4/9 Smudge AMPS 118 +7 87 PMPS 111 +7 31 +7.5 55 +8 88

Astexcat

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...65-6-5-62-8-5-56-pmps-208-just-at-vet.228041/

Her nadir last night was 64 so I am sticking with the 4.75U dose for today. I have to go to work this morning and won't be around to check on her until around lunch time. She did have a big breakfast so I feel ok leaving her this morning, plus she will get a snack at 10am when hubby wakes up.

Appreciate all the support yesterday on the heart condition, it's a new one for me.
 
How is Smudge feeling/acting these days?

I know handling multiple conditions are hard. :bighug: But it helps if the kitty is still having some good times.
 
First day on Lasix so I'm thinking that threw her for a loop, but so far mostly normal.

Someone mentioned checking heart rate yesterday, just wondering what that helps? I was going to start watching her breathing to help track possible buildup of the fluid in her chest.

I'll take any help/advice on managing the heart condition, it's new to me. I've had cats with cancer, kidney issues, mega colon, and general arthritis, heart and diabetes are new ones for me.
 
I was the one who posted about checking the RR, or resting respiration rate. You just count the number of complete breaths per minute when they are resting. Normal cat is around 20-30 complete breaths (in and out counts as 1) per minute. Once I knew what Neko normal was, I could see when possible problems were cropping up because her RR would increase. It would typically be caused by fluid increase. I just set a timer on my phone and counted. It may be you have to tweak the Lasix dose

Did the vet talk about diet at all? For some heart conditions they suggest a reduced salt diet. What I was feeding was fairly lowish sodium so I didn't do anything different.

You will find she may drink and pee more with the Lasix. That's OK. You may want to ask the vet if it makes sense to add Plavix or chlopidogril to the meds list. Some heart conditions can lead to clots and saddle thrombosis (clots). I lost my first heart kitty to that, just a couple days before an echocardiogram. Did Smudge see a cardiologist vet? An echocardiogram gives a good picture of what is happening.
 
Ok, so right now I'm monitoring as she's gone hypo on me, apparently she's gong to be a no-symptom cat as she's acting fince/normal.

I just reduced Wednesday PM/2nd shot, does the low reading trigger another reduction for the AM shot, or is the depot still draining and I hold. Tomorrow I can be home to monitor.

@Wendy&Neko we did see a cardiologist and all 4 parts of her heart are affected so :(. Thanks for the info about breaths, since that was the first trigger it's good to know I was on the right track with that
 
Yes, the 30's always mean reduce. I'd actually reduce to 4.25, given her current heart diagnosis, and size of dose.
 
Yes, I didn't mean to worry anyone, but she received MC food plus monitoring until she had rising numbers after 1 hour with no food, at which point I went back to bed. Me without sleep does not always equal coherent thought.
 
Back
Top