5/1 Nefeli PMPS 321

Status
Not open for further replies.

nina_nefeli

Member Since 2010
On Lantus again; started low, at 0.3U BID, No obvious effect today, but the intention is to keep it there for ~3 days.

EDIT: starting dose is 0.3, not 0.5 as initially posted
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
With your (re-)starting dose, you will want to hold the dose for 5 - 7 days. You have to build the shed.

even at such a low dose (note, it is 0.3 not 0.5 as initially posted)???
so far we do not see an effect...
 
hi nina. i'm sorry to see nefeli is back on the juice!

the suggestion sienne gave to hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days does not necessarily apply to kitties who have returned from the falls. if you're available to monitor, we've found it pays to be aggressive with kitties who were formerly OTJ.

take a look at alex's 2009 spreadsheet. she returned from the falls after almost 3 years off the juice. like you, i started her out low (0.5u) because i wasn't sure how she'd respond, but i wasted no time in increasing her dose when it became obvious the low doses were not working. according to the TR protocol, her starting dose should have been 1.375 units. it took bringing her up to 1.5u before i saw a real break through. being aggressive resulted in her remaining on insulin for about 8 weeks before enjoying another period of remission. unfortunately, she did end up back on the juice after about 5 months due to other illnesses and remains on insulin to this day.

does nefeli still weigh between 4kg and 4.5kg? if so, you might not see a break through until reaching around 1u to 1.125 units... if she is at her ideal weight.

starting dose based on 0.25 IU per kg of the cat's ideal weight:
4kg x 0.25u = 1 unit
4.5kg x 0.25u =1.125 units

don't become put off by how often i was testing alex in 2009. i purposely tested her more than necessary in order to create a spreadsheet to be used as a teaching tool. i wanted to illustrate how to achieve flat curves using lantus and levemir by shooting full doses on low preshot numbers.

after getting alex into remission twice, the best advice i can give you is to fast track nefeli up the dosing scale if you find the lower doses are not working. as always, my advice is offered with keeping her safe. aggressive dosing techniques must be monitored carefully.



just my thoughts...
 
Jill & Alex said:
the suggestion sienne gave to hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days does not necessarily apply to kitties who have returned from the falls. if you're available to monitor, we've found it pays to be aggressive with kitties who were formerly OTJ.
does nefeli still weigh between 4kg and 4.5kg? if so, you might not see a break through until reaching around 1u to 1.125 units... if she is at her ideal weight.
starting dose based on 0.25 IU per kg of the cat's ideal weight:
4kg x 0.25u = 1 unit
4.5kg x 0.25u =1.125 units

Thanks for the comprehensive feedback. we will study your ss.
Nefeli is about 3.8kg, maybe a bit less now,
I think we will stay at the low dose for another day or so and then increase. We will probably go to 1U and see...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top