.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

eeraby said:
?????????? retest in 30min? Skinny 1.0u?

I am sure you have already seen this primer.

Has she started to go back up yet?

I would hate to see you lose the good momentum that you are getting up until now, but if she doesn't rise in a reasonable amount of time, go ahead and reduce the dose slightly and then get some spot checks in the early part of the cycle and later. Remember though you shot a 116 last night which isn't that much higher, but she was obviously on the rise with that number. On the other hand the 112 at +9 today isn't that much higher either considering meter variation. So maybe she is just leveling out with this late nadir and hopefully you will see a rise soon.
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

eeraby said:
?????????? retest in 30min? Skinny 1.0u?


That's a great preshot.. but a little early in the game because you don't have a lot of data to shoot near full dose to a 92. Are you going to be able to monitor pretty closely?

Ilkka
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

Yes, I can monitor.

Thank you both.

I called the vet but she didn't get back to me in time.

I retested at +0.5. and she was 115. I shot a skinny 1.0u

Vet wants to reduce dose to 0.75 in the morning. If I decide to do that, I'm going to strive for a 0.8u usind the drop method.
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

Sorry it took so long to reply. I was waiting for the vet and keeping an eye on Bud. And didn't want to miss the rise. Vet was a bit late in calling... 40 secs after I decided to shoot the skinny 1.0. Vet woulds shot 0.75u

I will get a +1 in 8 min, 7 EDST.

Pamela... ty for the primer. I had glanced over it and all the lev info before we switched. But I reread it whilst I have a breather here. GREAT instructions, as are all the stickies in here. Ya'll have put a great deal of work into those, I can see, and they are excellent! Thank you.

Thoughts/comments on what and how I shot would be welcomed.

Also, thought on 0.8u in the morning.

thank you
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

+1 152

Will retest at +3. (9pm EDST)... unless ya'll think a +2 is needed.
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

eeraby said:
Sorry it took so long to reply. I was waiting for the vet and keeping an eye on Bud. And didn't want to miss the rise. Vet was a bit late in calling... 40 secs after I decided to shoot the skinny 1.0. Vet woulds shot 0.75u

I will get a +1 in 8 min, 7 EDST.

Pamela... ty for the primer. I had glanced over it and all the lev info before we switched. But I reread it whilst I have a breather here. GREAT instructions, as are all the stickies in here. Ya'll have put a great deal of work into those, I can see, and they are excellent! Thank you.

Thoughts/comments on what and how I shot would be welcomed.

Also, thought on 0.8u in the morning.

thank you

I think you did fine on shooting the skinny 1.0 unit. As far as if it was the right decision we will not know until after you get those spot checks in tonight and where she is at tomorrow. ;)

BTW how is her appetite? Did she eat normally today?

I think you said you are going to be leaving on Wednesday the 6th? How long and who will be watching Bud...your DH?

ETA Saw you just posted. No a +2 is not needed but do get in a before bedtime check.
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

Her appetite has been off a bit of late, but been normal to a bit more hungry the last 2.5 days. She is eating very well.

DH will be shooting her. Kara will come in mid day to test her. We practiced the drop method on the syringes. He did well. I won't be back until the afternoon of the 18th.

As for Kara coming to test her. How many hours after the preshot would be best to test her? ie, when is she most likely to start going low if she's going to? Kara can come +4 to +5. I could ask her to come later.....
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

+3 220

No hypo tonight, I reckon.

Will retest @ +5 (perhaps +6, if I'm still awake at midnight.)
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

Beth, I think you made the right call. The data will tell you if you could have shot the full dose or not.

She may be a late nadir kitty, so you will have to note if she always climbs from the +10 to +12 low number - and then you could shoot her full dose without worry. However, in the beginning a later nadir could indicate too much insulin. It would be followed by a higher PS at the next shot time, which it sort of looks like she is doing. So a decrease might be a good idea.

You are heading out of town for a few weeks, right? Will someone be watching her - I mean staying overnight with her? Testing? Or just testing, shooting and leaving? I would suggest leaving her with a dose that is just below what you think is safe. It's better for her to be only going down to 150-180 than to be dropping too low and no one is there. I always leave my sitters with a lower dose to shoot. Last time it was .5u instead of .7u for Jeddie (no testing was being done). With Beau, I had a sitter that was testing, but his dose was .05u or .1u (can't remember) so I set a higher "do not shoot" number (don't give a shot if he is below 180). Better to be safe than sorry.
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

eeraby said:
Shelia....

Vet is saying to decrease it tomorrow to 0.75u. I'm opting for 0.8u taking drops off instead of trying to 'eyeball' the area between 0.5 and 1.0

Hubby will be here. Shoots at 5.30am and Kara will come test her. I'm wanting to know WHEN I should get her to come. she can come as early as +4 or later if needed. I won't be back until the 18th. hopefully in time for her PMPS. Hubby's not big on testing between shots. I've explained several times why we need to with the change to Lev.

she does look, to my inexperienced eyes, like she's getting a late nadir during the day. Dunno wassup with the night.

