5/05 - Morris is bouncing all over the place! Dose advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gwen and Morris

Member Since 2009
Haven't been on this site much lately...I have been working crazy extra hours last week & this which means I haven't been feeling up to playing on my puter at home. Plus, it seems, I get up, go to work, come home, eat & head off to bed! Despite all this upheaval in my personal life, I have somehow managed to keep Morris on track with his schedule! He has been fed & had his insulin on schedule during all of this (however, I haven't been doing as many spot checks on him).

Looking at his ss, he has been having lots of nice blue & green!!!! This has really pleased me! However, he is still running into a few pink & red times as well. Because he has been having so much blue & green lately, I feel that I am really close to having the 'right' dose of insulin for him...but I would like to get rid of the red especially & hopefully the pink as well.

I think he may need a little fine tuning on his dose. Which way do you think he needs to go? Do you think I should try a fat 2.0u or a skinny 2.5u?

I am really looking forward to getting back to my regular schedule next week! I miss you guys! :YMHUG:
 
Dear Morris - this is the advice I got just recently. Perhaps this will help you too.

Love, Lanky

Re: 5/3 Lanky AMPS 420
by Sienne and Gabby » Tue May 04, 2010 6:50 am

Just hold the dose steady -- there's not need to increase. The bounce will pass. We try to evaluate each dose on it's own. Increasing a dose during a bounce doesn't let you evaluate how the insulin is doing and could potentially make bouncing even worse. As frustrating as it may be, just let the dose settle. Remember, it can take up to 72 hours for a rebound to clear.
 
Yes, I realize that. Unfortunately, Morris has been bouncing, recovering, bouncing again for a few weeks now. I believe his dose needs to be adjusted a bit & I am hopeful that 1 of the dosing pros happen along & give me their thoughts.
 
Gwen and Morris said:
(however, I haven't been doing as many spot checks on him).

I am not a dosing expert either but what I see is that you really don't know where Morris is going during any cycle during this busy time you are having. If he is going low when you are not testing, you won't see the low number but the bounce that follows. Raising the dose a little when you are not around to test during the cycle will no doubt cause higher bounces and lower lows....imho, it would be good to get more test next week when your schedule changes. KWIM?
Things will be much better when you get back to a better schedule for yourself, right?
Hopefully, one of the dosing pros will be along to give input...nice to see you again...sorry about your schedule lately! Busy Busy Busy!!! :YMHUG:
 
This is my second time going back to his SS to see if I could try and help. Not sure I'm much help. More tests would help but you have a schedule too.
Is SS up-to-minute? Let's see what PMPS is if he's still pink I think I would shoot the 2.25u and then possibly drop to a f2.0u in the am.
IMHO it is a question of do you force the liver into submission or do you try and get a range that is flat, but higher (blues and yellows) and then notch him down once he flattens out.
 
PMPS = 275

D and Noisy said:
IMHO it is a question of do you force the liver into submission or do you try and get a range that is flat, but higher (blues and yellows) and then notch him down once he flattens out.
If he was your cat, what would you do?

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Things will be much better when you get back to a better schedule for yourself, right?
I certainly hope so! Things can't get much for me than what they are right now! LOL!

Yes, I could wait until next week when I have more data before changing doses.....but, is it good for him to continue bouncing like this?
 
Gwen -

I would follow D's advice and drop to a fat 2.0 tomorrow. D is usually on the Board in the early AM. If you would like her to confirm, you can try to catch her then -- or send a PM. I'm going to guess that she wasn't expecting a pink at PM +2.
 
Thanks Sienne! I will be testing & shooting in approx 30 mins, then rushing out the door to tbp! I will drop down to a fat 2.0 starting this morning & will update his ss at some point today (not sure if I will get a chance at work today or not.....might have to wait until I get home tonight).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top