911 47 last night 278 this morning

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy Conaty

Member Since 2015
  • How much do I decrease his insulin this morning. I had increased it Friday morning by a 1/2 of unit. Thank you
  • I did not give him a shot last night. He is now 278 and I am not sure how much to decrease
  • I responded but not sure if you got it
  • ️Bella fluckuates between 278-345 with a couple higher in the 400
  • PZ1 insulin
  • Now his shot is due
 
Last edited:
I'm at work right now, but I'm trying to find someone to offer some assistance. In the meantime, here are a few questions for you to answer...it will be helpful for those helping you....

Do you have a spread sheet of your kitty's tests? What's your name and your kitty's name? And when is your shot due (be sure to include the time zone you're in since we're from)? What was the dose you shot last night, and what insulin are you using?
 
Amy beat me to the questions. If you don't have a ss, can you post all of yesterday and last night test results? I'm not one of the advisors she is trying to tag but hopefully someone will be in shortly.
 
I'm at work right now, but I'm trying to find someone to offer some assistance. In the meantime, here are a few questions for you to answer...it will be helpful for those helping you....

Do you have a spread sheet of your kitty's tests? What's your name and your kitty's name? And when is your shot due (be sure to include the time zone you're in since we're from)? What was the dose you shot last night, and what insulin are you using?[/QUOTE

]Yes I have a spread sheet he fluctuates between 278 and 345 we have been increasing PZ1 insulin 1/2 unit at a time. I have not been able to get it down. Friday morning I gave him 4 1/2 units and at 7 last night it was 47 I did not give him any then now he needs a shot and I don't know what to give. His name is ️Bella.
 
Let us know his recent test numbers and when his insulin is due next, and what doses you've given recently.
 
Hi Kathy and Bella. I see that you have edited your first post. We usually look for your new replies to your post, so I missed the edit.
Um, I'm only used to helping people who are using Lantus and Levemir insulin on their cats. Have you been to the PZI forum yet? The folks there would be more familiar with PZI insulin and dosing.
I'm glad you're home testing. Are you using a human glucometer or an animal glucometer?
 
I linked this thread over on Health since most of us are not PZI users. You posted on the Lantus/Levemir board and the dosing strategies are quite different. Hopefully someone will stop by and offer some guidance.
 
I'm at work right now, but I'm trying to find someone to offer some assistance. In the meantime, here are a few questions for you to answer...it will be helpful for those helping you....

Do you have a spread sheet of your kitty's tests? What's your name and your kitty's name? And when is your shot due (be sure to include the time zone you're in since we're from)? What was the dose you shot last night, and what insulin are you using?
Thank you I talked to his treating vet and he advised me. Thank you all for your support.
 
Hi Kathy and Bella,

We suggest that new diabetics not get shoots when their preshot number is under 200. As Bella was 278, giving a shot should be safe, but I would definitely reduce the dose. (You don't want to get the same amount and repeat the cycle that gave you a 47. Perhaps halve the dose.

We have a PZI/ProZinc forum. Everyone there uses or has used your insulin. You can look at their threads and see how they are adjusting to the insulin.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/prozinc-pzi.24/.

The protocol we put together for ProZinc is in my signature in blue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top