.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

Actually, you want to list that at +14 and +17 because the numbers are + from the last given shot.

I hope I have time to check in and see how she did in the morning, but tomrrow will be a crazy day for me and I don't need to get caught up in posting! I always spend more time than I planned to.
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

Yay! So glad Budbud's feeling better.

Hope you and DH are feeling better too!
Have a great day.
Marcy & Klinger
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

Yes, thanks, Marcy! The abs are kicking in. We're both still dragging. DH slept all day and night - literally. I couldn't get to sleep at all last night... was freezing for some reason. Dozed off at 4:00am. That's why Bud got shot later than I had wanted.

Can't tell you all how VERY much I appreciate your thoughts, suggestions and time in helping us. This site and you wonderful caring folks are a God send.
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

We're happy to help. I pay it forward because in Gandalf's case, if I had known all the things I know now back in 2005 he would not still be diabetic. And you can see every day that someone new comes to FDMB wanting to help their kitty but they don't know how. I really do blame the veterinary community because diabetes is completely treatable to the point of remission but they've given very poor treatment for a long time, starting with diet. They're getting better at that and about insulin usage and home-testing, but it's still an uphill battle. I cringe every time I see someone coming on the board giving more than 2U of insulin.

So we do what we can for those who find us. cat_pet_icon

And I'm glad you are feeling better. Hopefully DH can give you a break for today and let you take that day long nap!
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

Speaking of vets not treating FD well.....

Here's a newbie (2 weeks ago) in health that I tried to advise:
"The vet has said he's been around 300, and has me shooting him with 3 units of insulin twice a day."
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=44935

And here she is today:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=45805&p=491387#p491387

Kitty had high numbers and her wonderful vet threw more Lantus at it. 4.0u
She's at BG 64 amps.

O, and she is/was on a script diet food from the vet. NOT LC.

We really should do something about the vets. Maybe the vet schools?

I have to go make lemon pies and get the shish kabobs skewered. . . . . .
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

eeraby said:
I blame it on the pet food manufacturers. (I'd also like to blame it on the government, being an old, protesting hippie) It is inexcuseable that there are no nutrition labels on pet food. It's inexcuseable that a $41 billion industry creates pet food that's strictly a "marketable product" made to appeal to what the ignorant consumer believes pet food should look like - and being tricked into thinking all the sugar and grains are *good* for your pet. I should know, I had all 3 kitties on Friskies dry (marketed as for sensitive stomach)for YEARS. Friskies spent "$73.3 million dollars in less than three years ONLY on advertising in major media for one product." http://www.truthaboutpetfood.com/articl ... udget.html Had I only known, Priss would still be alive and Bud would be healthy.

I remember, distinctly, when a manufacturer came out with a comercial, years ago, about a cat food that was 'crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside' (Friskies?). They had 'scientists' on a roof dropping the kibble off. Even then, this outraged me. All the starving people in the world and here in the US and we NEED all that money spent on developing a product that NO ONE needs and all the additional money spent convencing peoplt that NEED IT!?????? Totally outrageous.

What can you do? *shrug*

While I've got my soap box out, I also think there's something NOT RIGHT about PZI or prozinc or whatever it's named currently. I saw bud drop dosage and look like she was coming off insulin and stay there for about 45 days. And then, we had to start increasing the dosage. Knowing what I know about Lev now, I don't know if it's the PZI or if it's the dosage protocol of giving higher dosages for higher numbers. (ie, would it be better to lower the dose as I've done with the lev?) But I've seen several others on PZI that are following the same pattern. I mentioned it to the folks that give help in there to keep a look out for that pattern.... Lowering doses and then having to raise it approximately 45 days after it looks like you're going OJT.

Again, *shrug*

I'm also disenchanted with our lying politicians :o

What are you talking about? Politicians don't lie! :lol:

Hmm, that prozinc observation is interesting. I don't understand what happened with the PZI type insulin, although it's still available from BCP pharmacy, but they are very similar (one is made from beef, the other pork I think or they were and now they're only made from pork....). Seems like the pharmaceutical industry up to its dirty tricks again and that bothers me because medicines for animals are not as well regulated as they are for people and even for people too many drugs get on the market which are dangerous!

You are right about the pet food industry too. They are to blame for so many cats getting diabetes, but then the veterinary community was/is unprepared to deal with the onslaught of cases. I never even knew cats could develop diabetes until Gandalf did. My friends had a Husky dog with diabetes, but I understood dogs and cats as physiologically different so I was surprised it could afflict cats too. Also vets don't do enough to warn people about steroids. Gandalf received steroid shots for 7 years for a periodic skin condition. That coupled with the dry "hairball control" food he got for about that same amount of time meant he was 100% guaranteed to have diabetes.

We can place blame all day long, but nothing's going to change I'm afraid. As long as we do what we can to educate members about diet we're doing the best we can.
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

The princesa, at +6 is 71.

Bless her little heart.
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

eeraby said:
The princesa, at +6 is 71.

Bless her little heart.

On .05U? Way to go, Bud Bud!!

As for the person giving their cat 4U, the lack of concern about that on the Lantus group concerns me. "Wait till they earn a dose reduction" is basically what I'm reading.

I guess he did today, ya think?

Have to do housework now. Glad to see Bud Bud doing so well! Woohoo!!!
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

Beth wrote, "I blame it on the pet food manufacturers. (I'd also like to blame it on the government, being an old, protesting hippie)"

I think you can add the government without a single qualm. The people that gave us the food pyramid and told us to base out diets on bread, potatoes, rice, and pasta have created an epidemic of obesity and diabetes among humans. And how many pet foods have I seen boasting over the years that they were "low fat." The pet food industry took its lead from the government, making "healthy" low fat cat foods based on corn and wheat.

Lana
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

well........

the princesa is 48 @+8.5

and she doesn't look good. Feedin LC

:?
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

I think Sheila experienced this too, where even a half a drop would drop them low. Good for feeding the low carb. Hopefully she won't bounce from this and can maybe fly solo tonight.
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

you think? with the 48 too, today???

I'm taking her to the vet in the morning.
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

eeraby said:
you think? with the 48 too, today???

I'm taking her to the vet in the morning.

Yes. Those are very normal numbers. On .05U of insulin she's practically doing it on her own.

If the vet says she needs to stay on insulin, fire him/her. So why does she need to go to the vet? Is she not eating very well?

Oh, you'll probably think this is nuts, but some people have literally gone through all the motions of giving them a shot, but not actually give them anything! I guess they stick a syringe in without having put any insulin in it. It's like the placebo effect!
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

not eating well at all. and still 'comes and goes' ... like just staring off in space. She's very grumpy. I get scratched when I pick her up. She normally doesn't do that. It's like she's on drugs or something or her vision's impaired.

Vet mentioned early on that she needed a dental. She is, afterall, 16 and hasn't had a dental in forever. I wonder if she doesn't have a bad tooth. And it's wierd ... she'll eat, ravenously, when you put the food in front of her when's she's laying about ... but only a few bits.

*shrug*
 
Re: BUD 6/19 No shot; pmps +2 138; pm +5 169

Yeah, I think you're right to be concerned and want to have her teeth looked at. The eating behavior is a good indicator something might be hurting her. Poor kitty. She's lucky you're looking out for her!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top