However, in the beginning a later nadir could indicate too much insulin.
I see your point there, thank you.

Now, both DH and I will be gone from May 12th to June 4. Kara will live here. She is a diabetic herself (no insulin) but knows how to test and shoot. She's very capable. We would not have scheduled the trip if we didn't have her.

So it looks like you have decided to stick with the .75 dose while you are gone?

If Kara can come anywhere between +4 and +6 and maybe a +9 or +10 if possible, to see if she is on the rise before your DH shoots. So I take it your DH won't be testing after the PM shot? Can you get him to take one test before he goes to bed?

Do either of them have access to this messageboard or will you be checking in? Or will they be in contact with your vet if they have problems?

Hopefully, Bud will maintain on that .75 dose and won't go too high or too low.

BTW I saw that you changed to the 1/2" needles on the 31st. I use those too, although I believe most people use the shorter needles. Curious if your vet suggested that. I have always wondered if sometimes people don't always get adequate absorption with the shorter needles especially with our little chubbier kitties.
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

Pamela...

Yes on the 0.75u. But not so much because I'm out of town. Vet and I discussed increasing it back to 1.0 as she didn't seem to do well on the 0.75. Thanks to the great advice in here, I brought up staying at 0.75 in case 1.0 was too high a dose.

Since we'll only get 1 test between shots, vet would like a +7 - +8 test. DH will do a PM +5 or so. I've told him that if she's green, he must test every 15-30 minutes and not go to bed until he gets a rise.

Yes, everyone has access to the SS and the board - Kara DH and vet. Don't think anyone's looking. I have short cuts on DH's desktop since day 1.

Vet is very good about calling. She does look at the SS and I've set it up so that she can leave a note if she needs to for DH. He can go look prior to the AM shot to see if there is a note. We often call with PMPS prior to shooting and she gets back to us immediately as to what to shoot.

AND! I am only a phone call away. I *think* we've got everything covered. Now, if Bud will only cooperate and not throw us any curves!

Yes on the 1/2 inch!!!!! I'd gotten a hint that they might be better from a post somewhere on here. I brought it up to vet and she didn't know I was using the short ones. She strongly suggested I get the 1/2 inch. I"m wondering if the short ones might have been some of the problem ... Hubby shoots in the AM and I get the PM. I think I might not have been going as deep as needed. Will see.
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

eeraby said:
Pamela...

Yes on the 0.75u. But not so much because I'm out of town. Vet and I discussed increasing it back to 1.0 as she didn't seem to do well on the 0.75. Thanks to the great advice in here, I brought up staying at 0.75 in case 1.0 was too high a dose.

Since we'll only get 1 test between shots, vet would like a +7 - +8 test. DH will do a PM +5 or so. I've told him that if she's green, he must test every 15-30 minutes and not go to bed until he gets a rise.

Yes, everyone has access to the SS and the board - Kara DH and vet. Don't think anyone's looking. I have short cuts on DH's desktop since day 1.

Vet is very good about calling. She does look at the SS and I've set it up so that she can leave a note if she needs to for DH. He can go look prior to the AM shot to see if there is a note. We often call with PMPS prior to shooting and she gets back to us immediately as to what to shoot.

AND! I am only a phone call away. I *think* we've got everything covered. Now, if Bud will only cooperate and not throw us any curves!

Sounds like you do have all the bases covered! :)

eeraby said:
Yes on the 1/2 inch!!!!! I'd gotten a hint that they might be better from a post somewhere on here. I brought it up to vet and she didn't know I was using the short ones. She strongly suggested I get the 1/2 inch. I"m wondering if the short ones might have been some of the problem ... Hubby shoots in the AM and I get the PM. I think I might not have been going as deep as needed. Will see.

I would be interested where you might have read that here. Like I said, I think I am in the minority since I believe most people here use the short needles. What brand are you using then with the longer needle. Do they have 1/2 unit markings? I am so not up to date on what syringes are available nowadays. I just stick with the same ones. ;)

Anyway, I would love to hear your vets reasoning for preferring the longer needles....I suppose it would be because of absorption, but maybe something else? Just curious what she would say.
 
Re: ****BUD WHAT TO SHOOT ??? PMPS 92

Beth, just an FYI on the long 1/2" vs short 5/16" needles - I found I did more through and through shots with 1/2" needles. I don't do them at all on 5/16". A through and through is where the needle goes in and comes out the skin again, so you end up with a furshot. Depending on how you tent the skin it is very easy to mistakenly do that.

Also, just a note on technique. I shoot with the needle almost parallel to the skin, so it is just going under the skin. I no longer tent the skin or if I do, I just pull up a little on his hair. It's easy with Gandalf as he is long haired and his hair separates very easily. On other cats this method would probably not work, as they have denser hair.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top