5/1 Harry - happy numbers!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ashley & Harry

Member Since 2016
Hi all!

So we've been working on getting Harry stabilised on a new dose. 1.5u wasn't doing it for him, 1.75u didn't seem to be doing much, but now 2u is hitting him quickly. I'm not sure if it's a delayed reaction from the depot that 1.75u created, or if 2u is what he should be at, but I'm hoping for some advice. His sheet is updated, but here's today's info:

AMPS - 243
+4 - 103
+6 - 78
+7 - 91
+10 - 156

2 knocked him down quite a bit, whereas when he was on 1.75 it didn't seem to be impacting him much (but I am missing some numbers on my chart, checking my meter to see if I can add those in). I'm worried that if he's only at ~156 when he gets his PM shot, he'll drop too low. Should we try moving him back to 1.75, despite the fact that that didn't seem to do anything? Could this just be the depot kicking in after a few days? Should we keep him at 2u?

Thanks for the help. Still working on understanding the depot and how long it takes to do anything and such.
 
Wow, what great numbers today!

If you are following TR, you would stick with the 2U tonight-- you don't want to give unearned reductions, and so far Harry hasn't earned one under TR. He actually gave a textbook example of exactly what you want him doing today :D.

Definitely post if his number is still low at pre-shot, though, since this would be your first time shooting that low and you don't have any data to see if he behaves himself. Can you monitor tonight, (very) late if you had to? Do you have lots of strips and high-carb food ready?
 
Got plenty of strips and high carb food ready, in both wet food form and kibbles, plus karo syrup. I read about the hypo kit and stocked up (bought 200 strips and plan on always having at least 100) just in case.

I can stay up as late as necessary and frequently do while keeping an eye on him. He's my baby <3

Just checked and he's at 194, I'll go ahead and give him the 2u. Should I check him every two hours like I'm doing a curve?

Thank you for your help. This place is so supportive.
 
His +2(ish) is 157 so still in happy ranges. Husband and I accidentally fell asleep, which means I'll be able to stay up later :P He's been looking good today though, minus some irritation at his playful little sister!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top