5/1 Champ AMPS 308, +3 272, +6 266, PMPS 328, +3.5 241

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

For the life of me, I DO NOT understand Champ's numbers. It seems like he's bouncing, but he never had low enough numbers to bounce from (that I saw). I know it's Sunday and there may not be many people around today, but if there's anyone out there with experience, how about giving Champ's SS a look-see and tell me what you think is going on with his numbers and what my next step should be. I'm getting kind of discouraged that there is never any improvement.

Other than that, I do plan to accomplish some things around the house today. My bedroom still has a couple of unpacked boxes from when I moved over a year ago (whoops! :-D ). I never bothered to unpack all the knick-knacky stuff that goes on the dresser top, etc. Maybe I'll get really productive and paint my room so I can finally get pictures up on the walls!! Well....one can dream, right? :lol: :lol:

I hope every has a blessed Sunday!!
 
Re: 5/1 Champ AMPS 308 - WHERE TO GO FROM HERE?

Hi Patty
I dont understand it either, I feel for you thou.
hopefully you'll get some insight.

but ruling things out, is your insulin about 36-37 days old?
 
Re: 5/1 Champ AMPS 308 - WHERE TO GO FROM HERE?

Morning Patty! I certainly am not a dose expert, but my humble opinion is that you just haven't found that breakthrough dose yet. Just keep at it, know that you are doing the best for Champ, and that he is getting better, even though the numbers don't always show it. I understand all too well the discouragement - been there so many times. Hang in there - it will get better. May not be tomorrow, but it will come.

Good luck with all the projects. :-D I have so many of those too....

And Champ - lower numebrs today, OK? It will make your bean very happy!
 
Re: 5/1 Champ AMPS 308 - WHERE TO GO FROM HERE?

There are a couple of things to keep in mind about bounces. You're right -- dropping into low numbers can trigger a bounce. But that's not the only explanation for bouncing. A drop into any dose range that a cat's not used to can trigger a spike back up. Gus' SS is a good example of this -- Gus was so used to spending time in high numbers that any drop into even pinks, would result in a jump back to high #s. The other thing that will often cause a bounce is a fast drop. It could be a quick drop to lower numbers or just dropping fast.

I agree with Michelle's observation. You haven't yet found the "right" dose yet. You're seeing more bits of blue and a lot more yellow. Keep doing what you're doing -- you're following the protocol. I know we keep saying this but it's true -- Lantus takes patience.
 
Re: 5/1 Champ AMPS 308 - WHERE TO GO FROM HERE?

I hope you have a wonderful day today - May Day even! sounds like you just have to keep plugging and adjusting with sweet little champ!
 
Re: 5/1 Champ AMPS 308 - WHERE TO GO FROM HERE?

Patty: it's hard and frustrating but I was going to say the exact things that Michelle and Sienne said...looks like he's just not quite there yet. You still have tonight's dose for a sixth cycle on the current dose. If it were me, if he does nothing tonight, I'd continue to follow the protocol, as Sienne said, and take him up tomorrow. Maybe that will be the magic one!!!

Enjoy your day but don't work too hard...paintaholic? When our home was ready, we had all the walls painted the colors we wanted but after we moved in, I decided all the ceilings had to be painted, too. :lol: Oh...and then this wall would look lovely fauxed and that one ...Mike finally gave in and there is not one unpainted wall or ceiling except the rooms where the ceilings are wood :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/1 Champ AMPS 308, +3 272

Thanks for the advice, everyone! It's really what I was thinking, we just haven't found the magic bullet yet, but because there's no improvement at all, I'm just scared he's going to be one of the kitties who ends up on a megadose of insulin. Last night I looked through Lucy's spreadsheet (Libby's kitty). She had been on Lantus for 17 months and then went OTJ! Her numbers looked a lot like Champ's and she ended up going up to over 4u b.i.d., then almost OTJ, and then back up to over 4u, and then finally OTJ. Lucy's spreadsheet gave me a lot of hope that, while it may take a long time, green numbers are probably in Champ's future. :-D I'll just continue on as I have been. I'm no longer feeling panicked or stressed by it all so that's not a problem. When we see the new vet on Friday, I'm going to ask him to give me his opinion on Champ's teeth and whether he needs a cleaning. I know that has been the only thing needed for a turnaround in some cats. So...patience pants are on and belted :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/1 Champ AMPS 308, +3 272, +6 266

