4/9 Tommy+5 360,+10 405, pmps 529,+5 445 A Little Scared!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
No posts for a few days, nothing has changed much. I upped his dose to 9.5 this morning. It seems as though he is now hovering in the 300's now and not so much the 400's anymore, so i am grateful for that.
Much sadness and happiness in LL these past couple of weeks. A lot of healing time and a lot of partying. I so enjoy reading the stories about
your furbabies and the love you all feel seems to be mirrored in how i feel about all of mine.
I pray you all have a wonderful weekend and get to catch up on much needed rest.
Take care,
Squirrel ;-)
 
Re: 4/9 Tommy amps 354, +2 339

Hi Squirrel & Tommy too.. great to see some lower #s & good luck with the dosecrease.. I suspect the breakthrough dose is coming soon..hopefully ;-)
You maintain a great attitude, I know it has to be hard to be in these #s.. but as you said.. it is getting better.
I hope you all have a wonderful weekend too.
 
Re: 4/9 Tommy amps 354, +2 339

Hi guy's, glad to see Tommy's numbers coming down. What a cutie he is. :-D Hope you all are having a great weekend so far!
 
Re: 4/9 Tommy+5 360,+10 405,pmps 529,+5 445 A Little Scared

Something is wrong, numbers are waaaaaaaaaay too high for the amt of insulin he is getting. I just have a feeling that there is another problem here. I will be making an appt to see vet ASAP. This can't be a bounce since his numbers haven't been that good since the blue days. I'm feeling very discouraged right now. I just want to help him, I don't think i am. He's going the wrong direction. I've doubled his insulin in a month with little or no improvement overall. I have to find out what is keeping him up there so high. I just have too! :sad:

No chance of accidental contriband!
 
Re: 4/9 Tommy+5 360,+10 405, pmps 529,+5 445 A Little Scared

Any chance of a fur shot?

If Tommy is insulin resistant, these kinds of numbers are possible. If you're able to get the IAA and acro testing done soon, you'll know whether these are contributing to high numbers.

Also, I wouldn't give Tommy any food during the latter half of the cycle (and definitely not past +10). If you feed after +10, there's a good chance your pre-shot number will be influenced by food. During the latter half of the cycle, the effect of Lantus is at its weakest. There may not be sufficient insulin to counteract the effect of food.
 
Re: 4/9 Tommy+5 360,+10 405, pmps 529,+5 445 A Little Scared

Sienne, I only wish it were a fur shot, but no chance of that. I remember you telling me a few weeks ago about not feeding Tommy 2hrs before his shot
and i have been doing that. Are you saying i shouldn't feed him past +6 or +7?
I printed out all the info on the Tests you told me about and where to send them. Is that something my vet should already know. Will he be sending the work to the university or somewhere else? I don't know much about this or how many places do this kind of test.
Thanks for the help and advice.
 
Re: 4/9 Tommy+5 360,+10 405, pmps 529,+5 445 A Little Scared

You definitely don't want to feed past +10. However, many cats will end up with higher numbers if you feed during the last half of the cycle. I front load Gabby's food from pre-shot to +3. If you think about what a curve looks like, numbers are rising as Lantus begins to wear off. If you feed during that time, numbers may rise even further since there's less Lantus available to counteract the food. I'd experiment to see if this is the case for Tommy. Every cat is different (ECID) and the only way to know whether food is boosting Tommy's numbers is to compare what his numbers look like when you do feed past nadir and when you don't.

Michigan State University is the only lab that runs the IAA and acro (IGF) tests. If your vet has never needed to have these tests run, he may not know that MSU is the one place in North America where you can get the tests. Just a word re. timing. The tests are done once a week. You need to have the samples there by Wed. at the latest. Results may be available by Friday. There is also some issue with exactly where the sample needs to be delivered -- in other words, you don't want it sitting on a loading dock for days. I'd suggest calling the lab at MSU and making sure all the info that's on the web is correct.

Libby has had the tests run on Jazzy. I'll see if she has any other info for you.
 
Re: 4/9 Tommy+5 360,+10 405, pmps 529,+5 445 A Little Scared

Feeling your frustration.

We also have a Tommy (great name btw!), who is also on a high dose, and seems to have some kind of insulin resistance. He had a breakthrough at 9.5U (with help from fast acting R insulin), and we were able to drop his dose somewhat. But recently control of his blood sugar has been lost, and we're increasing the dose again, 8.5U and counting.

Hang in there, and hopefully the tests that Sienne suggested will shed some light on things.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top