5/1 A2 Gizmo AMPS 411 | PMPS 275 | +4 220

Status
Not open for further replies.

tobakett

Member Since 2018
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-30-a2-gizmo-amps-483-pmps-438-4-361.194896/

Getting closer to a not red morning!

Still no word from the vet in response to my email.

Had a panic moment last night when I did his +4 because the way the monitor was angled when I set it down on the blanket, I didn't see the last number. Here's how my brain went:

"36?! Wait, this doesn't make sense.
Ok Gen, just keep it calm, if you panic, then hes gonna panic.
Is he acting weird? No. If hes actually that low he SHOULD be acting weird.
You have food for him. What do we need to do first?
Ok first. Let's retest to confirm that number."

Then I picked up the tracker and felt like an idiot because I could see the '1' at the end. But hey, at least I know if an emergency comes up I can keep my cool!
 
Still no response from vet...but PMPS of 275 so I'm quite happy :) Hoping we are gonna be seeing the end of red numbers soon
 
Much better start tonight. I hope you see some more movement down.

Any time you get a result that's unexpected, it's a good idea to test again. After your heart starts again of course. :p

I saw your note about travel yesterday. Try calling around some of the clinics and see if they have staff that will petsit, which may mean coming in a couple times a day for feeding, testing and shooting. Often clinic staff will make money on the side and know how to test and shoot. And it's much cheaper than boarding. A little Googling might also turn up someone. I found someone locally who was a retired vet tech. However, I never did leave Neko with anyone. She ended up coming with me on holiday.
 
Thanks for the suggestion on checking on if any of them house sit, I hadn't thought of that. Strangers in my house make me a little wary but it might be the best option in an emergency. Unfortunately travel with Gizmo is probably not an option, cars stress him out SUPER bad and I'd have to separate him from Widget (civvie) because she gets worse (her one bout with pancreatitis in 2012 was suspected because of the stress from moving 600 miles a month before it happened, luckily we caught it in time!)

I have debated trying to ask some of the few friends I do have if any of them would be interested in learning his routine, just in an emergency. I heard rumors that Petsmart hotels will do medications but with some of the news lately from their grooming I'm not sure if I would trust them.

I know in a pinch my ex husband will learn/help since we have arranged "visitation" where he comes by like once every week or two to visit and spend time with them. Problem is he works 5am-2pm so his work schedule is not compatible with Gizmos dosing in the morning.

But! Positivity! His numbers are coming down, and I am slowly trying to sort out the barriers that stop me from doing TR so its progress. The automatic feeder should arrive tomorrow so I can have them on a consistent 4 meal per day schedule, and for the first time since diagnosis the boyfriend and I managed to make an after work date happen, since we have gotten the test/shot/feed routine down to like 15 minutes, meaning if we get home by 6:15, we can be out the door by 6:30-6:35 and make a 7pm movie and still get home in time to have a late dinner and get in bed at a reasonable hour, and with the improving numbers I was able to just enjoy a night out.

Still not sure where I'm gonna make the money all come from, trying to find out if there is a market in this area for my crafting since I tried Etsy but that market is oversaturated unless you are good at marketing (which I am NOT, lol) but in person its unique enough I usually have some luck. But, if there is one thing I am great it, it's making money stretch like silly putty :)
 
Neko used to get super stressed in the car. Then I had to get her to Colorado for treatment of her acromegaly. 3 days in the car each way, 9 hours each day. I thought I was crazy, but with Feliway and Rescue Remedy and time, we got through it. After that, it was a piece of cake in the car. I even took her on a plane trip. The civvie stayed home. I also had a petsitter who worked at the local shelter. I befriended her when I first volunteered, then worked there. She knew how to do a few things medical.

Glad you've figured out a plan to get out. That makes life with an FD cat much easier. We have good friends who are very sympathetic. I use to have appies and first part of dinner at their place, race home for test/feed/shoot, then back for dessert. The autofeeder also allowed me to get out of the house more and have a life.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top