That's the spirit! Sometimes it happens really quickly and we look and wonder why it isn't the sam for our furbabies. Champ is doing much better and remember it WILL happen one day! :-D
 
Re: 5/1 Champ AMPS 308, +3 272, +6 266

Thanks, Ann!! You make a GREAT cheerleader :-D I think my hardest task is going to be controlling Champ's appetite. Geez....it has taken off lately. I think it's because he see's I'm giving in to him. I've got to get some weight off him so...I've got to be strong, I've got to be strong (chant continues). :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/1 Champ AMPS 308, +3 272, +6 266, PMPS 328

Patty, i feel your pain and frustration....Leo and I are in the exact same boat as you and Champ. I feel like i'm letting Leo down by not getting him feeling better ASAP, i've never been a patient person and its oh so obvious right now! We raise Leo's dose and he does worse.....it makes no sense to me either. Plus i was thinking of doing the exact same thing as you! Going to see a new vet and asking about getting Leo's teeth cleaned, he's never had his teeth cleaned and from the looks of the message board the last few days it seems like its a big factor in BG numbers.

Good luck to you and Champ and i'm hoping you finally see some blue numbers!
 
Re: 5/1 Champ AMPS 308, +3 272, +6 266, PMPS 328

Hi Tracy. I looked through Leo's SS and I see what you mean about the similarities. How nice you have your parents to help you out with Leo when you're working. Are you a flight attendant or something? I notice you keep Leo at a dose for a longer period of time than I keep Champ. I'm sure you have your reasons and/or instructions from the dosing experts. I've been trying to follow the protocol to the letter; raising by 0.25u every three days or six cycles if his nadirs are greater than 200/less than 300. If his numbers are too weird, I ask Sienne or one of the other experts for advice on when to increase. We're both new at this and obviously both impatient people. :lol: I know our furbabies days will come and we'll be doing OTJ dance!!
 
Re: 5/1 Champ AMPS 308, +3 272, +6 266, PMPS 328

Patty,
I work in a very northern remote uranium mine that is fly-in only and stay at work, we have a camp here, my home away from home. I work 7 days on and then I get 7 days off...and I'm a single cat mom so my parents take Leo while I'm at work and have been for the last 6 years. So when I'm home I take him home with me. I'm very lucky to have parents that care for Leo as much as I do.
Last week was my parents first week with the new diabetic Leo and had a hard time with giving injections, and....gave more than a handful of fur shots, so I tried to wait until that cleared up. So now we're trying to follow the protocol, my dad is starting to balk at it tho, he's worried about taking Leo too high too fast, and doesn't feel comfortable raising his dose after only being on it for 3 days. I talked him into it this morning, so that's a good sign.
I would give anything to be home with my kitty, I miss him so much. All I do at work is stress about Leo and wonder how he's doing. I really really hope he turns a corner and finds that 'right' dose. I guess we just need to be patient. Good luck with finding Champs 'right' dose Patty! I'll be cheering you on!
 
Geez Tracy!!! I guess you have to go where the work is, but that has to be so hard...hard when your kitty's is well, but has to be hell when he's sick. I can't even image.

Try to reassure your dad that when a vet increases the dose, they usually go up by 1u whereas we, following the protocol, only go up by 0.25u so we don't miss the "perfect" dose. It's such a small increase, it's very, very safe. And something I found by mistake and might help you and your parents when you have to do a .25 dose or a .75 dose, if you take it to the next half mark (if you need a 2.25u dose, draw 2.5u into the syringe) and then twist the plunger until it gets in between the two marks on the syringe. It's so much easier than trying to push the plunger. I was having to redraw insulin into the syringe because I would accidently push out too much trying to get it to the perfect place on the syringe. You might have already figured this out, but wanted to mention it just in case.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top