4/9 - Possibly going to go low - Anyone up? - PMPS 307, +2 81

RobinHarley

Member Since 2018
Harley PMPS 307

+2 81 ... I checked twice, second test was 80

What do we do... the 3 units hasn't had time to hit him at all... ?

Should I go ahead and give him some food again? He hate usual dinner and a raw treat (chicken neck) at his PMPS, so a bigger dinner.

Always worried for a crash... we don't have E-Vets out this way... closest one is 45 minute drive.

Edited to add: I apologize for the wonky spread sheet lately... mid March I lost a family member and then right after that we have been in and out of the hospital (I help my mom with all of her illnesses). But things are just settling as of yesterday. I have been testing but haven't been charting as often as I test.
 
Once this is over, maybe it would be worth picking the brain of the experts on the forum to figure out what to do in an emergency since you don't have an ER close to you.
 
Have you got some high carb food like Gravy Lovers? I'd try a teaspoon or two of the "gravy" and test again in 20 minutes.

I'd pop the top, put it back down and squeeze the gravy into a bowl....the gravy is where the carbs are (it's messy but it works)


I do, and will do...
 
He's not "too low", but with him dropping that fast, I figured you'd feel better if you can slow him down and nudge him up a little.

He's also earned a reduction by dropping below 90 so his new dose is 2.75
 
He's not "too low", but with him dropping that fast, I figured you'd feel better if you can slow him down and nudge him up a little.

Thank you, that is good to know, and yes, I would love him to slow down a touch, lol. I just gave him a couple spoons of gravy from the gravy lovers with cheese in it. He is loving it.
 
Yeah I’d be feeding carbs right now too, this early in the cycle and dropping so fast looks like he could go really low. Thinking of you!
 
Man... what could be causing this? My head just hurts... lol

111
20 minutes after 57, 50 minutes after 81

I tested twice, first test 109 second test 111

81 I gave him a spoonful of his friskies pate. I did sprinkle a couple pieces of kibble, literally like 5 little pieces my other kitty eats.

57 I gave him two spoonfuls of gravy.

Carbs are enough?

I'll test him again in 30 minutes to see where we are but I don't plan on giving anything to him now.

Just kind of talking this all out too incase there is any advice or changes someone needs to let me know.

Thank you both!
 
Good plan....next time try to resist giving the kibble...it takes longer to break down and get into the bloodstream and then takes longer to get it back out.

Since you have some other help here, I'm going to sign off for tonight, but great job!!

The whole reason we stress home testing is so we can keep them OUT of the ER!!
 
Also, don't be surprised if he bounces by AMPS.....IF he were to bounce like over 300, you could give the 3U dose one more time (we call it "shooting through the bounce") but then you'd still take the reduction at PMPS.

You don't have to shoot through the bounce...it's just an option
 
Also, don't be surprised if he bounces by AMPS.....IF he were to bounce like over 300, you could give the 3U dose one more time (we call it "shooting through the bounce") but then you'd still take the reduction at PMPS.

You don't have to shoot through the bounce...it's just an option


Okay, thank you very much! I will take that advice if I see a bounce, I think it would be helpful.

Also thank you for the info on the kibble and for sticking around! It means a lot. Have a good evening Chris.
 
Right so he’s gone 81, 57,111 all within an hour?

Do check again in another half hour, incase that 111 is carb related too. The insulin will be barely kicking in so he may yet drop again
 
Right so he’s gone 81, 57,111 all within an hour?

Do check again in another half hour, incase that 111 is carb related too. The insulin will be barely kicking in so he may yet drop again
Good call. Food influences BG for two hours. What you need to see is Harley's BG rising without food influence.
Then you know he is safe for the cycle/night.
 
Do check again in another half hour, incase that 111 is carb related too. The insulin will be barely kicking in so he may yet drop again

Yes those numbers within an hour are correct. Also I just checked, 30 minutes after 111 and he is 160. So curious if his insulin kicked in fast for some reason, can it even do that? I feel like the answer is no... but I have an alarm set to test him one more time in 30 minutes and then after that I was going to spot test him but at least once ever hour unless he begins to drop again.

So weird...



Good call. Food influences BG for two hours. What you need to see is Harley's BG rising without food influence.
Then you know he is safe for the cycle/night.

Thank you, I plan on keeping an eye out all night. No way this kitty mama is going to get much sleep tonight, lol. I just found a netflix show so I should be set. :)
 
Yeah I would check again in another 30 and if rising spread them out to hourly until you feel safer perhaps.

Did you inject in a different spot at all? I’ve heard that closer to the belly equals faster hitting? Not sure if that’s even a factor here but made me wonder!
 
As for food, I feel like if it’s the low carb food he normally gets and he is otherwise rising up then it would be ok surely?? But I’ll let more experienced help say otherwise too!
 
I was trying to find data on Harley's Carb sensitivity on his SS, but I only found one low event with food in remarks so that isn't enough for me to gauge.
Without data I would hazard a guess and say 160 is quite a jump to be all food influenced.
Flyingduster is correct. BG is rising then it would be fine.
 
Did you inject in a different spot at all? I’ve heard that closer to the belly equals faster hitting? Not sure if that’s even a factor here but made me wonder!
Same spot as always, but good question. I remember learning about this but had forgotten.

What time did he eat last?
He ate a meal at PMPS, but then at +2 he had a spoonful to slow him down, then at 2.5 he had some gravy to slow him down more.

So +6 would be his usual dinner of his LC food. I think I will still offer it like I would any other night. (edited to add: Oh I see, only if he is rising that way incase I need him to eat for me later he will eat for me. I will keep an eye on this)


Just did another test and 156, just because we did drop a touch (maybe nothing more than just a meter flux) but I set his next test to be in 30mins as well just to make sure we aren't dropping.
 
Sorry Amy I am used to writing the user name in the box. :)
It would seem you have a good handle on this situation.
I need to go to bed soon.

Robin a minor thing later when you have some time which will make things easier to understand is to convert your testing times. We use .25 to denote 15 mins, .5 for 30 mins, .75 for 45 mins.
Example would be if 81BG was 50 minutes after +2 that would be closest to +2.75= 81@+2.75
 
Same spot as always, but good question. I remember learning about this but had forgotten.


He ate a meal at PMPS, but then at +2 he had a spoonful to slow him down, then at 2.5 he had some gravy to slow him down more.

So +6 would be his usual dinner of his LC food. I think I will still offer it like I would any other night. (edited to add: Oh I see, only if he is rising that way incase I need him to eat for me later he will eat for me. I will keep an eye on this)


Just did another test and 156, just because we did drop a touch (maybe nothing more than just a meter flux) but I set his next test to be in 30mins as well just to make sure we aren't dropping.
Then test at +4.5 he will be clear of food influence, then wait 30 minutes retest and if he has risen higher than his +4.5 test you are clear to feed him and go to bed.
 
I feel like the 156 is pretty level with the 160 of a half hour earlier, but do agree another test in another half hour would be wise to see how he’s going. Staying steady is better than dropping again, but also thinking he may stay fairly level or even drop again as the insulin will still be having an effect on his system for a while yet. There is no immediate worry, but monitoring is your best bet!
 
Oh and I just checked your chart and see he’s at 171 now! Yay. I would probably feel ok with doing hourly checks now if it were me. Just to keep an eye on it up until his usual feeding time. After then if he’s been rising for that whole time and fine for his usual meal I would feel like he’s out of danger past Nadir and with food on board.
 
Back
Top