5/1/2017 Trouble Update AMPS 101- Dosing Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Asrael

Member Since 2015
Aloha,
I am back from Hawaii and thought I would update you all on Trouble:)

My DH and I left on April 5 for Hawaii. We had Trouble down to the lowest dose possible, 1 drop- pressing the syringe in and releasing it to draw in the insulin. Our housesitter was going to pre shot test and give him the drop twice a day.. Well. That Trouble.. put up such a fuss with the testing- he ran, hissed, howled and fussed from the housesitter- so he called our mutual friend over who is familiar with testing and diabetic cats- and said Trouble just wouldn't let Leonard near him with the tester (he went and sat on her lap and purred) CATS! So we decided to just have him give the low dose without testing as it was so low, and all went fine.

DH got back on April 23 and got back to testing without many +3's.. his numbers looked surprisingly good for such a low dose- but he has hit some higher ones in there.. not sure if he is bouncing.. or doing reverse curves?

Will try to get more +3's.. or mid cycle shots.. but thought I would see what you all thought? Do we keep him here? Up him? or try for round 3 OTJ?

Hawaii was amazing- so sunny, so bright, so beautiful, had some amazing experiences with dolphins- 3 times there were 12 or more swimming with me, and once I had 60- playing with leafs, chattering and circling me- so beautiful. Also swam with an eagle ray, and while diving saw sharks swimming (white tipped reef sharks), dolphins and of course lots of turtles everywhere. Amazing!! I feel rested, rejuvenated and blessed.

Now if only spring would warm up here on Vancouver Island- I was in shock at 48 degrees and rain on Saturday when I got home!!

:bighug::bighug::bighug: I hope all are well- so much love to you and your fur babies :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Welcome back Asarel! Your trip sounds awesome especially the swimming with the dolphins. Only once did I do that and it was in a confined pen in Jamacia and that in itself was amazing and I can't even imagine it being in a natural environment!

I am so glad that Trouble was safe and sorry that he gave the petsitter some trouble but, hey, that's his name!

I think that now you are back and you can get some more mid cycle testing that will get some more light on his numbers but, just as it looks now it looks like he could go up to 0.1 dose. BUT With out some more data to see how low that drop was taking him, it is hard to know for sure.
 
Welcome back. I'm glad you had a great trip. That sounds so cool to swim with the dolphins and eagle ray. Silly Trouble and the petsitter. I agree with Bobbie. It's hard to know if you should increase the dose without knowing how low the current dose is taking him. Can you get some mid cycle tests in?
 
Your vacation sounds so wonderful :) I'm happy for you.

I think I would try to get some mid cycle tests for a couple of days and a couple of nights. Some of those PS numbers are very close to green.
 
Yep- that is what I thought- need to get the mid cycles- will do our best- I know DH had a busy week last week- but now that I am here- we should be able to get into better habits.

I felt so bad for our pet sitter- he was so worried, but I really did feel he would be fine on such a low dose- Silly Trouble.

And yes- swimming with the dolphins in the wild is amazing- you just never know- and when they are quiet they don't come by you or to the spots where people are, but when they are active its amazing- We also rode bikes to watch the lava coming into the sea- pretty spectacular even from a distance- and fun to bike back in the night.

It was a great vacation- much needed- now if I can just keep that vibrant energy as I get back to work!

Thanks everyone for your replies and help- So appreciate you all:bighug:
 
We also rode bikes to watch the lava coming into the sea- pretty spectacular even from a distance- and fun to bike back in the night.
Did you get pictures of that???? When it cools off fast is that when obsidian forms? Smooth black rock? I loved earth science. I sucked at math so to satisfy a math for my Communications degree, I took Earth Science. :) Loved learning about the earth all the processes that happen.
 
Did you get pictures of that???? When it cools off fast is that when obsidian forms? Smooth black rock? I loved earth science. I sucked at math so to satisfy a math for my Communications degree, I took Earth Science. :) Loved learning about the earth all the processes that happen.

I did get a photo, if I get a chance I will post one in the next few days/week.. the photo isn't that impressive (it looked closer than the camera made it) but still amazing. yes obsidian I think is from lava.. The whole big island is like black lava rock (but not obsidian as it cooled slowly). It's pretty amazing! Really powerful to feel/see the new earth being made :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top