5/1 Eleanor AMPS 285 Increase in 2 cycles?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie and Eleanor (GA)

Member Since 2012
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=69799
Oh for heaven sake. The last couple cycles were looking promising.
I guess I will increase again in, I think it is 2 more cycles. I did not increase last time until the following cycle because I had only gotten about 2.8 oz into Eleanor all day. I'm sure it would have been ok but I did not feel comfortable.
I am so sorry I did not get back on to answer your questions. I'm not well at all and am having an awful time with dizziness and vertigo, mostly triggered by focusing my eyes. I'm getting good at shooting Eleanor with her, the syringe and the room spinning around. Whee.
She quit eating much in March, took her to two vets, can't afford extensive tests, one vet suspected pancreatitis. Prescribed Metronidizol, Cerenia, Ciproheptadine (?), and a pain med, what the heck is it.....bupranorphine?? Also giving Zantac.
After a couple weeks she started eating some on her own. None of the tricks worked. She has been eating some and I've been syringe feeding. About 6 oz a day. I've tried the suggested foods and all she'll eat is a couple Fancy Feast Classic flavors, which is what she was eating when she was diagnosed. She has always been picky and when I took away dry a couple years ago (other cat is hyperT with IBS - can't handle grain) and started feeding FF classic she went on a hunger strike, then I started letting her have some grain free dry. Then she started eating the FF.
Anyway, after this round of not eating - and fighting the syringe feeding, I started her back on the pain med and after the first dose she ate a bit on her own. So now we are back to our eating some/syringing some.
I'm trying to figure out how to afford to take her back to the vet for more pain med. Have to find a cheaper place to get it too, vet charges $56 for two weeks worth. No way can I do that.
Hope this addressed your questions. Thank you all so much for your kindness and concern about Eleanor and comments about Wendy being PTS. I'm getting really ill so have to stop here.
 
i have given the bupe to punkin, and it cost about that much here as well. i bought it once from the vet and once from a compounding pharmacy. both were in the $50 range for 10-14 days worth.

pancreatitis is not uncommon in diabetic cats. here's a post on pancreatitis that may have some helpful information for you.

did you try celi's suggestion of pulverizing some dry food and sprinkling it on the canned food? that's one trick that seems to work for many dry food lovers!

as far as dose goes, tonight would be 6 cycles at 2.75 and with nadirs in the 200's, you could increase to 3.0 tomorrow. those are the guidelines for the TR protocol, which i think, is what you're wanting. as you know, if you are following SLGS, you would hold each dose for a week and then re-evaluate.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

wish i had some great advice and a protocol to refer to for helping your own health! :YMHUG:
 
Julie, its nice to see your post. I'm sorry you are having a bad episode with your health. I had the vertigo for almost a year. It's the worst symptom. I sure wish I had some answers for Eleanor and I'm so sorry you have all those vet cost to go along with the stress of taking care of yourself, Eleanor and your other kitties. I can't even imagine since I'm really in so much pain myself, and have a hard time, but you have so much more symptoms and responsibilities. Sorry, I know I'm not doing much to cheer you up, but sometimes just having someone to understand your issues sometimes helps, just wish I had answers to go along with them.

So for now, lots of hugs :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
There are links in the Supply Closet forum on Canadian pharmacies. I don't know if they will ship buprenex/buprenorphine, though, since it's a narcotic. I would call around. Many people find that Costco or Sam's Club are less expensive resources for prescription meds.

Is Eleanor feeling any better? Two weeks is a long time for pancreatitis to still be in an acute phase.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top