.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Bud 4/2 AMPS 512. +5 560

ok, may i be the first to say it....it's time. personnally i would feel comfortable and not rushing things to raise to 1.25 at this point.
 
Re: Bud 4/2 AMPS 512. +5 560

eeraby said:
So *not* what I was expecting.

You shouldn't expect black numbers at this stage, and more, you shouldn't tolerate black numbers for a cat that has had reasonable results at less than 2u on another insulin; but you especially shouldn't tolerate >500 on Levemir. With 500+ in mid cycle -- though it may not be nadir -- your cat is at real risk and you have to raise. I would raise by .5u, and the way I read the protocols, Tilly included, that is what is called for. Good luck....

Ilkka
 
Re: Bud 4/2 AMPS 512. +5 560

Hi Beth, belated welcome to Levemir isg. :)

I have had out of town company so trying now to get caught up.

Sorry to see those 500's today. That is not fun to see at all. :(

I looked back on Bud's posts here and on pzi. Looks like you have a great vet.

I was wondering if Bud might be in need of a good teeth cleaning and that is why she is having such a hard time getting regulated? Since she is 15 years old has she ever had a dental?

When you get a chance could you set up a profile with Bud's history. There is a great primer on how to do it here.
 
Re: Bud 4/2 AMPS 512. +5 560

Hi, Pamela... thanks for the welcome.

Bud's teeth were cleaned once and yes, it is time again.

My wonderful vet called. She advised to recheck BG and if it wasn't down, shoot 0.6u PZI. But it was down, so we didn't.

Thank you, Lori and Ilkka... I so want to raise it, also

Confession time: This might have been my fault. I gave her a couple of small tastes of baked chicken from Sam's. TINY tiny tastes. Please... I know. and I feel like the world's absolutely worst mom.

Vet still wants to wait a few more cycles before raising dose. Will see how it goes in the morning.
 
Re: Bud 4/2 AMPS 512. +5 560

eeraby said:
Thank you, Lori and Ilkka... I so want to raise it, also

Confession time: This might have been my fault. I gave her a couple of small tastes of baked chicken from Sam's. TINY tiny tastes. Please... I know. and I feel like the world's absolutely worst mom.

Vet still wants to wait a few more cycles before raising dose. Will see how it goes in the morning.

good (about the vet) ... well let cooler heads prevail. It's interesting about the baked chicken -- tiny or nor, its not the amount but the shock. Homeopathy is about protocols with impossibly tiny dilutions of the remedy, and yet some people swear that it has huge consequences. I'm not lecturing you at all, in fact I give Tom treats that are not in the program... but I have noticed that at specific times and with specific foods, there can be a dramatic and out of proportion response to high carbs of a certain kind. The pancreas knows, via the small intestine and hormonal sensors, even before glucose migrates into the bloodstream that sugar is about to arrive, and in what quantity; but in some cases, chemical sequences create the opposite effect, and suppress the insulin response by catalyzing a kind of hormonal masking, so that the effect of a TINY amount of the forbidden thing is exaggerated. Maybe baked chicken is Bud's Kryptonite...you are so early in the Lev curve that it is hard to know.
 
Re: Bud 4/2 AMPS 512. +5 560

Hey Illka!!! your on lev now?
Yes on the chicken...who knows how many carbs that was?
so our experiment thus far has taken a small detour.
Still for the increase tho'.
Lori
and tomtom too!
 
Re: Bud 4/2 AMPS 512. +5 560

Thank ya'll for not making me feel worse than I did.
:oops:
 
Re: Bud 4/2 AMPS 512. +5 560

lori and tom said:
Hey Illka!!! your on lev now?
Yes on the chicken...who knows how many carbs that was?
so our experiment thus far has taken a small detour.
Still for the increase tho'.
Lori
and tomtom too!

Hi Lori !! -- yes - I am here now and then - would be more if not for my crazy schedule. Lev is where I originally found help in the early days when Tom was bouncing all over & some of the people that helped me are still here. I'm repaying my debt by recommending raising the dose regardless of circumstances <wink>. -- Doesn't help in this current thread that eeraby forgot to mention the Poulet roti au four à la Colonel with the mustache, or whatever Bud had to put him on the rocket ship!!- but all's well that ends well. Re the carbs, it seems that with some foods, with specific cats, there is this multiplication effect that goes beyond the carbs -- that's why I called this Bud's Kryptonite.

nice to see you and I am amazed what you and Tom2 have been able to accomplish... With those end of cycle drops I'm sure that hasn't been easy, esp now that you are floating in the low numbers.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top