5/1: Sammy - AMPS 104; +2.5 98; +6 116; PMPS 115; +2 116;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

I am still concerned about the creeping up numbers, but now that we are settled on our normal shot time I am hoping that things will settle down a bit. I might also adjust when I give fluids and instead of giving them at shot time but maybe an hour or two later. I do want to hold this dose at least through the weekend, unless the numbers really start to go up. I figure as long as we stay under or around 105 I will keep the dose as is, but if he is up higher than that I might have to reconsider.

Other than that Sammy is doing great. He is eating well and has been having normal litter box usage. Last night was the first night since we have been home that he came to sleep with us. He had been hanging out in his basement domain most nights before. I think that was a result of being cooped up for so long at the cabin.

I am looking forward to the weekend. I know I just got home from a 12 day vacation, but running a retreat does take a bit of work too.
 
Well, he is 116 at +6, I know this is still good, but I am wondering if I should go ahead and give a smidgen more insulin tonight. I am not sure if it will be quite .25, probably a skinny .25u. Or should I hold off a bit longer to see if his numbers settle down a bit after all the changes in shot time over the last week. I would much prefer to see him hanging around 70-80's, and I am wondering if he has been on the .1u just a bit longer than he should have.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
 
I will probably wait to see where he is for PMPS tonight, if he is back under 100 at that time I will probably just stick with the .1u dose, but if he is anywhere above 110 I think I might give a slight increase.

Suggestions wanted!
 
Dosing is based upon how low the dose takes him . . . not a random high number. I see everything recent under 120, so everything in normal range, and mostly green. I would sit on my hands and hold the dose.

You want to see a trend upwards in numbers, not just one or two.
 
Dosing is based upon how low the dose takes him . . . not a random high number. I see everything recent under 120, so everything in normal range, and mostly green. I would sit on my hands and hold the dose.

You want to see a trend upwards in numbers, not just one or two.

Even though all the numbers have been in the good range I do feel like I have seen an upward trend of the numbers over the last week since we got home. Is it possible that this is caused by the change in shot time? When we left Knit camp on Sunday the shot time was at 8:00, and we have moved it back 30 minutes everyday so that we are now at 6:00.

I will hold the dose for now in hopes that the rise is caused by the fluctuating shot time.
 
i doubt it. moving the shot time earlier can increase the overlap between the end of one shot's effectiveness and the onset of the next shot, so rather than seeing higher numbers you might be more likely to see lower numbers.

He's been on the 0.1u since 4/13 and since then he's only had one all green day, 4/28. Another day or two will help you be confident about what you're seeing.
 
i doubt it. moving the shot time earlier can increase the overlap between the end of one shot's effectiveness and the onset of the next shot, so rather than seeing higher numbers you might be more likely to see lower numbers.

He's been on the 0.1u since 4/13 and since then he's only had one all green day, 4/28. Another day or two will help you be confident about what you're seeing.

So what exactly does that mean? Another day or two will tell me if I need to increase a bit or it will show that we are were we need to be? Remember that we were at Knit camp from 4/15 - 4/26 and we had al sorts of issues while we were at camp. Constipation, possible infection and homesickness. His numbers were much better when we got home, but since then they have been slowly rising.

He has now been right around 115 since +6 this morning.
 
I mean that I would not rush to increase his dose based upon today. I'd give him another day or two and see if he comes back down into green on his own.

Okay, I will really try to sit on my hands through the weekend. It is just so discouraging when he was doing so well earlier this week and each day the numbers have gotten bit higher. I am really nervous that he will just continue to slowly creep up.

We did abort the antibiotic treatment earlier this week because it was making Sammy nauseous and it was never confirmed that he actually had an infection. This was under the guidance of the VET. I am not sure that he has an infection, but I am wondering if he might have a case of pancreatitis. When I picked him up this evening and put a little pressure of his abdomen he did wince a little, I don't know if it was just a coincidence or not. I will keep an eye on him over the next couple of days and if I notice more signs of pancreatitis I will schedule and appointment with the vet for early next week.
 
I'm just telling you what I would do. Perhaps some others will weigh in and they might do something different.

As always, the choice on how to proceed is yours. You're there and you're seeing him as well.
 
I'm just telling you what I would do. Perhaps some others will weigh in and they might do something different.

As always, the choice on how to proceed is yours. You're there and you're seeing him as well.

Yes, I do understand that ultimately it is my decision, but sometimes I do need to be reminded that BG can fluctuate and he still might come down on his own. I will try to stick with the plan to hold this dose through the weekend, but if he rises above 120 I just don't know how much more I will be able to hold back that increase. Hopefully somehow he will give me a sign that either something else is causing the problem or that he just needs more juice. I find it hard to believe that just a few days ago he was all green and in the 60-70 and now he is higher, which makes me wonder if there is something else at play here other than just not enough insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top