? 5/1 Hugo AMPS 104 PMPS 570

Elle D & Hugo

Member Since 2020
20 min later 102

We fed him. I figured he's probably near the lowest point now.

Why are his nadirs never in the right place? Why will he just plummet overnight? Is there a way to correct the bounce so it doesn't happen like this?
 
The link to your last post here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-30-hugo-amps-392-3-427-pmps-422-denamarin.229017/

The spreadsheet isn't up to date, but nice to see low blue again. On Lantus, my Neko was guaranteed to have her nadir between +3.5 and +13. :rolleyes: Not sure what you mean by "nadiring in the right place"? Cats like to keep you on your toes and be unpredictable. In general, a lot of cats like to go lower at night - it just is that way, nothing we can go but test and make sure they have food out to keep them safe. As for bouncing - it happens, normal but annoying to us. Try to prevent fast drops, and get them to a dose where they spend more time in normal numbers.
 
Isn't the nadir supposed to be 6-7 hours after the shot?
That's the typical nadir, or average, but I've seen some cats that like to nadir at +2 and some even later than Neko, whose most common nadir time was +7 to +9. The nadir is whenever the lowest point of the cycle whenever that happens. If a cat is breaking a bounce, the nadir is often later. Sometimes you'll get earlier nadirs if they want a reduction, or it's the full moon, etc.
 
PMPS 570 (!!!)
Ketones were 0.8

This can't be ok. There has to be something we can do. 570 is too high. His ketones have been regularly elevated too much as well. Has anyone switched from lantus to prozinc with better results? Or something?
 
Last edited:
How do you feel about increasing his dose? Provided you can monitor closely. He's been on this dose long enough per TR.

For what it's worth, the AT reads higher than human meters. When Neko was new, she used to occasionally bounce to "Hi", which is the meters way of saying over 600. :eek: So it would have been well over than on the AT. I did eventually get her regulated.

Remind me again how Hugo's teeth are?
 
You got her regulated on Lantus? Did she ever go into remission?

As far as I know, his teeth are fine, but he doesn't give us much of an opportunity to look at them.
 
She was better on Lantus, but I switched her to Levemir where she was even better. She was a kitty who sometimes needed higher doses, and Lantus stings some cats at higher doses.

Just wondered if the vet had ever checked his teeth. Bad teeth are one of the reasons some cats are harder to regulate.
 
Back
Top