4/9 Ruby AMPS 81/+3 82/+6 88/+9 94/PMPS 87/+2 88/+4 81

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday on Wake Up Little Ruby. :cat:

Today we return once again to .1 units of insulin, reducing after 7 days of mostly green numbers.

Question:
We've been invited to a dinner party at the home of some good friends on Saturday night. These friends are also vaccinated. It will be the first dinner party we've attended at someone's home in over a year and I am so very excited. I don't anticipate being home from late afternoon until Ruby's PM+3. I plan to skip the shot that evening. I have not skipped a shot in a really long time. Does the cycle count always restart after skipping? I ask also because I have a medical thing next week, and will probably have to skip her shot again as I won't be able to monitor. These skipped shots might have some impact, but I'm hoping it will be minimal as her dose is so small now.

Healing thoughts for all of the sick kitties and hugs to you beans. It's Friday, mes amis! :woot::bighug::bighug:
 
The count will start over after a skip each time but honestly I would not worry about that. If she’s on insulin a little longer it won’t hurt her. Congrats on the reduction.
BTW you won’t not even need to skip both times depending on the numbers.
 
Ruby girl - you look awesome and tell your Katherine, I love her spreadsheet! It is so easy to read and full of good info!
I hope you have a great time with your friends after such a long time :) Rejoice in the freedom.
Keep those great BGs going with the reduction Rubes:cat:
 
What I meant was depending on the bg you might not need to skip when you go for tge medical appointment.
I'm going to have to play that one by ear as they don't tell me when the procedure will be until the afternoon before, so I don't know if I will even be around for her preshot test. She threw me a nearly 50 point drop on the evening of 4/6 and so there are trust issues. :rolleyes:
 
Well! The 81 is a great start! I hope Ruby continues with this :)
Thank you so much, Cherryl! I hope she keeps this up too. We have worked so hard to get here.

Ruby girl - you look awesome and tell your Katherine, I love her spreadsheet! It is so easy to read and full of good info!
I hope you have a great time with your friends after such a long time :) Rejoice in the freedom.
Keep those great BGs going with the reduction Rubes:cat:
Thank you so much, Jan! Glad someone else gets to enjoy the spreadsheet outside of me. :p I'm beyond happy to resume more time with friends and family again, and particularly excited that it coincides with Ruby feeling so much better because of all of the wonderful support I've received here. Grateful every day for FDMB. :bighug:
 
Ruby looks soooo great! I hope this reduction will be just the perfect thing for her. Skipping will give you a chance to see where she goes without the insulin (at least when you get back home.) Have fun at your dinner party!
 
Congrats on the reduction - everyone always says green for a week is the best way to earn them (go little Ruby's pancreas!).

cycle count always restart after skipping
Since you took a reduction, what are you counting? Just a week green, right? IMHO if you skip and she stays green, then I would count it as part of your week in green...just my unofficial two cents :D (and if numbers trend the other direction, you can always increase at any time, no cycle counting needed - but once increased, you have to hold 6 cycles before increasing again). Perhaps something to file away to ask the more experienced folks if she stays green when you skip :cat:

Have a wonderful day, Katherine :bighug:
 
Since you took a reduction, what are you counting? Just a week green, right? IMHO if you skip and she stays green, then I would count it as part of your week in green...just my unofficial two cents :D (and if numbers trend the other direction, you can always increase at any time, no cycle counting needed - but once increased, you have to hold 6 cycles before increasing again).
Susanne, You understood my question well! :) I was indeed asking about the cycle count for 7 days in greens. If we skip Saturday night and she is still green on Sunday morning after not getting a shot since Saturday morning, I would think that it would count towards the 7 days. And yes, if Ruby's numbers start going blue today after her reduction this morning then I'm definitely taking her back up again without delay. I want to keep Ruby on insulin as long as she needs, but these past few weeks have really given me hope.
 
Back
Top