5/1 Howie unsure what to do

Howiesmom

Member Since 2020
@Wendy&Neko
Howie has become more of a mystery to me and I guess I’m third-guessing what I think I should do with his dosing .He’s been at 43 units for 7 cycles. Since he’s on cabergoline, Wendy suggested his reduction is anything below 70. However, I dont believe I’m seeing the effects of the cabergoline despite him being on it almost 3 months. He’s also almost 10.5 months since his FD Diagnosis. So I’m experimenting with keeping him at 43u despite dropping below 70. His nadir are usually +10-12 but he’s gotten into a bad habit of not finishing his mini meals (+3, +5, +7) during the day so I scrape the bowls when I get home from work (usually around +9-10) so he can finish them in his feeder.

I haven’t been doing any BCS as I just am losing confidence in what I should do with him on any given day as his numbers aren’t making a lot of sense to me. I appreciate any insights/help/perspectives. IAA/acro/high dose kitties are so complicated. He’s not crawling down the dosing scale as he did the winter when I had more confidence with what to do.
 
Maybe try a smaller reduction down to 41 units, to bring his nadirs up a touch. Seeing a 61 with no testing for 8+ hours makes me nervous, especially if he's not eating. Nadirs can move around. The acro tumour can also pulse up and down. With Howie, there are many reasons a dose may need to change.
 
Back
Top