4/9 Nonnie PMPS 71 +2 41 +2.45 34 + 3 54 +3.20 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

Phyllis

Member Since 2012
Gave a little canned food at the 54 but fell asleep before I could recheck in an hour. He has thrown up almost daily the last few days..just a little liquid, but at vet on Friday his bloodwork was good (except high BG) and he was 15.4, a pretty good weight for him...maybe a little high. Has anyone had issues with thowing up a little clear liquid?
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie AMPS 103 +1 100 +3 54 +5 66

Nice cycle today! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: What time of day was Nonnie throwing up? Some will throw up a little clear or yellow tinged liquid if their tummy isn't feeling well or is hungry. Neko used to do it the hour or so before breakfast. She gets a before bed snack and hasn't done it in ages now.
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie AMPS 103 +1 100 +3 54 +5 66

You're right...I have a couple that do it right before meals or during meals. (One I know eats too fast and with no dry food, it's probably worse, including for Nonnie). Maybe a bedtime snack would be in order...canned food? With Nonnie today, it was once during the night and right around breakfast...he often does it at night...more since the dry is up. Debating about the dose tonight since his numbers have been so low. He's probably getting closer to 1.5 than 1.75...it's SO hard to tell. Would you stick to 1.5 or try 1.0. I know they are supposed to 'earn' the lower dose by staying consistently low for a minimum time. I think he's getting tired of me poking him. Once he went under the bed and after the last poke he wouldn't purr....I really think he doesn't feel up to snuff.
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie AMPS 103 +1 100 +3 54 +5 66

You can try a little low carb food for a before bed snack and see how that works.

I'd hold,the dose for now. The protocol makes it slightly harder for long term diabetics (more than one year) to earn a reduction. They have to go under 40 one time or 40-50 three times. The more time Nonnie spends in green, the more pancreatic healing happens.
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie AMPS 103 +1 100 +3 54 +5 66

I think he's close to that today alone. I forgot to add the AMPS but will add in the am. He's low now so will recheck in 30 minutes...gave some FF.
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie AMPS 103 +1 100 +3 54 +5 66

Hi Phyllis,

Wow - Nonnie really likes to dive into the greens. You might want to go back to your very first post of the day, click the edit button, and change your subject line to show this evening's numbers. That 41 this early in the cycle is a bit worrisome. He might level out, or he might want to keep falling. Just make sure you steer him with some high-carb food (or Karo) and check him often - every 20 to 30 minutes. It's important to use the high-carb food now since he's below 50. He'll forgive you for all of the pokies!

Edit: Sorry - I forgot to ask if you got a PMPS test tonight. I didn't see one on your SS.
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie AMPS 103 +1 100 +3 54 +5 66

Just added it...it was 71. Getting ready to test again. gave him some FF after that low reading. Will keep you posted Thanks!!
Just got a 34...giving some Karo..
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie AMPS 103 +1 100 +3 54 +5 66

Thanks for the update, Phyllis. Definitely give the Karo and recheck in 15 minutes. You might also want to go back to your very first post of the day and click on the "911" icon to let people know you've hit a really low number. That will get their eyes on your SS so they can help you. We definitely want the experienced users helping you out tonight, and I just don't have that much experience. I will help you however I can, though!
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie AMPS 103 +1 100 +3 54 +5 66

Phyllis, you definitely want to go with something high carb, like the gravy off of a Gravy Lovers food if you have it

A couple of drops of Karo in a teaspoon of regular low carb food will work too

Retest in 15 minutes.
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie AMPS 103 +1 100 +3 54 +5 66

Don't try to get Nonnie to eat too much, too quickly. We may need him to continue to eat for awhile, so we want to get him up into at least the high 60's and then stop feeding (but keep testing!!)

