5/1/18 Olive AMPS 184; +3.5=84; +4=67/56; +5=62/57; PMPS 269; +5.75=82; +6.5=60; +7=65; +7.5=83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Olive & Paula

Member Since 2015
Yesterday

Went btb after AMPS, set alarm for +2 and apparently slept through it. My +3 finance conference call woke me up. Try doing financial stuff without morning coffee.

Olive back on track already but the depot probably hasn't had time to adjust from yesterdays skipped shot. Don't know if I'm awake enough yet to deal with this. I just picked up some potato flakes though.

Has anyone thought of using plain cheerio or soda/tea crackers like the potato flakes? Trying to find something I would have in house all the time that I know wouldn't go bad.

Let me get some caffeine and I will visit in a bit.
 
Olive...slow down girl! Do you have gravy based cat food, honey, even pancake syrup in the house? Did you give her some food at that +3.5? Hopefully she'll surf along or she might be asking for another reducie today :eek: I always had a bottle of honey on hand and it lasted forever.
 
Olive...slow down girl! Do you have gravy based cat food, honey, even pancake syrup in the house? Did you give her some food at that +3.5? Hopefully she'll surf along or she might be asking for another reducie today :eek: I always had a bottle of honey on hand and it lasted forever.

Gave her some gravy food +3.5. And some +4 with potato flakes. Have maple syrup should we go hit 60 or below. Honey I don't have yet. The convenience store only has a super big bottle and it was crystallized already.
 
When Doodles was in his downward streaks I had to use quite a bit of honey/gravy. I also had to do some larger then normal reductions at times. See what her next test is but you may need to increase the amount of gravy etc. I understand the potato flakes but it's still a new concept and not sure if it takes longer to get in their system or not. Making notes will help you in the future.
 
Wowee Olive:confused:. Slow down and surf

So glad you went with the NS yesterday since you weren’t around to monitor. Good data for next time;)
She certainly got back on track fast! Someone may be asking for another reducie. All good stuff:D
 
She gagged last time I tried maple syrup, don't want her vomiting at this point. But if needed she will get it. Potato is an unknown for sure, but worth trying. Also have cake icing if needed. Gonna have to get even higher gravy food at store. Looks like I'll be going tonight once she is through this drop.
 
Since the skipped shot yesterday is higher depot still very active? It hasn't had time to adjust yet. Would it be a real reducie?
 
Since the skipped shot yesterday is higher depot still very active? It hasn't had time to adjust yet. Would it be a real reducie?
With the skipped shot yesterday and it being the 6th cycle from the reduction, no the higher depot is not at play IMO. If she asks for a reducie give it to her. See how the rest of the day plays out. I'm around for the next few hours and then can check in throughout the day.
 
Ok sounds good for tonight shot.

The high carb food you mentioned a few days ago. Is it new balance or natural balance with honey. I know new balance are shoes. I don't find either on the food list. Do you know the carbs of the pouches with honey?
 
That makes more sense. Don't think I'd get her to eat shoe lol.

I have a list ranging from 17-30% carbs. Will pick a few of each.

+5=62. No boosting. Will see if she holds it. If so off to store to get food for next time. We know there will be a next time. Possibly again tonight because of amount of insulin.
 
I'm so bad at this food boosting thing. Maybe tonight feed her some higher carb right off the bat. Imo it would be to much in 1 day for anyone.

Have to get my notes transferred to ss. Can't get remarks on phone. Gotta boot up the pc to do it.

No wonder she is gaining weight.
 
Reset calipers for tonight's reducie.

@Wendy&Neko question on IAA test. Is it the kind of test that once resistant always resistant? I guess I'm asking since we have broke through and if we test in 2 weeks (next visit) would it show she's still resistant? Or would results be skewed in any way? I have not read anything about results once you break through the toxicity or ceiling.
 
Sorry guys haven't had time to visit this morning. Hope your all having a good day and everyone is safe and or holding their own. Will visit condos later.
 
question on IAA test. Is it the kind of test that once resistant always resistant?
Not Wendy but Doodles originally tested at 78% IAA then almost a year later I had him retested for curiosity when we thought he was breaking.....it was 84% the second time. I also believe after BK went OTJ he still tested positive for IAA but @Sandy and Black Kitty can confirm as my memory is shady ;) When I had him retested it was recommended to save my money but curious mind needed to know.
 
With IAA, you will still test positive, even if the antibodies have broken. However, if they are off of injected insulin for a while, that can change. Sandy had BK tested years after he went OTJ, and he was no longer positive.http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/04-30-black-kitty-iaa-update.118064/

I also say it's not certain Olive has "broken through". You may have broken through some glucose toxicity and that can be some quick reductions. Olive has taught you that larger reductions are better for her at the doses over 5 units. It's also possible that whatever tumour is causing her higher dose has slowed down a bit. Typically IAA takes a lot longer to break, if that's what is in play.
 
Thanks Karen. I will probably need to be assertive when asking for test now that we broke through. When I mentioned it in March it was a let's see how she does, as it was only 4 weeks since she arrived.

+5.5 had 1/4 tsp of flakes in it. She is just chillin through all this.
 
With IAA, you will still test positive, even if the antibodies have broken. However, if they are off of injected insulin for a while, that can change. Sandy had BK tested years after he went OTJ, and he was no longer positive.http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/04-30-black-kitty-iaa-update.118064/

I also say it's not certain Olive has "broken through". You may have broken through some glucose toxicity and that can be some quick reductions. Olive has taught you that larger reductions are better for her at the doses over 5 units. It's also possible that whatever tumour is causing her higher dose has slowed down a bit. Typically IAA takes a lot longer to break, if that's what is in play.

