.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

No no, you don't want to raise the dose after the wonderful numbers she got today! Her system is just now getting to understand what to do with Levemir and it's able to do its job. Those are beautiful numbers for day 3!

If there is any way you can set an alarm and test again at +6 and +9 tonight that would be awesome. I'm not too concerned she might go low, but I think it would be significant for you to see how it brings the BG down and by how much. If she gets green already tonight, you might even want to consider lowering dose, especially if you can't be there to check her tomorrow during the day.

Hopefully you will see this before turning in. I'm sorry no one was here to respond to you earlier today.
 
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

Ya, i'm thinking lowering 0.25 to 0.75u

Her PMPS was 194; +3 174

I'll definitely get a +6 and try to get +9
 
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

Oh good! I'm so glad you saw my post. Let's wait to see how she does overnight before lowering the dose. She came down very slowly today, so that's a good sign for the 1U. It would be unusual for 1U to be just the right amount, but aren't you glad you didn't start at a higher dose?!

Do you know what to do if you get a really low number? Really low would be 30s. The board is active all night long, as we have members in different parts of the world. You can post on Health for help if you get worried.

Really proud of Bud!
 
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

Vicky that does'nt look like such a slow drop to me...i'm thinking it was kind of a deep drop for day 3 on lev. she just tested +4.5 and got 150 i think so we don't know how much further she'll drop..and when that nadir actually hit.
thoughts?
 
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

I was thinking it was a rather steep drop.... over 50% 421, +6 267 +10 196 Looked more like PZI! ....

Anyway, she didn't really eat much at dinner so i got the 4.5 150. Fed her some chicken
 
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

Thanks, Gayle, I had the hypo sheet laminated and put on the fridge before I had 1st appt with vet for 1st insulin shot. I have a syringe (no needle, of course) with a tbsp. karo in it (for worse case if she's comatose) frozen tbsp. balls of 13% carb that I can nuke, frozen chicken breast bits to hand feed (already did that). Will be testing in 30 min (11:30 eastern) to see where we are.

Appreciate you keeping an eye on us! Thank you!
 
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

Good, I am glad you are prepared. Better safe than sorry, and it's always good to just double check when you suspect you may be needing your hypo kit contents soon!
I hope you have an uneventful nite.
If you ever are worried about overnite low drops, nothing to stop you from leaving a bit extra foods out.
 
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

hey all, beth had to go to bed. she's east coast i'm her west coast buddy. last number was +6 135. she's wondering if she gets a 140 or lower in the amps should she hold dose? she will be home all day...more or less. since it looks so far as if budbud is a late +12 nadir i think it would be ok to shoot full dose at 140 or even a bit lower but want group concensus on that.
will cross post on health.
 
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

Basically yeah, if Bud levels out in the lower 100s, 1U should be fine. She would certainly get good data on it that way.

I'd just like to say that on Lev it's not necessary to overload on karo. Numbers can be brought up slowly with medium carb food and if it's below 40, try a couple tablespoons of high carb (Fancy Feast grilled varieties are awesome at 18% carbs), test in a half hour. Giving too much high carb just sends them higher faster. The incidents of symptomatic hypo on Lev at normal doses is low and hypo numbers can be easily treated with high carb if necessary.

Beth, you might see higher numbers tomorrow regardless how low she goes tonight. Just a bounce, no reason to raise dose.
 
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

Beth, if you aren't going to be home during the day, and she is in the mid 100s, I'd lower the dose to at least .75u. Since she is just starting to show a significant response to the lev we have no idea what's gonna happen next. If you are going to be home, you could shoot the 1u and test, test, test, but I really thought you should have stayed at .5u for longer.....

I also don't think that was a steep drop, just steady. A steep drop would have been hitting the upper 100s before +6 or something.

You want to see a steep drop take a look at Beau's SS for his 1st and 3rd shots of lev (June 20th or there about). 318 to 118 in less than 6 hrs and 167 to 37 in 4 hrs. That is why I am cautious of shooting the full dose if Bud is in the 100s tomorrow am.

You also don't want to react to a higher PS by raising the dose, as Vicky said. You have to look at the whole cycle. But for now, because her response is an unknown on lev, I'd be cautious of low PSs.
 
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

beth i think this is your 7th cycle on 1u...if nothing different happens by amps tomorow whatdaya think group about a .25 dose increase?
 
Re: BUD 3/30 AMPS 421 +6 267

cat_pet_icon yep, seems like a plan. sleep tight!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top