Many cats will drop again when the sugar wears off, so you need to keep testing for at least 2 hours from the last time you feed anything.
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie PMPS 71 +2 41 +2.45 34 + 3 54

Great job updating your subject line, Phyllis. It's also great that Nonnie's numbers have come up! Well done. Just make sure you keep checking often like Chris mentioned.
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie PMPS 71 +2 41 +2.45 34 + 3 54

The test just now was 54...should I feed a little more or see if we are on an upswing? The Karo must have helped. I think I should reduce the shot in the am to 1.5 or 1.25. I give him Karo with a syringe...it's easier that way...usually get close to 2 ml in him.
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie PMPS 71 +2 41 +2.45 34 + 3 54

I'd go ahead and give him just a little more of a snack...We would like to see him a little higher...like into the upper 60's

Another teaspoon of food with maybe another drop or 2 of Karo and retest in 15-20 minutes

Edited to add..and YES on the reduction!! Down to 1.5 for AMPS and then hold it for another 6 cycles unless he drops below 50 again on the 1.5 unit dose
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie PMPS 71 +2 41 +2.45 34 + 3 54

Hi Phyllis,

I haven't used Karo, so I don't actually know how quickly it will wear off. I would probably hold off feeding any more at the moment and just get another recheck in about 20 minutes. Some of the more experienced users here may disagree with me. If they do, definitely follow their advice!

You'll definitely want to decrease the dose in the morning. I'll let the dose advisors help you with the exact dosing, though. I don't want to steer you wrong!

Edit: Chris and I cross-posted and had differing opinions about feeding. Definitely follow her advice on that - not mine! :-D
 
Re: 4/9 Nonnie PMPS 71 +2 41 +2.45 34 + 3 54

Next time you go shopping, get some of the "Gravy Lovers" Fancy Feasts and keep them someplace separate from your regular food. The gravy in those is really high carb, and cats just LOVE it!!

When you open the can, if you put the lid back on it and push down hard, the "gravy" part oozes out into a bowl or cup and you can just spoon it out a teaspoon or 2 at a time. It's less likely to fill them up too if you need to keep them eating

My "hypo kit" always has an entire box of 50 testing strips, and several cans of Gravy Lovers food...also I have the How to treat hypo's printed out so if the message board is down (or acting stupid like it has been today), you have something to go by

Will watch for your next test number!
 
Tried to revise his condo...last one was 71 ....definitely in the right direction. Will likely test one more time. I thin he's getting ready to go under the bed on me.... cat(2)_steam
 
That's much better!!

Great Job Phyllis!!

OK...no more food, but get another test in 20-30 minutes...it's VERY important especially since you used Karo to keep testing for awhile since it's a simple sugar...although it goes to work fast, it also wears off fast too
 
It's great to see Nonnie's numbers coming up, Phyllis. He really will forgive you later for all of the pokes tonight. The important thing is that you're keeping him safe. How are you holding up? It's always stressful when we have to test and feed so much!
 
4/9 Nonnie PMPS 71 +2 41 +2.45 34 + 3 54 +3.20 71 +3.40 88

OK...up to 88 now so I feel comfortable going to bed. Hopefully someone will give me some advice on a dose in the am. Thanks to all for your help!!
 
Phyllis, while it may be totally safe, I'm strongly suggesting you continue to test....maybe set an alarm for an hour from now.

You're still very early in the cycle!! He could drop again when the Karo wears off

If he's still safe, then you can sleep knowing he should be fine until morning

At AMPS time, you shoot a reduced dose....down to 1.5 units for at least 6 cycles...Unless he drops below 50 again
 
Hey Phyllis,

I really would recommend getting another test or two in tonight. It's still pretty early in the cycle, and Chris is right - the high-carb stuff will wear off soon. Just the other night, for example, Jersey fell below 50 early in the cycle. We got her back up into the 80s, but she fell right back down to the low 50s a little later in the cycle when the high-carb stuff wore off. Nonnie might end up doing something similar tonight. You might want to set an alarm clock and check Nonnie again in an hour or so???
 
Hi Phyllis - I agree with Chris on the dose, go to 1.5U in the morning. And congrats on the reduction. :-D

I also want to echo what Shelly and Chris have said - you should continue to test hourly for a couple hours after you last gave gravy. Gravy can wear off in two hours and take Nonnie back to low numbers. If you absolutely can't monitor, I'd make sure to leave lots of food to snack on if/when he goes low again.
 
as tedious as days like today are, it's fantastic to have Nonnie being in such good numbers all day. well done with all of it, phyllis!

i'd agree on reducing to 1.5u in the morning. let's see if he can hold in these good numbers. fingers crossed for you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top