4/9 Tasha amps 89 pmps 161 +4 78 Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karisa and Tasha(GA)

Member Since 2011
good evening LL! Hope this finds everyone doing well.

Miss ta was in rare form tonite, she bit her daddy while he was trying to give her shot :lol:

On to the question: How come her ampg's are so much lower than the pm's?

She hasn't been getting any food that I know of durring the day, of course I haven't been home to see if she's sneeking anything. Wouldn't put it past her though, the onery thing :lol:
 
Re: 4/9 Tasha ambg 89 pmpg 161 Question

A housekeeping item: AMBG would be used if you didn't give a shot. If you are shooting, then it's your AM or PMPS -- your Pre-Shot test value.

Without spot checks, it's hard to interpret what's going on. Many cats run lower numbers during the PM cycle. It may mean that Tasha was low over night and into the AM cycle. But, that's only speculation. The more data you are able to collect, the better everyone will be at understanding Tasha's numbers.

I really want to encourage you to get spot checks. With your AMPS test, you really needed to get at least a +1 and a +2 to make sure Tasha was safe. You still don't have enough data to shoot low and an 89 on the AlphaTrack constitutes shooting low. If you do shoot low, you've got to be available to get follow-up tests.
 
Re: 4/9 Tasha amps 89 pmps 161 Question

It's a really hard call. If you had more data and knew that Tasha would eat on her own, you might be able to shoot that low if you left out a higher carb food. The dilemma now is that none of us have enough information on how Tasha responds to insulin -- other than really good, if not somewhat scary numbers.

Generally, when we see that a cat is making it difficult to shoot the same dose consistently so you can give a shot twice a day, we suggest lowering the dose. Eventually, you may need to raise the dose and, in some cases, you may need to exceed your current dose. However, if that happens, you will have been collecting data and getting more comfortable with steering the cycle with food. Sometimes, this is trial and error because the kitty's vet recommended a dose that was too high or, because the bean has switched to a LC diet, their cat's numbers are dramatically improving due to the elimination of carbs. It's not something that can be predicted.

At this point, I'd suggest lowering Tasha's dose. I'd rather see you shoot less so there's not a risk of low numbers while you're not home.What would you think about dropping the dose to 0.5u?

I'd also encourage you to get some tests this evening. It looks to me like there's a good chance that Tasha runs lower at night.
 
Re: 4/9 Tasha amps 89 pmps 161 Question

Shooting at .5 in the am if the ps is 80's-90's is fine, she got her shot at 4:43 central and it is now +4 when should I get the readings?

I'm picking up the bean meter tomorrow after work, and planning on doing a curve Tuesday night. I need +1, +2, +11 and which others?
 
Re: 4/9 Tasha amps 89 pmps 161 Question

I'm a big fan of a +2 or a +3 test. I'd get a test now and one at +6 unless the numbers suggest you test sooner.
 
have to agree with Sienne.

and please DO get some evening checks - even if it's just one, that may be all you need to see the big picture.
Before bedtime tests are always good.
 
Logging in very briefly as i'm at work,

Gave LC snack at bed time (didn't see post)

amps 119 shot .5 units

She did get 1 unit at 4:45 or so yesteday afternoon pmps was 161

feel free to answer, but i will be signed off just a breif update
 
Karisa:

I'm linking this post on how to handle low numbers. At the places where it indicates that if numbers are below 50, you need to replace that with an 80 in order to adjust for using an AlphaTrack. I know if must be a little confusing when reading posts. We tend to think in terms of the numbers on a human meter since the AlphaTrack and strips are so expensive that very few people use that meter.

When you read that you should, "Feed the 40s," you need to convert that to feeding when numbers fall below 80 -- 80 is the point where you need to intervene with food in order to steer Tasha's numbers back into a little higher range so you know she's in safe numbers. Your goal should be to keep Tasha in a range from 80 - 150 which is the normal BG range when measured on an AlphaTrack. The more time Tasha spends in that range, the more opportunity there will be for her pancreas to heal.
 
Will clavamox or "pudding poop" effect sugar readings? She's been on clavamox since Tues, and the pudding started wed (clavamox induced) Getting water added to food to stop dehydration.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top