5/1 Help with shot number eyes?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobbiesMom

Member Since 2010
OK don't wish for something cause you might get it - at +10 Robbie is a low yellow 207 granted he's got time to go up higher and in the past always has but he won't have food until his shot time (6:30pm) - I shot just about 5.00 this morning. I'd like to stick to my guns except I won't be home till late and my husband will be gone for the first 2-3 hours after his shot. I'm thinking close to 300 anywhere or over I stick to my guns but lower than 295ish and I do 4.5 or less. Help with this would be great and I'll try and get a +11 also and see where he's going.

OMG... never mind he's 366 at 5:30 (amps +11) ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/1 Help with shot number SOON

Ya think? He didn't have a bite to eat and that's it at +10.5/11 it's just GONE--- does this mean I have to say good bye to PZI and hello to Lantus Land... I really can't even contemplate a whole new ANYTHING right now... OY
 
Re: 5/1 Help with shot number SOON

Could be. I wonder about an increase, though. He still has lots of room to drop. It can be that the insulin doesn't have a long enough duration or that it wasn't enough.....

Often Lantus or Levemir will last longer than ProZinc, as they have the shed factor. TID is the compensating factor available for ProZinc but it doesn't sound like it is an option for you, schedule-wise. You might do some reading on both those forums to get an idea of how they work for other people.

What do you think about an increase?
 
Re: 5/1 Help with shot number SOON

Sue - I'm ok with an increase but we JUST got to 5 this morning so I'm going to sit with that for a bit and see if things change up - plus I think I might finally have his whole feeding schedule almost figured out in a way that should buffer him but not bump him around too much. I really wish I could do TID - I think it would work and frankly I was thinking of asking for some help with a potential schedule for that if the 5 doesn't kick in and work soon. I was also wondering about a not real TID but like a "bump" where maybe at midnight (or some point that makes sense) he gets a 1 or a 1.5 shot MID cycle but not a true TID where I"m breaking up his dose throughout the day and thereby locking myself into a schedule work won't allow. Sad thing is until 2 months ago I was about 8 minutes away from home during work - now I'm more like 25 and in the summer here in our "resort area" with traffic that could become more like 40 - frankly I don't have time to run home - I almost don't have time for lunch or bathroom breaks. My husband is self employed and his schedule is all over the map - right now thankfully he's home some but we'd like him to be working and the summer will be when that happens. So I'm just not sure. But I'll increase - I'd go up to about 7 I think - I don't know - when is it going to start to sting? He bit at me last night but I think cause I shot while he was lying down and it hurt.
 
Re: 5/1 Help with shot number SOON

Prozinc is very flexible. Some days when I am out of place for the perfect tid schedule (every 8 hours), or when Kitty throws me Wonky numbers, I might shoot 10 hour schedules and then an 8 etc to get back on schedule. The key is to always be aware when you are dosing what hour you are at in the present cycle and how long you need the next cycle to last. I would prefer that type of dosing, to giving an extra dose during a cycle. I am not saying that will not work, but it seems extremely risky to me. I NEVER shoot less than 8 hours, regardless of the numbers. Robbie is a guzzler like Kitty, she was on 5 units when we went tid-- and still wasn't seeing green and the insulin was only lasting about 8 to 9 hours. I really think Kitty probably had some resistance-- though early on, she responded wonderfully to 2 units-- Great Curves the first month after being dx! But, the vet told me to only dose once a day, and I listened to her. Kitty went DKA and it was a tremendous setback. But, once we started tid, I think the resistance broke down....due to the insulin remaining constant in her body. Even now, she cannot last 12 hours....this morning she was 136 at +8--at +10.5 she was 430. It just will not last in her! But, these numbers were on 2.5 units compared to 5 units before tid. Robbie could have some resistance and if you could manage tid for a short period, you might could break through it.

Just my thoughts.....
Good Luck!
 
Re: 5/1 Help with shot number SOON

Sorry I didn't catch your most recent increase. Yes, stick with it awhile. Check out Henry and Angela's spreadsheet she shoots off the 12/12 schedule. She does that because Henry is lower at night than in the am. Not sure if that applies to Robbie.
 
Re: 5/1 Help with shot number SOON

Kim thanks for the good input - I'm still spinning mentally about exactly how to handle this but feel like an answer is lurking closer than before. I could possibly do tid for a bit. I have to keep reminding myself this is a cat who when first dx 2 years ago took 8 units bid for quite a while before I stupidly shot 8 u's at I think about 170 something and had a real fun night pouring syrup down his mouth and getting him to eat tuna or anything I could. He responds REALLY fast to the food but that first hypo scare he just wasn't hungry and kept acting like "don't wake me mom I'm sleepy" - scared the sh#t out of me. Sue or a few others here might remember that episode if they can sort me out from the dozens or more newbies they've held hands with during an all night vigil. He is a guzzler so I have to keep that in mind.
Sue - yes, just got to 5.0 this morning and tonight - Vet wants me to stick to that for a week and see if he has better response and that sounds reasonable so I'm going to - I just didn't want to JUMP from 4.5 up to 5 so I've been shooting JUST under 5 for a day or so and now this morning bit the bullet and put it square on the 5 LINE.
Thank you again ladies as always the food for thought is most appreciated.
 
dinner at pmps with BG at 399 and at +2 he's at 451 - had a "snack" scheduled in for +2 but he's not hungry, not asking for food (so feeding with his shot helps in that way) so I'll wait since he clearly needs no help getting his numbers UP!
451 ugghhh I so hate those 400's....
 
Ellen,
Can you put like a "dividing row" on your SS that marks the day that you started feeding and shooting at the same time? I think that it would help us remember when the change was made. Looking at the SS now, the "rise at +2" sort of sticks out as weird, but I am sure it is due to the food hitting his system before the onset of the insulin. I just don't want to go back a couple weeks from now, forget what went on "now" and say "hey, what's with the weird "rise at +2?" :smile:
 
Depending on how much food he ate, that's mostly your food spike, so don't let it make you crazy. Grayson used to rise about 25-40 points per meal... which is why I started keeping up w/ which food, how often and how much. And used the seafood flavors when I really needed to keep an eye on the number.

I know how hard it is to shoot 5 (or 6!) units in to your guy. It TOTALLY freaked me out. When I finally got over the fear of ketones and did the re-boot, I was SOOOO much happier. Grayson's bloodwork should have arrived at Michigan State this morning - Insulin Resistence test runs tomorrow. Hoping to have answers soon!!! Marcy posted on my thread, and her boy Klinger was confirmed as Acro. She said she was relieved when the results came in, and he's been doing well number-wise since then. I think the not knowing is the hardest. Hoping for the same sense of relief once I know - whatever the outcome is. Any chance you're proceeding w/ the tests?
 
Carl - I'll try to do something to show the day I started doing this consistently - Lu - Since Robbie was on 8u's originally (first time around) my guess and my vets is he's a high dose kitty - I'm not going to go the resistent route just yet - It's clear to me that the insulin drops off pretty fast with him at about 10/11 hours - but when I get it right it works (or at least it has in the past) so I'm going to hold to 5 U's till Friday and than see if maybe I need to up to 5.5 over the weekend - I think if I see no positive movement or don't learn anything helpful as we get closer to 6 U's I'll reconsider. Fingers crossed you find out something that's helpful for you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top