will do, other than the possibility of a 100 point swing one way or the other each hour. :lol: :o :lol: nailbite_smile :roll:
 
Re: 05/01 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73;+2.5 43

:o
PMPS 174, 9th cycle @1.5u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1.35oz 10%, 1/16t miralax
~1 202, 0.95oz 10%
~2 73, 1 treat, 0.5oz 10%
+2.5 43, 1 treat, 0.3oz 10%, 1 drop karo

Holy moly! Who awoke the sleeping Mr P? :shock:
 
Re: 05/01 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73;+2.5 43

Glad you opted to test at +2.5. I guess Zener was tired of this dose and showed you in a big way.

(Note to self: Ask Gabby to stop giving diving lessons.)
 
Re: 05/01 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73;+2.5 43;+3 52

Thanks Gabby for the diving lessons! We're with your bean on this one - stop it, you wild thing!

Sienne - Zener has been diabetic now for over a year, so we are a little confused on his dosing. Is he now considered a long-term diabetic and if so, is this 43 a reduction and how much?
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73;+2.5 43;+3 52;~3.5 56;~4

PMPS 174, 9th cycle @1.5u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1.35oz 10%, 1/16t miralax
~1 202, 0.95oz 10%
~2 73, 1 treat, 0.5oz 10%
+2.5 43, 1 treat, 0.3oz 10%, 1 drop karo
+3 52, 1 treat, 0.3oz 10%, 1 drop karo
~3.5 56, 1 treat, 0.3oz 10%
~4 43, 2 treats, 0.5oz 10%, 2 drops karo

Guess it was too soon to stop the karo so early in the cycle. Back to test and feed every 20 minutes.
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73;+2.5 43;+3 52;~3.5 56;~4

Wow...I can't believe he's been FD a year. So ...good catch on your part. He would not earn a reduction unless he goes below 40. That might not take long :-D

I hope BigMac the appy angel will encourage Zener to eat regularly and lots!
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73;+2.5 43;+3 52;~3.5 56;~4

Thanks Marje! I wasn't sure if anyone would still be up to catch my question so I just sent you a PM. And here you are, answering my question! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73;+2.5 43;+3 52;~3.5 56;~4

WOW! I asked for slidage & you got a dose reduxie!!! How happy is that??
Libby & Lucy went OTJ after 18 months, so there is no expiration date.
Zener is just not a newbie anymore, but not necessarily a long term cat...But he sure is trying for good regulation!!So time will tell if he's a long term cat--Others may have other ideas of this. But for me----
Hope springs eternal right?
Hugs & Loves from us!
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73, 43;~3 52,56;~4 43,59

It's a PJ party. ~O)

PMPS 174, 9th cycle @1.5u, 1PP, 1/8 zantac, 1/4 ondansetron, 1.35oz 10%, 1/16t miralax
~1 202, 0.95oz 10%
~2 73, 1 treat, 0.5oz 10%
+2.5 43, 1 treat, 0.3oz 10%, 1 drop karo
+3 52, 1 treat, 0.3oz 10%, 1 drop karo
~3.5 56, 1 treat, 0.3oz 10%
~4 43, 2 treats, 0.5oz 10%, 2 drops karo
~4.5 59, 1 treat, 0.35oz 10%

@Roni - thanks for the expiration date info! We never know what Zener will do, crazy cat. ;-) We are persistent beans and Zener is the most optimistic kitty I've ever seen, probably from living with his CH disability. He always finds a way to do things!

Thank goodness the big guy is throwing a PJ party the week after I get back from London and I'm recovered from the jet lag. This would have been ugly last week. :lol:
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73, 43;~3 52,56;~4 43,59

Anne and Liz

Yes..he is considered to be a long-term diabetic since it has been more than a year since he was diagnosed. The protocol states:


If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

So you have a few choices on reductions once he goes below 40
1. One time below 40 and take a .25u reduction
2. Since he doesn't hold well, one time below 40 and shave or
3. Three times below 50 and take a .25u reduction or
4. Less desirable but possible for those who really don't hold reductions, three times below 40 and take a .25u reduction

IMHO, I'd try one time below 40 and shave and see how he does. But the decision is yours. :-D
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73,43;~3 52,56;~4 43,59

Thank you Marje - this is exactly what we were trying to remember and also trying to find. Now I have it bookmarked!

We were confused about the three times below 50 and what reduction to take if we were to go that option. The last time we were at 1.5u, Zener had a 38 in one cycle, and we reduced 0.25u to 1.25u. He didn't give us great numbers but we held it for a while as that was when I was in London and Liz was BIC and not able to stay up at night. Once I got home, we tried fattening the dose to f1.25u without good results, so we just went back up to the 1.5u and this time we started getting action on the 6th cycle.

I'll chat with Liz in the morning about which option we want to try this time - I am leaning toward the shave after a below 40, but we will cuss and discuss before deciding. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73,43;~3 52,56;~4 43,59

One thing to consider in addition to everything else is....is it safe for Zener, with CH to go below 40? You've observed him in the 30s and you know how to bring him up. Maybe you want to try the three times below 50 and reduce by .25u. It's up to you all in consideration of his CH.
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73,43;~3 52,56;~4 43,59

Marjorie and Gracie said:
One thing to consider in addition to everything else is....is it safe for Zener, with CH to go below 40? You've observed him in the 30s and you know how to bring him up. Maybe you want to try the three times below 50 and reduce by .25u. It's up to you all in consideration of his CH.

Well, there is that - we tend to forget about his CH! He has gone below 40 only once and although the beans were a wreck, he seemed okay. Liz and I will strategize in the morning, but I imagine we'll try whichever comes first - a below 40 or three times below 50. :lol: We only had below 40 once and reduced 0.25u but he didn't hold that, so if he goes below 40 again, I suspect we'll try the shave. And if it is three times below 50, then the 0.25u reduction. It's a good thing Liz is an engineer and good at math! :razz:
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73,43;~3 52,56;~4 43,59

I'd just be careful to not mix and match methods. Try one method a few times and see if he holds the reductions. If he doesn't, then try the other method but don't mix them...in other words, don't do three times below 50 and shave.
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73,43;~3 52,56;~4 43,59

Marjorie and Gracie said:
I'd just be careful to not mix and match methods. Try one method a few times and see if he holds the reductions. If he doesn't, then try the other method but don't mix them...in other words, don't do three times below 50 and shave.

Right! Thanks for that clarification. Liz was right on about that this evening, she remembered if you do the three times below 50, take the full 0.25u reduction and not the shave - too aggressive was what she remembered.
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73,43;~3 52,56;~4 43,59;+5

That's correct..it is too aggressive.

So I'd just really think about whether you really want to let him get below 40. We just aren't sure how safe it is for him. I was spouting protocol before and remembered he had been below 40, but it does bear some extra thought about whether you all really want him down there.
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73,43;~3 52,56;~4 43,59;+5

Thanks for that. You make some very good points and we sure like to err on the side of being safe with our special guy. It looks like I've managed to keep him from dropping below 40, so this would be our first below 50 tonight and we would want to have two more before decreasing by 0.25u.

What would we do if we opt for the 3x below 50 and we have a cycle where he drops below 40?
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;~1 202;~2 73,43;~3 52,56;~4 43,59;+5

Zenner looks great in his green board shorts! Keep going Zenner!
 
Re: 5/1 Zener PMPS 174;1 202;2 73,43;3 52,56;4 43,59;+5 64;~

I missed the PJ party :mrgreen: Just remember that discussion about the liver transplant when you're deciding how high you want to bounce Zener :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top