5/1 CRYSTAL AMPS 120 PMPS 106 +1 106 +2 90 +3 74

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Happy May Day all,:)

Sheet rain and high winds herald 1st May here, hope it is better across the pond for you guys.

Crystal had a good PM cycle yesterday after I gave her a 1.5u dose of R, surfed nicely in blue all evening and overnight with an AMPS of 120 :cool: No R this cycle, see how she goes whether I give her a small dose at PM.
Okay in herself, eating well, in fact the lower she goes the hungrier she seems, strange. Mostly napping on her blanket but the hoover monster will be out later so she will disappear somewhere safe.

Supposed to be going to the local flower show tomorrow held in the grounds of a beautiful chateau but have a feeling everything will be blown away as this weather is forecast for about 4 days, shame, but I'll save lots of euros by not going..... which I'll promptly spend at the vets on Monday when Crystal goes for her checkup.
 
74 at +3. Just wondering what is happening with Crystal's numbers, still coming down, gave just a little gravy snack to slow her down. Any advice anyone?
 
Enjoy it! :D I'd test 1/2 hour after the high carb, not because I think you need to, but because it would be good data gathering to see what that amount of high carb food does for her. It is possible that Crystal is having a later nadir - I've seen Neko do a +16 before.
 
@Wendy&Neko thanks for looking in Wendy, I was just getting a little concerned that She might continue ever downwards, this is really weird as I haven't given her any R for more than 24 hours. Just done a test 30 minutes after food and she's at 88, feel happier about that, not too used to greens yet!
 
You can go an hour to the next test now. Keep track of how much food you gave - it'll be handy to know how much works at what point in the cycle. It'll be interesting to see if this cycle plays out like the 4/28 AM cycle.
 
Okay Wendy thanks, i'll check her in about 30 minutes. I gave her about 2 teaspoons of Purina ONE lamb and gravy pouch, she loved it, so much tastier than raw chicken.
 
Where do you want her nadirs to be? It could be argued that if you hadn't given HC at that 74 that she might have dipped lower. You could follow the high doser under 70 rule and sneak back the Lev a bit. But she might also bounce after this and be high for a while.
I am slightly nervous by this continued drift, I don't understand how it came about.
What I think you are seeing is some IAA delayed action.
 
What's the high dose rule? haven't heard about that. I agree, she would no doubt have gone lower than the 73 if I hadn't fed her, just didn't want to be up all night. I've been trying to work out when her nadirs have been, it seems anything from +4 to +11 - should I be looking at both cycles? only sometimes she goes lower in the second half. When would you say her nadir was on the 4/27 for example?, sorry, I am just really confused as I don't see any pattern and certainly don't feel in control. +7 was 106.
 
Such beautiful numbers :D

With kitties on a high dose the reduction cut off is sometimes raised to 70 so the depot doesn't get a chance to get in front of you. But these numbers are so lovely, I know they're a bit frightening when you're not used to them but this is just where you want Crystal to be. I don't have experience with such high doses (so you should probably take my advice with a grain of salt) but given how well you monitor I'd be tempted to hold steady for now.
 
It's only an informal "rule" but a few of us with high dose cats used 70 as the reduction point, instead of 50, when our cats started going down dose quickly (Neko, Cobb, Polly at first). It just gives a bit of safety margin in case the IAA is breaking. And gives you a level of comfort and control (and sleep). You can always go back up in dose but it's really hard if those high dose depots get ahead of you.

With that 106, I think you can sleep the rest of the cycle now.

Her 4/27 PM cycle could have nadired around +16.
 
The nadir is simply the lowest number in the cycle.

If she were mine, I think as long as I was planning to be able to monitor, I would hold the dose and see what tomorrow brings. If you have to go out tomorrow, that might change my mind.
 
Thanks Serryn, yes it is a bit frightening, I never thought when we were in the high pinks that we would ever see blue, let alone green. Just got to get used to these new numbers.
Wendy thanks for explaining about the 70 level. I see what you mean now with the +16 on the 4/27, it's actually in the next cycle.
Julie I have to pop out briefly about lunchtime, no more than 2 hours max, so I would hope she will be safe.
Thanks everyone for your advice and support, much appreciated as always. Of to bed now as its gone 2pm
 
It's your call on whether to adjust the Lev. She had a really nice cycle starting at almost the same number last night. And this time she's surfing not dropping, so I wouldn't expect quite the same amount of action.

If you feel uncomfortable with her getting that low, you could lower the Lev a little.
 
I'd expect with the depot that any smallish adjustment you make to the dose will likely result in a cycle pretty close to the same as if you shoot 52u.
 
Happy with blues, suffering crises of confidence I think although I know green is what I should be aiming for, can't monitor every hour today and just don't want her numbers to run away . Okay, think ill make an adjustment to 48u
 
If you are worried about today, you could reduce a bit more for one time only to drain the depot. But if you are only out for a couple of hours then she should be OK with HC.
 
Okay, gave her 50 in the end and will feed her before going out around midday. Thanks to you both for responding so quickly, panic over ( for the time being!)
 
Morning Bron, glad to see you, hope you are well. Yes, quite an exciting time last night but felt I was just along for the ride ..... Hope for a calmer cycle today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top