5/1 Tigz AMPS = 121 (NS) again!

Status
Not open for further replies.

TigzMom

Member Since 2015
Hi all
Tiggy's AMPS this morning was 121, do I skipped his shot again. He hasn't had an injection in a couple of days. He appears to be stabilizing a bit more, but I will watch him as he seems to be lower for his AMPS, and just a bit higher for his PMPS. Not sure if he will eventually need 0.10-0.25 units to keep him in range. Time will tell.... Thoughts?
 
Wow! No advice from me, but I was just wondering if anything else has changed since you had to stop shooting. Did you change Tiggy's diet? It looks like the pancreas has woken up, but I wonder what woke it? Hopefully, some of our more experienced members will come along to help. You might add a question to your subject line, like: Advice?
 
No, nothing has changed since I stopped shooting. When Tigz was first dx'd I, of course, freaked out. I changed his diet right away.
Before his dx, he had been on some inexpensive dry cat food for "free feeding" and then he also got the canned cat meat, but I used to give him the kind with gravy.
After his dx, I first transitioned his diet to Nutro and FF pate classics (canned), as well as a little dry (Wellness). I did away with dry by day 3-4 and only fed him canned. I found Tiki Cat (O carbs), Wervuva(low carb), canned meat [5.5-6oz) that he now eats regularly. If he's finicky or if his BG gets too low, I've tried, FF pate classics with a little Gerber baby food meat.
He's also finished his antibiotic for his UTI. He does like his low carb "treat" when he gets his BG tests as well. But I've been using Tiki Cat and Weruva canned since 4/19/15. No changes at all.
And I live alone. So, no one else feeds him except me.
 
As long as his numbers keep coming down, I'd keep skipping the insulin. If his numbers start drifting up, then post and ask for advice on a dose. If you could get a test 3 or so hours after his PS test, it would show whether his pancreas is working, but it sure seems to be. :)
 
while you're not giving insulin, it may help to spread out his meals in frequent, small amounts around the clock (as much as is possible.) A small meal is less work on a healing pancreas.
 
Good idea. I try to do that if I am home as I haven't purchased the automatic feeder yet. Am purchasing that this weekend for sure!
 
If he'll graze you can just leave food out. Some people make "catsickles" by mixing the regular low carb food with some water and freezing it in either ice cube trays or muffin trays, then in theory, the cat will eat them when they thaw. Punkin would've gnawed them frozen so that wouldn't have worked for us, but it works for some cats.

In the meantime, I'd try to break the food up and feed him every 3 hours or so as much as you can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top