This is another thread you have just posted. Try and stick to one thread when asking the same question please otherwise it is too confusing for everyone.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4pm-dose-concern.281032/
I think you need to reduce the dose to 1.5 U at the next dose with those drops of 59 and 69 in the last 2 cycles.
Any drop under 90 warrants a dose reduction.
@Suzanne & Darcy is a prozinc user so I will tag her.
No the new dose would be 1.25 units NOT 1 unitso from 1.5 give him 1.0 ? is after 3 that I feel the danger on dosing him that's when he spirals down from 130 is seconds to 60 - 50 if I dose on the 4: pm aren't I taking a risk even with the meal glucose spirals down from 3:44 - 7:08 my monitor is asking to test it has an hour glass with a drop of blood next to the number
several people have been writing to me about +2,. the only +2 I know of is the one on the spreadsheet, which to me is 6:00 AM and those glucose numbers re there, this forum has me feeling so inadequate, even though I've read glossary and how to use it, I'm confuse and I have an A/AThat is a lower preshot than you normally shoot so I would get a +2

Hi Maria,
Remember when Corky drops under 90, anytime, you need to reduce the dose. So with the PMPS of 83 and the subsequent drop to 66 during the cycle...that earned another reduction.
And with prozinc and SLGS you don't give the dose if the preshot is under 90.
If you get a lower preshot, you can stall, don't feed and test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is rising.
Your new dose is 1.25 U
Maria, can you tell me what you are feeding Corky now please?
Please ask any questions if you are not sure about anything![]()
I'm sorry we are making you feel inadequate. That is certainly no our intention. You are doing a very good job. It is hard in the beginning for everyone, so we do understand.several people have been writing to me about +2,. the only +2 I know of is the one on the spreadsheet, which to me is 6:00 AM and those glucose numbers re there, this forum has me feeling so inadequate, even though I've read glossary and how to use it, I'm confuse and I have an A/A![]()
So it looks like you are feeding an all wet diet now...is that correct?I was feeding him Meau Mix wet food, as of yesterday I bought the Fancy Feast recommended Such as chicken beef turkey 15%
The reduction should have been taken when the PMPS blood glucose number was 83, below 90. Reduce from 1.5 to 1.25. Or am I missing something? Be back in a bit.
Those Libre numbers are kind of wacky on your spreadsheet. What have you been feeding him at each hour /test/scan? What percentage of carbs. It’s really helpful to all of us (and will be for you too so you can learn Corky’s response to carbs) if you write in the comments section of your spreadsheet what you feed and when.
Your new dose going forward is 1.25. Do not shoot anything below 90 when following SLGS. I’m questioning the Libre numbers. That is why I asked about what you fed. The numbers are so up and down. I am afraid that I will not be up at 4 am Eastern. I do frequently get up at 4 or 4:30 and definitely will be up by 5, but have to hit the ground running if I get up that late. Have you read this from the sticky note on the ProZinc forum?correct on the food
Corky started on 2.5 reduced to 2.0 reduced to 1.75 reduce to 1.5 that how we stand tonight, what dose should I give at 4:00 AM ?
That is very high carb food to feed a diabetic cat. Diabetic cats need a low carb diet under ten percent carbs. We save the high carb for when the cat drops below 50. I am sure Missed the explanation/recommendation for this food.yesterday I purchased as advised the 15% Fancy feast chicken, turkey and beef
Well please take the reduction in the morning to 1.25. If he’s below 150 at preshot you can stall without feeding him anything for 20-30 minutes and retest to see if he’s on his way up. There are some other strategies we could try. We don’t have a lot of data on Corky on the spreadsheet yet, but you are doing such a great job of trying to keep him safe. We will help, and if we need to figure out something with your new job, we will try to do that too.
That is correct but remember what Suzanne posted about this ife if his glucose reads or stays low under 6-70's I should not dose correct.
If these are the ones you are talking about they are medium and high carb foods for you hypo, when Corky's BG drops too low and you need to bring it upI was feeding him Meau Mix as of yesterday I purchased as advised the 15% Fancy feast chicken, turkey and beef
@mayteThat is very high carb food to feed a diabetic cat. Diabetic cats need a low carb diet under ten percent carbs. We save the high carb for when the cat drops below 50. I am sure Missed the explanation/recommendation for this food.
The reduction should have been taken when the PMPS blood glucose number was 83, below 90. Reduce from 1.5 to 1.25. Or am I missing something? Be back in a bit.[/QU
If these are the ones you are talking about they are medium and high carb foods for you hypo, when Corky's BG drops too low and you need to bring it up
For your Hypo kit
Med and High Carb food and some honey/karo
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs
Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
Or any on the food chart. Doesn't have to be Fancy Feast just an example about the med and high carb foods
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-
Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.
18% and over is high carb.
You should be able to buy the fancy feast pates at Walmart without any trouble I would think.
Let’s see what the BGs are for this cycle.
we can’t really make a decision about the next dose until we see what happens this cycle.or not dose at all and change the 4PM to a later time, like bed time around 10-11 PM
Let’s see what the BGs are for this cycle.
You
we can’t really make a decision about the next dose until we see what happens this cycle.
How many hours until the next dose is due?will you be able to make that decision before his 4:00 pm dose . i will
I believe Corky had his morning shot three hours ago (since she shoots at 4 am and 4 pm Eastern - and that’s my same time zone and it’s 7 a.m. here now.). I have to leave to take a cat to the vet for a dental soon so I won’t be around.How many hours until the next dose is due?
Will you be around for the 4pm shot Suzanne? Ill be an bed fast asleep in a couple of hours but Im sure @Bandit's Mom could be around if necessary for the 4 pm dose.I believe Corky had his morning shot three hours ago (since she shoots at 4 am and 4 pm Eastern - and that’s my same time zone and it’s 7 a.m. here now.). I have to leave to take a cat to the vet for a dental soon so I won’t be around.
checking 1/ hour later 7:AM he is spiraling again glucose at 81 and dropping when at 7 was 124 and is decreasing very rapidly I can see it on the monito graph. I really feel that leaving him in the afternoons going to in this condition It's not going to be feasible, I don't want to get home to a unconscious or dead Corky I tested again now is 78 @7:38will you be able to make that decision before his 4:00 pm dose . i will continue to give data hourly even though I check every 1/2 hours concern of the rapid decrease, after the decrease it increases but never over 120+ 200's
you have bee the contact that has giving me precise and understanding instructions that I can understand immediately I appreciate it very much![]()
How many hours until the next dose is due?
Maria, remember that if the BG drops under 90 you need to reduce the dose at the next insulin shot.
If you are ever unsure, always post and ask us
I've been noticing a pattern on the 1.75 dose, it seem Corky's glucose is best during the day until he feed at 4M / dose. please advise
the classic Fancy Feast is the one I boughtThe classic collection is usually low carb. I don’t live in the US so I can’t see what is in the shops sorry.
right now his glucose has been to very high since 9:AM (see spreadsheet I need to be advised on the 4PM feed/ dose if his glucose remain with these numbers pleaseMaria, I would continue with the 1.25 Unit dose unless he drops under 90.
And it doesn’t look like he will. It looks like he is on the way back up now.