Thanks Wendy. So we still have so many unknowns. Toxicity vs her tumor (unknown origin) vs IAA. She is going to make me nuts. Would it be better to reduce by 1 unit tonight vs 0.5 units?

I need to pick up chocolate if she lets me out today.
 
Trying to catch up, so you gave a little LC food with potato flakes at +5.5 and that’s it? I see the drop at +7 but still all looking good:D
Are you using a different SS? The cells are so large and colors are different. Just curious because it’s so hard to see on my phone and iPad minio_O

If Olive only knew all the fuss over this:p Glad to hear she’s chillaxin:joyful:
 
Trying to catch up, so you gave a little LC food with potato flakes at +5.5 and that’s it? I see the drop at +7 but still all looking good:D
Are you using a different SS? The cells are so large and colors are different. Just curious because it’s so hard to see on my phone and iPad minio_O

If Olive only knew all the fuss over this:p Glad to hear she’s chillaxin:joyful:

She has had syrup and 12% carbs since +4. As far as the ss. It's messed up. Colors disappear. I've been working on fixing it. When I fix one section another section disappears. I've had to clear all formatting and do it over. Not finished yet. Yes the colors are a bit off. When I print it and vet prints it the colors were to close to distinguish. So I needed to change a couple of them. Cells being large I don't know. Maybe it's a setting I have to do from pc. Maybe that's why I can't see the comment section on my phone. Will check that when I boot up. They are super tiny on my phone.
 
Last edited:
Perhaps @Marje and Gracie could assist with the SS as I have heard a few times it was actually her who sourced this version of SS for us!! :bighug:

She was the one who set up Smokey's. I copied Smokey's over to new one but I probably messed something up in the transfer. Going forward it's fixed. I fixing the past entries. Because some cells have data entered they have to done individually.
 
It's an hour before shot time, anything say over 100 I'm to give the 7.25 u?

Another thing we know, without insulin she zooms right up there.
 
anything say over 100 I'm to give the 7.25 u?
Yes, as long as you can monitor tonight. Similar cycle on the 28th, she bounced in the evening. If you want to drain the depot a bit, you could always do a half or 2/3rd size BCS for just tonight and resume with 7.25 tomorrow morning. That's also an option if you are just plain tired.
 
Trying to catch up, so you gave a little LC food with potato flakes at +5.5 and that’s it? I see the drop at +7 but still all looking good:D
Are you using a different SS? The cells are so large and colors are different. Just curious because it’s so hard to see on my phone and iPad minio_O

If Olive only knew all the fuss over this:p Glad to hear she’s chillaxin:joyful:

I just opened my ss using link in signature, used my kindle. Wow I see what you mean. But when I enter data from my phone, and open it on pc it's normal. So I wonder if it's a device issue.
 
Looking at the package of potato flakes. 1/3 cup dry is only 6% carbs. So 1/4 tsp can't be much at all to make a difference.

I don’t know that the carb number matters so much here. For example, if you ate the carbs in broccoli, it’s not going to do the same thing as if you ate a piece of bread, even at the same carb level. Starches like potato and processed carbs from bread usually have more of an impact on BGs. It’s been working well for Asia, but caveat, she has changed her sugar needs and doesn’t need nearly as much to boost her up as she once did (.6mL Karo compared to .1mL now).

Olive might just need a hefty amount of carbs to get her numbers up, like Asia used to. Hopefully she will grow out of that also. :p

For alarms, I would try changing the tone too, but as another backup, you should be able to find and install an alarm app and then you can have 2 alarms on your phone.
 
The SS is huge on both my iPad and my Mac.
Mine, too (my Mac). Do you still have Smokey's SS on your computer? If so, you might try making a template from it. First duplicate it. Then delete all of the entries from the duplicate and re-name it "template". Then try making some entries and see if it works. To link it to your signature you'll have to follow the instructions in the Tech Forum.

Olive, you are an amazing kitty. Surf safe! The LagoonMeister is busy with the shark nets, but the LagoonMeisterin and the deputies are on duty.
 
Mine, too (my Mac). Do you still have Smokey's SS on your computer? If so, you might try making a template from it. First duplicate it. Then delete all of the entries from the duplicate and re-name it "template". Then try making some entries and see if it works. To link it to your signature you'll have to follow the instructions in the Tech Forum.

Olive, you are an amazing kitty. Surf safe! The LagoonMeister is busy with the shark nets, but the LagoonMeisterin and the deputies are on duty.

I did copy Smokey's but his also had some customization to it.
 
I don’t know that the carb number matters so much here. For example, if you ate the carbs in broccoli, it’s not going to do the same thing as if you ate a piece of bread, even at the same carb level. Starches like potato and processed carbs from bread usually have more of an impact on BGs. It’s been working well for Asia, but caveat, she has changed her sugar needs and doesn’t need nearly as much to boost her up as she once did (.6mL Karo compared to .1mL now).

Olive might just need a hefty amount of carbs to get her numbers up, like Asia used to. Hopefully she will grow out of that also. :p

For alarms, I would try changing the tone too, but as another backup, you should be able to find and install an alarm app and then you can have 2 alarms on your phone.

Apparently I shut my alarm off according to husband. I just never got up.
 
Ok. I think I got the ss fixed at least from 3/25 to the present. I'm not going to worry about the earlier. It seems the cells are grouped or linked in blocks for the conditional formatting. When I copied and paste it added the formatting multiple times. When I deleted the extra it deleted from entire sheet. Some cells had no formatting and some where missing a certain color range. What comments wasn't there I don't know but I added a column for it. That column I have to go back and fill in. As far as size, I think because I had it enlarged to work on it and never shrunk it back. It should be ok now.
 
Ok so it's still large on my kindle. Can't fix it on my kindle.

Looks like Olive is going to take it easy tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top